We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Osoita Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Osoita Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Osoita Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Decided to try out the Osoita lodge whilst in Rongai and hunger pangs ruled. The premises is tucked away just before the police post junction of proceeding to Masai lodge and branching off the the Nazarene University/ Tuala route. The decor shows evident passion for garden flowers and attempts ensure clients enjoy their stay. The food is however over priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We were welcomed whole-heartedly very late in the night at around 3 a.m after informing them of our late arrival.In the morning at around 10:30 as we arrived for breakfast,food and drinks were snatched from us despite the fact that we had a child,the Indian lady had no courtesy at all saying that we should have read the papers in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GuruFch
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We remember your booking for the same group very well and received this way in advance. We set the rooms accordingly as per your request when visited our facility a week in prior. Upon arrival in the Afternoon we received your group well and immediately demanded to change rooms to the much expensive room at...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Very bad we had booked four couples together with our children. The rooms were so dirty and smelling. Chances of contracting skin diseases were high. In the morning we met an Indian owner lady a racist and with an attitude. We could not even take breakfast because it was finished. Would not recommend anybody to visit there. Not worthy any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chei M
Amal H, Public Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We remember your booking very well and received this way in advance. We set the rooms accordingly as per your request when visited our facility a week in prior. Upon arrival in the Afternoon we received your group well and immediately demanded to change rooms to the much expensive room at the same cost. We...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

A big thanks to the management for helping host a wonderful birthday for our son, the main course food was amazing especially the griled chicken, we were served promptly, quality service, and great cup cakes for our guests as deserts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ibrastar
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel has nice rooms facing the pool but too expensive. If you are planning to visit there then arm yourself with nearly everything starting from soap to pair of slippers. They have one iron box so if you are lucky to get it, mind your neighbor. If you like your dinner in the room, don't think of Osoita. Luckily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesse j
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your review. we appreciate your feedback and are shocked to hear you found the facility to expensive with giving local resident rates? All our rooms have all the amenities except slippers. We provide all soaps shampoos towels etc as a complimentary in all rooms and if guests require more can be requested at the reception and...

Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My family and I spent a couple of nights here at the end of our visit to Kenya. The rooms were very simple but with very very comfortable beds! The gardens were full of flowers and birds and it was a small oasis in the middle of a busy area. Prices were very good value for money and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connorsylvia
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your review, We really appreciate your feedback. We are all happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you and your family once again. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We decided to visit osoita on a spur of the moment for the weekend..The reception was warm and we were given a room immediately..The rooms were neat and cosy and we had a lovely view of the nature as well as the swimming pool..normally the first thing i look at in a room is a bathroom and although it qas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jazeera s
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you once again. Kindest Regards Amal

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I liked the fact that it is away from Nairobi and closer to Magadi Road . We spent the day there for a photoshoot with models in one to the double bed rooms at the back. Enjoyed the privacy and no prying eyes . I liked the variety of food they had to offer. Lovely Indian cuisine. i would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jToweett
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your review. Was a great pleasure to host you and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you once again. Welcome.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 May 2016

When arriving at location driver was concerned for the neighborhood and we being three girls. Room was clean but no fans. Unable to open windows making room stuffy. Ate dinner in the restaurant very good. Breakfast served was good and plentiful. Pool was very pleasant. Room clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendystevi
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings Thank you for your review We are glad you like the food and services we had to offer. As for security we understand your concern and assure you we are well secured. We look forward to hosting you once again. Thank you and most welcome

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We booked into the lodge for the easter season and the booking process was great; the rooms were ok; the food very nice with generous portions and the pool adequate...though very cold in the afternoon because of the positioning i guess However, i must say the customer service is wanting.....right from the reception --we were asked to pay balance even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nyakato
Amal H, Guest Relations Manager at Osoita Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your review We are happy you liked the facility and our meals As for the service we have taken this seriously and looked into this matter as to what went wrong. As for payment we apologise as this would have been communicated I'm a better way. We really hope you would consider visiting us again...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
7.0 km away
Nyati Hill Cottages
Nyati Hill Cottages
#20 of 250 in Nairobi
22 reviews
10.8 km away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 198 in Nairobi
88 reviews
0.0 km away
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
#2 of 198 in Nairobi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Longview Suites
Longview Suites
#61 of 250 in Nairobi
17 reviews
23.2 km away
Casa Bella Suites
Casa Bella Suites
#4 of 198 in Nairobi
124 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel Troy Nairobi
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#7 of 250 in Nairobi
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Osoita Lodge is named after the Maasai word 'Soito' meaning 'Stones'. Osoita Lodge was designed and built by the owners themselves and that personalized touch is evident all across the lodge. All raw materials used in construction and furniture were extracted from the very ground where Osoita Lodge stands today. Osoita Lodge is located in Ongata Rongai, (also locally known as Rongai or simply 'Rongaa'). Rongai falls in the Olekassasi township which is a settlement in Kenya's Kajiado County, located between the Kaputiei plains and the Western slopes of the Ngong hills. Osoita is conveniently adjacent to the Nairobi National Park plus close to other major tourist attractions around Nairobi. Osoita's design is based on a traditional setup but with a modern twist. The lodge sports makuti thatching and makes use of traditional building materials and beautiful rustic furniture that brings out an authentic African touch. The lodge is setup within a tranquil, lush green environment with the seasonal River Kandisi running at the very edge of the lodge. A picturesque, rugged typography with a cool, homely feel characterizes the surrounding and ambience at Osoita Lodge. Osoita Lodge has a total of 27 rooms. 8 Balcony rooms on the upper level overlook the swimming pool and 11 standard rooms all built with natural materials bringing out a rough, rustic exterior, whilst the interior finish is cozy and contains all the modern comforts you might need. In August 2014, we also opened our newest wing with 8 new rooms that stay true to the spirit of Osoita by fusing tradition with modernity. All our rooms are equipped with private bathrooms and toilets en-suite, digital safes, reading lamps, mosquito nets and free, strong WiFi Internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Osoita Lodge

Address: Nazarene University Road, behind Nairobi National Park off Magadi Road | Ongata Rongai, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $78 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osoita Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Osoita Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Osoita Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms tucked away in at the back of the hotel after the pool are quiet and offer good privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles jToweett, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms by pool look above average”
 of 5 bubbles wendystevi, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the rooms on the end because of the incessant loud noise all night.”
 of 5 bubbles cindynor41, 9 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms in the new wing. A bit out from the main lodge area, but very peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles rosyb330, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Rooms in the garden quieter and bigger”
 of 5 bubbles contentedEurope, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5