We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairmont The Norfolk

Show Prices
#6 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont The Norfolk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

881 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Norfolk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 808: English reviews
Luanda, Angola
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Great restaurant with a wonderful food menu (pricy), with an excellent guest service which helps you have a good time. I would surely recommend a visit if you are in town enjoy this service which is one of the best I’ve experienced in the world.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nkrumah1
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Nkrumah1, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for taking time to share your experience. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a memorable experience. Thank you for your kind recommendation which will go a long way to assure our future visitors. The team will be...

Brussels
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I was surprised by the rooms, the one i had was not really clean, which is something i never saw for that kind of hotel. Walls and doors were dirty. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and if you really need to go in this one, ask for a room that gives on the internal courtyard. I've not seen them but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karim007_10
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Karim007_10, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay in our property. We are sorry to read about your disappointment towards the condition of your room. Please accept our apologies for the quality of the room experienced which is well below your expected standards. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I stayed in this hotel from 12-16 October for 04 Nights and I found this hotel very decent, in a quite area, usually Nairobi's traffic is horrible but this hotel is just in the peaceful from the city hustle and bustle but yet walking distance to the city, The hotel is close to Nairobi University and 20 mins to KICC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bibek S
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Bibek S, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk for four (4) nights and for taking the time to share your feedback. We always welcome feedback from our guests and more so when it is so complimentary. Our team will be immensely proud to hear your comments . We look forward to hosting you on your...

Bermuda
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This hotel is set in a spectacular setting and the grounds are well maintained. We didn't actually stay but came for 3 different meals. We had lunch around the pool and it was a beautiful day and the service and food were excellent. We than came back 2 days later for dinner for my birthday and had a really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di S
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Di S, Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your dining experiences at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the food on all three occasions and the service. Your comments will be the inspiration for others. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope you will give us another...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Love this hotel and everyone there offers exemplary service. Seriously some of the best I have experienced EVER, and I travel about 1/3 of the year for my job and pleasure. North American establishments could certainly learn a lot from the team here (and across Kenya). They couldn't do enough for me, and not just those who met me- all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJshep
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear LJshep, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for posting your review which we value immensely coming from a widely experienced traveler like yourself. The team and I are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience and that it was exemplified by the reactiveness of the team. It is always a pleasure...

Kigali, Rwanda
Reviewed 17 October 2016

What an awesome enclave in central Nairobi, where your entire experience is defined by exceptional service. The old world charm and ambience is amazing. From the minute you cross the threshold you are transported into a whole new world.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H4245XKrobinb
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear H4245XKrobinb, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to rate us following your recent stay. We are delighted to note that your hotel experience was memorable and that you appreciated the old charm and ambience. The team will be more than inspired to note your kind comments. It was a pleasure to host you...

SF, CA
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The Norfolk is a lovely property in the heart of Nairobi, somewhat challenging entrance & parking but beautiful. The public area are well maintained with diligent staff. Guest rooms are very small in size more suited for solo travelers with 1 bag, the bathrooms are poorly designed with bathroom door presenting an obstacle to enter and the sink vanity lacking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChezLinda
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear ChezLinda, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. The team and I are delighted to read that you found the Hotel a beautiful property in the heart of Nairobi and you appreciated the well maintained public area and the diligent staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings experienced by...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The Norfolk is an absolute icon in the history books of Kenya and continues its classic ambience. After a visit to Mauritius though, the high security around entering this hotel from one's Twiga Tours vehicle was confronting, if necessary in the current climate - bomb check of car and luggage, body scanner etc at the front steps. Once inside, reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twendeni
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear twendeni, Many thanks for your review on Fairmont The Norfolk The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciate the Hotel being an icon and an oasis in the midst of an otherwise hectic city. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed the beautiful courtyard gardens, the swimming pool and the excellent meal at Tatu....

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Norfolk for two nights while on a Safari in Kenya. The first morning, I woke up to take a shower. I ran the water for what appeared to be a reasonable time, and it didn't seem to get any warmer. I turned the handle the other way, and it just became colder. I called the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank straehle
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear straehle, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk for two nights during your Safari in Kenya. We also appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We are glad to read that that the breakfast was good, your room was clean and the staff were friendly. Please...

Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

I only stayed here two nights and have a lot of issues with this hotel. 1. No hot water in the bathroom. I asked them to fix it twice and it is still not fixed. Tried running the water in the bath tub that's separate from the shower; no hot water either and the tub is now filled with sand....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Trish H Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We take all our guests’ feedbacks very seriously. Please accept our most sincere apologies for all the above-mentioned shortfalls experienced in the facilities and staff attitude. Remedial steps are being taken to avoid such situations in future. A large...

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (371)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,018 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
822 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $201 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont The Norfolk staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont The Norfolk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Junior Suites are the best located and sheer luxury in this region of the world.”
 of 5 bubbles vijayashishr, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The garden bungalows”
 of 5 bubbles B3501GPmichaell, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Use google map”
 of 5 bubbles jeffmasanta, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to have a room overlooking the main courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Alwaystravels1, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford it, chose a room with a terrace overlooking the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles French_US_13, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay