We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemingways Nairobi

Traveller (571)
Room & Suite (178)
Traveller (571)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (34)
Overview
Langata Road Karen Office Park, Nairobi 00502 Kenya See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveller rating
527
86
32
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
527
86
32
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ngong hills butler service walk in closet personal butler two sinks beautiful hotel karen blixen museum luxury hotel pleasure of staying elephant orphanage giraffe centre wilson airport masai mara east africa an oasis giraffe manor suite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 662 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

I’m very sorry to have to write a negative review about Hemingways-Nairobi. I’m a regular client at their restaurant. I must have been there at least 20 times since I live in Nairobi. One of the main reasons I go there is because it is...More

2  Thank AntoN_Nik9
Response from RichardK4313, General Manager at Hemingways NairobiResponded yesterday

Dear AntoN_Nik9 , I am greatly concerned to hear that you had intended to dine with us but you were disappointed as our team did not meet your expectations as regards your request to have the Ala carte menu option. I highly regret this lapse...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Only spent one night at this luxurious hotel but my wife and I were very impressed by the hotel itself and the gracious and helpful staff. Did not think the restaurant food quality measured upon to the hotel itself although the service was excellent.

Thank Bobby M
Response from RichardK4313, General Manager at Hemingways NairobiResponded yesterday

Dear Bobby M I appreciate your feedback and happy to hear you were very impressed with the hotel and the staff. I have noted your comment about the food quality and shared your sentiments with our Food and Beverage team. Kind regards Richard K.

Reviewed 1 week ago

After spending several days on safari this was welcome luxury. The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. The rooms were gorgeous. No complaints other than our stay was too brief. Definitely recommended for any visit to Nairobi.

Thank _monique_chavez
Response from RichardK4313, General Manager at Hemingways NairobiResponded yesterday

Dear Monique_chavez Its gratifying to hear that you had no complains during your short stay with us and you found our staff extremely attentive , accommodating and our rooms gorgeous. We also appreciate your recommendation . Best regards, Richard K.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel wish we had stayed longer. Only stayed for one night but was worth it we were upgraded to an executive suite . Would definitely recommend this hotel particularly for couples lovely and quiet.More

Thank Yvonne931
Response from RichardK4313, General Manager at Hemingways NairobiResponded yesterday

Dear Yvonne931 Thank you for your time to give feedback about your short stay with us and we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We appreciate your recommendation as well and hope in the near future you will pay us another visit. Best Regards...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on safari and needed a hotel in Nairobi before and after our safari. My wife and I stayed at the Hemingways Hotel twice on this visit. The first time was before the safari from 9/26 to 9/28, and again after safari on 10/10...More

1  Thank Choogee
Response from RichardK4313, General Manager at Hemingways NairobiResponded yesterday

Dear Chooge, Thank you for your candid and detailed feedback about Hemingways Nairobi and it is gratifying to hear that you found our Service, Staff, Rooms and Restaurant excellent. It was our pleasure to be at your service and thank you for having chosen Hemingways...More

View more reviews
About
Description
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an More exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
45
Price range
US$315 - US$640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Spa
,
Luxury
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
45
Price range
US$315 - US$640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Kenya > Nairobi
Photos
Traveller (571)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (34)
Pool & Beach (14)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 193 nearby hotels
Acacia Tree Lodge
120 reviews
1.13 km away
House of Waine
282 reviews
2.35 km away
Park Place Hotel
19 reviews
6.48 km away
The Smith Hotel
28 reviews
7.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 744 nearby restaurants
Tamarind Restaurant
596 reviews
.97 km away
Tamambo Karen Blixen
1,077 reviews
.96 km away
Marula Mercantile
138 reviews
1.16 km away
Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi
145 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 696 nearby attractions
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
433 reviews
.98 km away
Karen Blixen Museum
1,783 reviews
1.31 km away
Kazuri Beads Factory
466 reviews
.61 km away
Marula Studios
19 reviews
.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
InlovewGstaad
October 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Raj_Me33 | Reviewed this property |
As I recall we did use the tap water to brush our teeth and had no issues.
0
Votes
InlovewGstaad
October 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from parrot50 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think there are spa facilities other than treatments and such. There is a gym you can access to work out. I did visit the spa and had two great treatments. The products they use are great and I ended up bringing... More
0
Votes
Belinda M
August 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Zach A | Reviewed this property |
When I was there check out was officially 10 am but they were flexible with us. I’m sure they can accommodate but assuming you’re flying there, the way the flights work is they leave at 11 from the airstrip, don’t really... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"All categories of rooms are very good choices you will not be disappointed"
D156HVcarlosm
3 weeks ago
Read review
"They’re all good."
nigelf938
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Ask for a room with a low number -- they're closer to the main building and have better views."
WagnersParsifal
Oct. 13, 2018
Read review
"I have not stayed at this hotel as I have residential in Karen not far from the establishment"
sheelav2013
Aug. 10, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing