We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Karen Country Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Karen Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Karen Country Lodge
 Click to rate
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

i had dinner at the restaurant and the place was outstanding..the soup for the starter was delicious ...the main event was the best complemented by the sweet finish...their service was great...this is the perfect place for family and friends...will definitely be visiting soon..keep up the good work guys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edgarmuhambe
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in one of their cottages.The Lodge is in a serene environment away from the hustle and bustle of the City.Their food is outstanding,the gardens are well tendered and the service is absolutely great.I will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faith L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Karen Country Lodge last Monday for my best friends birthday dinner.. We ordered from their restaurant menu. They had quite a variety and within 30 minutes we had our meal served. The service staff were very professional and friendly at the same time. They even allowed us to bring our own cake at no extra cost. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I traveled to Kenya with some colleagues on business and stayed at the cottage for a week. Cottages are kind of pretty with nice interior and ambiance. Bathrooms were not very user-friendly. Shower in the bathroom reminded me of the public showers you would have near beaches. Wash basin was flat with little slope which made the water splash back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sreeja s
Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my colleagues stayed here for a week. We were in town for business. While the property is nice and remote, it was not very comfortable for business travelers. I had a nice cottage to myself, but I felt isolated. I do not believe they had much security. The internet was not good and the food was sub par....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited this lovely restaurant in a beautiful and serene setting on new years day.We requested to sit at the garden and the waiter was glad to help with the set up.We ordered their Sunday roast and everyone of us enjoyed the meal.Their service was very good and professional too.They even had a DJ playing some good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon K
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Happy New Year! Thank you for your positive feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family on New Years day. We appreciate the compliments concerning our food, ambiance, staff and entertainment. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my family the lemalesia visited the place on 25 Dec 2016, the place is family oriented club. Kudos to the security team the place is well guided we had to be checked at the gate carefully. We we're served at the tennis court the meal where delicious. The place as 18 hole championship golf course ,driving range and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivian m
Kalimpong, India
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Today, four of us went for Lunch and we were the only people from 1pm to 2pm. The food was awful and when we complained to the waitress, we were told the Manager was busy. The Hommus was watery and looked like someone had thrown up in the bowl. We paid the bill with reluctance and sped off to Karen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sudhirjpatel
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Three of us called in for lunch and were disappointed. The food took nearly an hour to arrive and was below average in quality - despite our being the only people there. The interior was in darkness. We sat outside, under a large cover that looked like it had seen better days (a large flap was hanging down). We didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonF1950
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are highly appreciated We have always received great comments concerning our food and venue. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. On that particular day we were experiencing a slight electrical fault.I would like to assure that we have taken care of that challenge to make sure this does not happen again....

Upstate NY
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I had a one-night stay at the Karen Country Lodge and found it to be a delightful area and a spacious and comfortable cottage. It was a last minute reservation due to arriving back in Nairobi a day early from a safari. The cottage had everything one could want. I did find the huge bathroom to have some design oddities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank photoguyUpstateNY
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our boutique cottages We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay. It was a pleasure hosting you We apologise for the mishaps that you saw and experienced and these are things that we have now considered and are being improved to make sure that we provide the comfort...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
4.1 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
431 reviews
12.6 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,219 reviews
14.1 km away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
244 reviews
13.5 km away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
909 reviews
12.2 km away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the leafy- green, Karen suburbia rests an eclectic leisure haven. Draped in modern, chic decor, this once colonial bungalow radiates a stunning, serene ambiance that captivates any audience. Sip a cocktail in the luscious, vibrant gardens or host a conference in this tranquil refuge. Surround yourself in serenity, let go in classic comfort in our chic boutique cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Address: Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $258 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Karen Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Karen Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms are great and modernised..quiet place for honeymoon and family weekend vacations”
 of 5 bubbles edgarmuhambe, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms by the lakeside have a spectacular view”
 of 5 bubbles 629faithl, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont expect good customer service.”
 of 5 bubbles 473sreejas, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the far end facing the small lake are spectacular in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles judya480, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All cottages are lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles iank401, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5