We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kilima Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kilima Camp
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kilima Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I loved everything about Kilima and I could not possibly find one drawback of the camp. The location, the food, the staff, the service- everything was just perfect and I felt like I made friends for life rather than visited a holiday spot... As a single female traveller en route to South Africa on business I really appreciated information received... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Monika B
kilimacamp, Director of Sales at Kilima Camp, responded to this review

Dear Monika, Thanks you for your review and thanks for choosing Kilima Camp !!! I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with is at Kilima Camp. Thanks also for sharing the beautiful pictures you took while stay at Kilima Camp for only 2 nights!!! We hope to be able to welcome you in the future with... More 

North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here in September 2010 as part of our honeymoon holiday. I had been to Kenya before when I was 13 and was blown away by our safari trip then, so I was a little worried that it wouldn't live up to my expectations, further more I'd told my husband how fantastic Kenya was so there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
kilimacamp, Director of Sales at Kilima Camp, responded to this review

Dear Stacey, Thanks you for your review and thanks for choosing Kilima Camp for your honeymoon. I am glad to hear that Kilima Camp was on line / may be above your expectations and that you were not disappointed ! You are more than welcome to come back and visit us with your new addition to the family ! As... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Our experience at Kilima Camp was life changing! Upon landing via Safari Link we were met by our guide,Martin, who quickly swept us off to view our first of many extraordinary events, a Mara River crossing at the peak of the Great Migration! At the same time we met another couple Jen and Darren who were soon to be our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
kilimacamp, Owner at Kilima Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, dear Sally. Thank you for your email and your great review on Tripadvisor ! Also thank you for choosing Kilima Camp for your 30th wedding anniversary last September! It means a lot for us and it is also important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. Our client satisfaction is key and is our priory !!! It... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The location is both the best and worst thing about this tented camp. High up on the hillside, the view of the Mara is incredible, and zebra come up to graze outside the tents at night. Speaking of night, these were the clearest I have ever seen anywhere in the world, the tents covered in a blanket of twinkly stars... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank businss_travell3r
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Researching which Safari would be best for our honeymoon took far longer than we imagined it would. It was made all the easier once we contacted "Imagine Africa" who went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a great holiday and a stress free experience and a company we would recommend. We spoke to several so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bleexxx
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
395 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The sleeping tents....don't worry about sleeping in a tent. This is not camping by any means. The tents are large and very comfortable, with everything you need and great views looking out over the masai. Each tent is separated from the others by space and bushy fences for privacy. At night when it was cold the tents were closed up... More 

Helpful?
Thank voyage_in_design
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We (2 couples) stayed 5 nights at Kilima Camp and enjoyed the very friendly staff, the location of the camp up the hill with a great view over the Masai Mara plaine, the professional massages and pedicure treatments and lust but not least the excellent cuisine. The tents are usefully furnished and beautifully decorated. Nothing was missing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne T
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked about a month before travelling having done the usual research online. We booked direct with kilima camp and they arranged the transfer from the airport, overnight stays in Nairobi both ends and the internal flights. I suspect by doing it this way we saved alot of the hidden premia that a tour operator would have loaded on. The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mark w
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Absolutely brill family holiday. I was unsure what to expect on our first trip to Africa but Imagine Africa and Hilary were brilliant - answering all my queries. The organisation and detailed itinerary was first class. The support network in Africa was outstanding so if we had any queries or had to be taken from A to B, it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MSB184
Ewingsdale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We overnighted at Kilima Camp after a few days safari in the Mara and it was the perfect way to top off a brilliant experience. We stayed in a de luxe tent at a very reasonable price and enjoyed a magnificent view over the Mara - especially the sunrise. I'd especially mention the excellent food, the archery lessons and guided... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C

460 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (383)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (221)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.4 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 9 in Masai Mara National Reserve
892 reviews
41.0 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#19 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
845 reviews
24.5 km away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#21 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
548 reviews
23.9 km away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#17 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
733 reviews
14.6 km away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#10 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $453 - $936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kilima Camp staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Kilima Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view on the masai mara but all of them got it I think…”
 of 5 bubbles Mizunooto, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Warm shower in tent but no hot water in the sink - get a flask of hot water from the kitchen for shaving..”
 of 5 bubbles C4570SJjennym, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“you stay in tents, but this is 'glampiing' - wooden floors, showers and toilets in each tent - even turn down service!”
 of 5 bubbles KMCBlood, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All tents have great views!”
 of 5 bubbles sanjushubhu, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have perfect views”
 of 5 bubbles mjepkinyor, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay