We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Little Governors' Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Little Governors\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Little Governors' Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 378: English reviews
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Little Governor's did not disappoint and fully lived up to its stellar reputation. Everything worked perfectly. The entire team tries very hard to create a magical holiday and succeeds. We can't recommend it enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikas N
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all. We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I spent 2 days at this camp with my son and what can I say everything was brilliant from start to finish our guide Robert taught us so much and showed us some amazing sights. All the staff looked after us so well and the food was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patricia k
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all. We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We are just back from the most amazing holiday. We stayed at Little Governor's Camp for 4 nights, and had the most fabulous time. We arrived into the camp to find Blossum a bull elephant outside our tent, so have to say that set the pace of our safari. The first night out we managed to see a kill, could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen K
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all. We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A friend & I stayed at Little Governor's the 23rd & 24th of February 2014 & it was the most amazing experience ever! The tents & the food were lovely but it's the staff and the wildlife that make it truely special. All the staff were friendly & genuinely interested in what you had seen that day & what they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank backpackergaby
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your safari, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Little Governors Camp and we look forward to welcoming you at Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge in Rwanda.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the luxury tented camp experience that you read about. It doesn't feel much like camping when your tent has a large comfortable double bed, electricity and hot showers. Open the front flap, and you can view abundant wildlife from your front porch. We saw elephants, hippos, giraffes, mongoose, warthogs, baboons and cape buffalo along with dozens of species...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcarringtonhall
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of your safari at Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari so much. Your comments have been sent to camp and Charles, Stanley, Simon and Jackson will be thrilled to read them. We hope to welcome you back again someday soon.

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We booked this lodge for our honeymoon after getting married on Diani beach. We booked through WT safaris who are based in diani. We paid them 40% deposit in the uk and was picked up at our hotel and taken to their office to pay the balance and discuss the itinerary.  On the day we were picked up at 7:30am...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Little Governors Camp for your honeymoon and for posting a review of the safari. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari so much and that you liked the camp, the tents and the food. Your comments have been forwarded to camp and George, Simon, Julius, Stanley, Joseph and Joseph will be delighted to read them....

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at Little Governors Camp from the 18th - 28th of January, It is simply a magical place to stay, every one I met was just so friendly and would go out of there way to please you. Little governors certainly is situated in the most perfect location, the range of animals around you is astonishing, The game drives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARC W
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Little Governors Camp. We are delighted that you liked the location of the camp and were able to see a wonderful variety of wildlife. We look forward to welcoming you back on safari with us sometime soon.

Washington DC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our second visit here in as many years, and greatly enjoyed it once again. It was great to get away from the world, revel in the natural spectacle that is the Masai Mara. The staff were, once again, amazing. They took great care of us - and my elderly father who needed help getting up and down the steps and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inamd
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of Little Governors Camp, we are very happy to her that you enjoyed the safari and felt well taken care of. Great that you got to see over 40 lion in 36 hours! The mara really is an amazing place to see big cats in the wild.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We couldn't have had a more enjoying trip to Little Governors'. The staff were fantastic - Duncan in the restaurant was a delightful waiter & ensured we had everything we needed throughout our stay. Our driver Frederick was full of information about all of the animals we saw & tailored each drive to our liking, so that we saw everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Midlands2013
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Little Governors Camp for your honeymoon. We are delighted that you enjoyed the safari so much and hope to welcome you back again one day.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I arrived back in England today after my 10 day stay at Little Governors, already I'm planning a return trip. I've been to Africa many times before and visited many places in Kenya at varying times of the year. This though however has by far been my best experience of the fascinating Masai Mara. The game drives ,The staff, The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karl c
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review of your Little Governors Camp safari, we are delighted that you enjoyed the safari and the camp so much. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

432 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (432)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
3:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (281)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
41.0 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
948 reviews
21.6 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
176 reviews
1.9 km away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#35 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
234 reviews
20.1 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
886 reviews
28.1 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $942 - $1,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Little Governors' Camp staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
calgary
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Little Governors' Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One of the farthest tents from the main mess...for more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles vanessah19, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although the high numbered tents were recommended we were in #1-2 and LOVED them both! You can't go wrong at Little Govs!”
 of 5 bubbles TheSullys7, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have excellent views of the swamp”
 of 5 bubbles smitht6, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all tents overlook the swamp with the plains in the distance.”
 of 5 bubbles harrytucker99, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We have had tent 1 & 15. I preferred tent 15 as its got a better view of the swamp.”
 of 5 bubbles SandyEP, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5