We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cityview Hong Kong

Ctrip.comUS$58*
View Deal
#88 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cityview Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,614: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Went to stay again in this hotel after my pleasant stay the year before. But this time the stay wasn't the same. The hotel went through a major renovation for a year while I was away. When I returned all the rooms have become smaller. They have more rooms now, but it's a lot smaller. Thus the good view I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taychinpeng
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write your reviews, informing us the unpleasant experience you have encountered during your stay with us at The Cityview. Please accept our sincere apologies for making you feel confused in the room arrangement. The less desirable experience you described in your reviews causes us deep concern. After thorough investigation into the matter,...

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Good hotel in an excellent location, upgraded to a premium room which was nice. didn't eat in hotel as lots of choice nearby for breakfast etc. 5 mins walk to ladies market down the alley opposite seven 11, 2 mins to MTR. would definately stay here again and is first drop on the shuttle from airport express station

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogers1583
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

As your comfort in The Cityview is always our priority, we are making every effort to enhance guests with greater travel experiences. Thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2014

I have been here with my husband on a business trip ideal for business location, and travel, also not far from the centre food was ok and the room was nice as well easy to go to any direction, either on public transport or on foot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadett L
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your particularly value of our hotel great location.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Stayed three nights in this hotel in July 2014. Recommended by Cathay Pacific agent and I was well satisfied with our accommodation. Nothing too flash but adequate for our stay. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. The staff on the desk were more than helpful. I used the adjoining swimming pool which was not available all day but all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham J
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty and support, and its great to learn that you will be staying with us again in October. We would appreciate if you could tell us about anything you feel could be improved, or that needs our close attention. We look forward to be at your service again soon.

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Don't read the negative results as they are properly wrote from people that are so stuck up. This place is the best and very close to everything. The staff are great, breakfast is the best and the man on the front door is so helpful he deserves a pay rise. I wanna go back today and it is so sad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray H
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your support, it means a lot to us. Over the years, we have been striving for improvements to satisfy our guests' needs and all of our staff are here to ensure that guests' stay with us is above all comfortable and pleasurable in every aspect. We hope we will have a chance to welcoming you in very...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014 via mobile

Checking into this hotel you wouldn't know it's a YMCA hotel. Though the rooms are small, you should only be sleeping in the hotel if you're in Hong Kong- you should be out enjoying the markets, doing a tour, sight seeing! The staff are wonderful, most speak English and are only too happy to help! If you're an Eco-warrior like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle W
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviews and without your support, our effort to provide high quality service to all guests would not have been possible. Thank you and we hope we will have a chance to welcoming you back to The Cityview again very soon.

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2014

went to Hong Kong for 5 days after leaving Bali what a lovely time we had, My husband was there in 1956 he could not believe the change every where, we had a lovely hotel it was very clean the staff so good and kind . I could not get over how much there was for breakfast really amazing ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glenys r
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Its nice to have you with us and pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay here at The Cityview.

kirkcaldy,scotland
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, while in Kowloon. The room was very dated, with single beds, a dirty carpet and an old bathroom. We had a room at the back on the 19th floor, and had a great view of some of the lights at night, so slept with the curtains open. We were just off Nathan Road, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank purplerain47
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you for your comment shared on Tripadvisor. The hotel has a great location with steps away from MTR subway station and the famous Nathan Road. Ladies’ market and Temple Street, two popular tourist spots are within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel has been carried out projects to upgrade its hardware. Our new restaurant Amazing will...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I checked in today and am utterly disappointed. The staff are rude and unhelpful......one even ignored me and walked away. The rooms are filthy. The carpet is stained, bathroom glass covered in soap scum and marks and mold on the tiles. We requested a room change, which was got, however the 2nd room is no better. To top it off...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mel C
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your valuable comment shared on Tripadvisor. It is through these comments that we can identify issues and find rooms to improve. We have quickly sit down with the service team and reinforce our core value of friendly and efficient service in order to do better. Our preventative and maintenance program is running continuously in order...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 21 September 2014

The staff provided me with two single bed room even I reserved a double bed room in the first place, I insisted to change the room which finally I got the room. The hotel is very near with the subway which is a big plus with the price you have to pay. Do insist with what you are asking for,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ming962206
TheCityview, Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your comment shared on tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the accommodation experience at The Cityview. There would be time when guest arrives early or hotel runs high occupancy that we cannot immediately assign the desired bed type. Our front desk always study guests’ preference and try best to accommodate...

1,409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (896)
Viewed
Room/Suite (250)
Viewed
Bathroom (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (401)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (493)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (61)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (79)
Viewed
Premier Double Room (61)
Viewed
Premier Suite (88)
Viewed
Premier Twin Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
3,535 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#111 of 719 in Hong Kong
1,701 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#122 of 719 in Hong Kong
240 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#85 of 719 in Hong Kong
3,770 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Jordan / Yau Ma Tei

Neighbourhood Profile
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Jordan and Yau Ma Tei neighbourhood is where you will find some of the more authentic areas of Hong Kong. Not as glamourous or busy as its neighbours Mong Kok to the north or Tsim Sha Tsui to the south, Yau Ma Tei is often mistakenly overlooked by visitors on their trips to Hong Kong. Exploring parts of this area makes you feel like you’ve been transported back in time. A large part of the neighbourhood draws from the rich history of Temple Street, stretching from Jordan to Yau Ma Tei, where a mix of dai pai dongs (outdoor restaurants), market stalls, fortune tellers and old karaoke bars bring out the history and culture of the area. The neighbourhood is a showcase of diversity – different ethnicities, cultures, and a mix of old and new.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Price Range: $105 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cityview Hong Kong staff and other travellers.
66 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (66)

Questions? Get answers from The Cityview Hong Kong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Consider upgrading to a room with a free mobile hot spot for your stay.”
mdwstmatt, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“All floors are quiet, no a/c noise.”
979abrahamw, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for free upgrade if possible”
beanbeanj, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Looking out toward the greenbelt of trees and toward the schools very pleasant...”
rosemary08, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“the new wings”
fannyon, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Ctrip.com
US$58* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$86
Booking.comUS$73
Hotwire.comUS$73
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates