We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel 1001 Malam

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel 1001 Malam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 444: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel 1001 Malam
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel has a tropical feel with very clean rooms. The shower stays a consistent warm temperature (which is so rare to find in indo). The breakfast included is great and they make you fresh juice. Beautiful mural painted in every room. Wouldn't normally spend this much on a hotel, but they make it worth the value. OH! And it's quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn B
Cape Town South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unfortunately my stay 1000 Malam Hotel wasn't that great. The outside of the hotel is charming with the little courtyard and balconies. The location is amazing, the service was good however the rooms were basic. There were only two lights excluding the bathroom and not enough wall plugs in the room. We had to unplug the free standing lamp to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanaaz
Mamad S, Manager at Hotel 1001 Malam, responded to this review

Dear Shanaz thank you for staying with us and i am happy to have you as our guest we always learn from our guest to improve service and increase our facility. i am happy that you like our hotel even we found that you were not happy with our minor problem of dim light and hot water problem. we responds...

Reviewed 1 week ago

After spending various nights in various dirty homestays and hostels, 1001 Malam was a real treat. Lovely rooms, hot water and clean. Yes really clean! Not only that but we had the best guide - Tom, what a legend. He gave us plenty of tip offs about the area, took us to beaches, temples and beyond. As Tom says 'you're...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sophie r
Mamad S, General Manager at Hotel 1001 Malam, responded to this review

Dear Sophie thank you for having time to write your best review. we were so bless that we have you and your two best friend stay with us . Mr TOM (our driver) also happy that you were happy with his service i hope soon we can serve you again in your next visit . send our greetings to your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time i stay at this hotel. I love visit this city .. this hotel make me confort and hapoy .. great service all staff has great smile. I met the manager and he help a lot. Mr mamad thank you so much for hospitality i can say you did good job. Bravo and will comeback .. recomended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia H
Mamad S, General Manager at Hotel 1001 Malam, responded to this review

Dear Cecilia thank you for having time to review us and i am so glad that we serve you with our best service. hope we can serve you in near future thank you mamad

Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay here with friends on 2nd Feb to 5th Feb. Great location situated near Malioboro Street, Money changer, Tugu railway station and local cuisine. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast with several choices served at balcony and free flow of tea or coffee. With the exception of the dim lights and weak wifi, it is value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naffylee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I cames with my husband (dutch man) to yogyakarta . What i love to see yogyakarta is the ancient building from dutch era. Post office and bank in yogyakarta were coming from dutch architect .. love to see this city and happy to stay in hotel 1001 malam as aunthentic javaness building .. feel homy .. recomended this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yully W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and and my wife came so many times to Indonesia and at the moment I want visit Yogyakarta cause famous as pedestrian area in Indonesia and since people doing istagram and other social media so many spot of nice view like kalibiru and other beautiful spot.. mount merapi and Borobudur femple is other interesting place to visit .. in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 344chandank
Mamad S, General Manager at Hotel 1001 Malam, responded to this review

Dear Mr Chandan Thank you for having time to rate us on tripadvisor i am so glad that you were happy and enjoy stay with us . hope to serve you again in near future see you soon Mamad

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gong xi fat choi.. happy chiness new year .. even raining everyday but i am happy celebrate iMLEK (chiness new year) in yogyaa and stay at this hotel again.. raining a bit is and stay at cozy room with their new deaign of balcony .. love this place more and more ... service is great and smile face from all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nonakemetiran
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

what i love now to visit yogyakarta is visiting malioboro street as they have new pedestrian area ... and this hotel is only 5 minute walk to this pedestrian area.. i feel like we are visiting europe (london)happy to be here and stay at this hotel. well recomended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rekha H
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Best bang for the buck when you consider the combination of ambience, location, and helpfulness of staff. It's in the middle of the tourist area of Jogjakarta yet the place is relatively quiet. The only sounds you will hear are the horns of passing trains and thunder of flying airplanes above. They are tolerable. It's close to restaurants, shops, convenience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lemuel G

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3.4 km away
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
Tjokro Style Yogyakarta
#24 of 193 in Yogyakarta
209 reviews
0.2 km away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#31 of 193 in Yogyakarta
317 reviews
3.4 km away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#38 of 193 in Yogyakarta
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#17 of 193 in Yogyakarta
1,016 reviews
0.4 km away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#41 of 193 in Yogyakarta
449 reviews
3.8 km away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
artistic, new, ethnic, elegant, traditional hotel in the heart of malioboro area... each of our 16 rooms comes in a different painting that will take ur breath away ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Price Range: $30 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#14 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 1001 Malam staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel 1001 Malam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I really liked our room with the balcony on the second floor. I think it was with a turtle drawing.”
 of 5 bubbles 664larap, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms seem pretty similar, although I guess in the first floor they have more light”
 of 5 bubbles Ambolebo, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are same and there is no view to get from any of the rooms . But still 1st floor would be more comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles RitwikB_13, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms share a lovely garden. Upstairs rooms have a common balcony overlooking the street and the neighborhood.”
 of 5 bubbles NickZoa, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ground floow rooms are more convenient for making drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles IpohMali2014, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5