We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
See the most recent reviews
Showing 474: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Had pretty much everything you want from a good hostel. Location - MRT literally across the road (and 2 stops to Bayfront where Marina Bay Sands / Gardens by the Bay is) and Chinatown 5 minutes walk around the corner. Friendly and sociable - nice little common room and free breakfast was a good opportunity to chat to people. Staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sophpb
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to express our big bear THANK YOU for the 5-star review :) You have been our super-fun guests, bring us so much joy :) The hostel was filled with so much laughters and everybody here enjoyed themselves. Love to have you back with us again.... Sincerely bear love, Beary Best Team :) More 

Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Beary best located close to MRT exit J. You just walk across the road. the place near China town market, there were a lot of food stall with cheap price and good taste. Oh don't forget to go to food court center where have MICHELIN Star food stall open from 10:00-12:00

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rotsanan
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very glad that you have a good stay with us. We consistently improve our services everyday. We may have missed some points that you may have spotted. We do appreciate if you let us know where we could work and excel on our services and quality of your stay :) Hope our place would be listed... More 

Zwingenberg, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The rooms were tidy and the staff was nice! The decoration with teddy bears is a little bit strange :D location is great too, because the hostel is in opposite to the underground station "Chinatown" (Chinatown is a good place for dinner in the evening and its very central)!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank felixmjmueller
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very happy to hear from you. Teddy bears are our friendly best friends too :) We love to hear more from you soon when you come back to Singapore again. Thank you and bear hugs, Beary BEST! Team :) More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The best hostel I used to stay in. The room is clean & comfortable. Near MRT station & place for shopping, eating. People are friendly. Price is acceptable. Next time, when i comeback Singapore, I'll also stay in Beary Best. This the best hostel I used to know☺️

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NooNooLee
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Our beary best lovely guest, Thank you for your support and love... we see you soon too.. Loads to catch up.. There are more place to eat and shop, we show you next time... the hidden gems at Chinatown :) Beary BEST! hugs from Beary BEST! Team :) More 

Manila
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Room cramp, 5double decker beds and 1single bed in our room. Each bed have makeshift cover like blanket only for your privacy.Lounge doubles as your dining area in the morning. Cramp shower area also :(

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank znamartinez
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise if you do not feel comfortable staying at our hostel dorm rooms. Our blankets do keep our guest warm and comfortable, our bed linens are clean and made suited for the bunk beds at our 9-bedder (4 double bunk beds and 1 single bed, air-conditioned). Our lounge are very comfy. Most guests love to hang out... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I've stayed there for four nights and it was awesomeee!! The room is clean, as well as the bathroom. I've got a good experience during my stay in Beary Best. By the way, it is super close to China Town station. Hope to see you again Beary Best!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Narongsak D
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the lovely 5-star reviews...!! You have been the best and its our privilege to have you staying with us. We are so happy to hear that you have a great experience with us. Do come back to us soonest.. Loads to catch up ...great conservations :) Biggest Beary Hugs, Beary BEST Team :) More 

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We checked in and stayed for about 15 minutes in the female room. The snoring was so loud and the facility was just not of quality. The front desk person was very nice and the location is convenient. Book through their website rather than orbitz/expedia because you won't be able to get a refund if it's not suitable for you.

Helpful?
Thank Janelle S
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to apologise if we do not meet up with our expectations. We do strive our beary best to provide the best comfy beds/room/stay for every guests. For the lady dorm, it is a shared lady room, we cannot do much on the snoring part of our guests, especially late night... We hope that you will... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Beary Best is a nice place with friendly people. Location is excellent, surrounded by minimarts or department stors or food centres, just oppsite MRT system (China Town Station) Lovely cafes are all around the hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pratipai
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the 5-star review, and we, care bears are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us! don't forget to like us on facebook to keep in touch with our latest promotions & happenings in & around beary best! hostel & singapore ;) Keep in touch. Beary BEST Hugs, Beary BEST Team More 

Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Very comfortable and have a nice breakfast. Bathroom and Bed are very clean. Cashier also very friendly. Nice nice nice and very good..I don't know want to write what already so I just write nice and nice! PERFECT

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kenhow96
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Hi Guest, Thank you for your lovely words :) You have been very nice too... and words cannot describe our appreciation to you. Do contact us again when you come to Singapore :) We will introduce to more places to visit when you have more time in Singapore :) Beary BIG BEAR HUGS, Beary BEST! Team More 

Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Place is clean and safe. Very accessible to MRT (right across the street). The location is good for travelers who wanted to go nearby tourist destinations. There are many restaurants nearby (as it is in Chinatown). Friendly hosts. Breakfast is okay. :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maanc143
CareBearsSG, Manager at Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for 5-star review. We kept our price as afforable as possible in our very expensive country :P We are located the most prime area of Singapore too :) Yes, most attractions are near (even walking distance) from Beary BEST!, our guests get to save on transportation fees and time are saved. We hope to see you... More 

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#3 of 309 in Singapore
864 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#16 of 309 in Singapore
2,384 reviews
Furama City Centre
#47 of 309 in Singapore
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#6 of 218 in Singapore
661 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 218 in Singapore
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Chinatown is a classic combination of colourful sights, enticing smells, and sometimes startling sounds. The precinct is unique, however, in its blending of religions and cultures. A Hindu temple, an Islamic mosque, and a Chinese Buddhist temple sit almost side by side. This sense of cultural harmony continues as you venture just outside of Chinatown to the nightlife areas of Club Street and Duxton Hill. There you’ll mingle with Singapore’s multicultural residents at the modern bars and restaurants dotting the bustling streets. An afternoon in and around Chinatown will leave you culturally enlightened, well fed, and loaded with souvenirs. In the evening, reward yourself with a well-deserved cocktail as the locals come out to play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing out independently in a beautiful art deco heritage building, Beary Best! was designed with the simple intent to merge backpackers practicality with hotel like space and comfort.Fellow backpackers and budget travelers are welcomed to choose from a variety of dorm types (6, 8, 9 bed dorm and female dorm with ensuite bathroom) at great and affordable prices.Rates are all inclusive of free breakfast and a long list of high quality facilities such as large and clean showers, spacious lounge, free internet, WIFI access, air conditioning, fully fitted bunk beds with international power points) The hostel is located just 3 minutes from Chinatown MRT station and within 10 minutes walking distance to Singapore River, Marina Bay and the Financial District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!

Address: 16 Upper Cross Street Chinatown 18, Singapore 058331, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Price Range: $25 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beary Best! By a Beary Good Hostel! Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel! staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you may want to choose the mixed bed room at the 3rd floor for its more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Miler15, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Near MRT, Nice room, friendly staff, good breakfast, bathrooms are clean”
  • Kitchen Room
 of 5 bubbles NaniTea, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Everything good, clean, people very kind.. good location.. go there”
 of 5 bubbles carlabegord, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room which is not facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Parkinggirl, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no bathroom facilities on third floor”
 of 5 bubbles sastrieb, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay