We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shophouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Shophouse
The Shophouse
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Shophouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Fairly cheap considering the general prices of everything in Singapore, comfy beds and good A/C. There's a nice social area in the roof where you can see a lot of the city. Staff are very helpful with everything you need. There doesn't seem to be a lot to do in This area of town, but the trains are really good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April R
ShophouseHostel, Front Office Manager at The Shophouse, responded to this review

Hi April, Thank you for your kind rating and review! We are glad you had a great time with us and in Singapore. Looking forward to host you again the next time you return to Singapore! :D Cheers!

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Alright location. Dirty hostel. No air condition except in dorm room except everyone keeps Door open some reason. Reception has weird hours but no issue for late check in. First night is ok but then we had a group of 10 in our room. Came at 11 (after 10 supposed to be quiet time) turned all lights on and talk/...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jadk001
ShophouseHostel, Manager at The Shophouse, responded to this review

Hi Jordan, We are really sorry that we weren't able to provide you with a good night's sleep and we appreciate your feedback. We will do our best to remind all guests to be considerate but do understand that as we do not have a 24 hours reception, we are unable to check on the rooms in the middle of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

The pictures of this hostel are very good- well done to the photographer as I as was a little disappointed with the reality. We arrived at 1:40pm and were told we couldn't check in until 2. Get a grip it's 20 minutes! The chairs in the communal room were very uncomfortable and the slats under the bed moved! All that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mullen89
ShophouseHostel, Manager at The Shophouse, responded to this review

Hi there, We appreciate your feedback and we do normally allow guests to check-in earlier than the check-in time. However, there are occasions where we are unable to do so due to unforeseen circumstances beyond our control. As for the chairs and the beds, we have looked into them and rest assured, when you return, everything would be better than...

Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

For a night stay I would recommend this hostel. Some bad experiences: my key locker broken, I already ask the landlord but it doesn't to be repaired. The lower bunk bed suddenly fall down (although I can easily fix it), and the room is too shady. It hard to see clearly especially when I need to pack my belongings, since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pudyastomo
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

I've been come and stay in here for 3 days, So nice and comfort place.. The staff so friendly, The room was comfort, Bfast also nice.. So simple and fun. But the bed bug is only the real problem, so far all is good. I read all of review about this hostel and they talking about bed bug. So i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GraceVionna
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Great value for the price. Staff are super friendly and helpful, Wi-Fi was great, rooms were clean. Location was also great, easy walk to the train and buses. Easy to find halal food for muslim. It worth it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nett N
Adelaide
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed one night here as a big family- we had a whole dorm to ourselves- it was cool and clean and airconditioned- just what we needed after a long flight. The bathroom was outside our door- which wasn't really a problem in terms of people coming and going- the tricky part was that it was being renovated so was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank She_who_dreams_12
Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Perfect location and the price is reasonable. Good place for solo backpacker. It is quite an old style hostel with minimum amenities but sufficient. I was moved to other hostel due to some disaster but they handle it very well. I would suggest the management open the reception and serve the breakfast earlier then the current timing. It worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s12796
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Yes, there are better hostels in the immediate area, but you have to pay. Shophouse was, for the price, golden value. Staff are super friendly and helpful, Wi-Fi was great, rooms were clean, breakfast was great to enjoy in the roof. Location was also great, easy walk to the trains. Beds weren't the most comfortable, but whatever, it's a dorm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
Reviewed 27 January 2016

The bathrooms are super clean, the bunk beds are fine (a little bit flimsy for my mattress but I slept well), the wifi is great and the hosts are nice! They have a nice rooftop where you can enjoy your beer or breakfast there, and they have yoga session every Saturday/Friday night if I'm not mistaken. Definitely great for backpackers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windy D

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (132)
Viewed
12 Bed Dormitory (17)
Viewed
12 Bed Female Dormitory (13)
Viewed
16 Bed Dormitory (14)
Viewed
8 Bed Dormitory (10)
Viewed
8 Bed Female Dormitory (8)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Bunk Bed Private Room (12)
Viewed
Double Bed Private Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#11 of 227 in Singapore
468 reviews
Kampong Glam
Superb Hostel
Superb Hostel
#133 of 227 in Singapore
35 reviews
River City Inn
#17 of 227 in Singapore
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#7 of 77 in Singapore
56 reviews
Plush Pods Hostel
#85 of 227 in Singapore
384 reviews
Kampong Glam
5footway.inn Project Bugis
5footway.inn Project Bugis
#67 of 227 in Singapore
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Kampong Glam

Neighbourhood Profile
Kampong Glam
This traditionally Malay enclave of Singapore offers an alluring array of shops, cafes, and bars. A walk down Haji Lane offers quirky shopping, while one block over, Arab Street is a treasure trove of brightly coloured fabrics, clothing, and Turkish rugs. Stop for a leisurely coffee or cocktail and watch local kids play traditional games along the lane. Also home to the Malay Heritage Centre and one of Singapore’s most prominent mosques (Sultan Mosque), Kampong Glam is a must-visit for a tantalizing taste of Malay life in this city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As cliché as that sounds, Shophouse was started by a couple of best friends, backpackers who couldn't travel the world (yet) and wanted to bring it to them instead. So grab us if you have a minute to spare, we all have a wanderlust tale we'd love to hear or share. Less than 30 minutes from Changi International Airport, The Shophouse is located at Arab Street, a heritage area famous for its heady mix of arts, culture, dining and fashion. A 5-minute walk from Bugis MRT Station, Nicoll Highway MRT Station or Golden Mile Bus Complex, Shophouse combines affordability, comfort and convenience in a charming historical building. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shophouse

Address: 48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Price Range: $15 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shophouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shophouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shophouse Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shophouse staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Shophouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms towards the street are exposed to the fire alarm.”
 of 5 bubbles Kuchen4607, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the tiny windowless private rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveF9930, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose 12 female dorm because there is a window. It's much better than the 8 female dorm.”
  • 3 bathrooms on the left. There are an hairdryer and iron on the right.
  • Place for shoes. You have to take off your shoes before enter your bedroom.
  • 8 female dorm. There is no window. DAAARK!
 of 5 bubbles rachmal2015, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No the 16 bed-dorm”
 of 5 bubbles andr_sfelipeb, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For ladies, preferably choose female-dorm only, there is an option of 8 or 12 beds. It is more safe and secure.”
 of 5 bubbles ummusaadahzubir, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5