We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Totem

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Totem
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 12: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We found this hotel online. We arrived early afternoon and as soon as we got in, the owner suggested a bigger room with four beds, instead of our reservation of 2 separate rooms, to make it cheaper for our family: 2 adults, one teen, and one kid. Very nice thing to do! They brought us clean towels immediately, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorena V
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We paid 42 USD for the night for two people. Very good location, close to the river and the city center. Clean sheets and towels, good breakfast. Sometimes you have to wait a bit in the reception for one to come. At night, a short walk from Calle Esmeralda and eve shorter for Costanera.

Helpful?
Thank orlopes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

I didn't know where to go in Valdivia and the taxi pulled up here. The owner was so friendly and honest from the outset. He showed me a small enclosed room but said there was bigger if I wanted to pay more. The clean smell of laundry persuaded me of the cleanliness and I accepted. Very comfy bed with private... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheena B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Got to Valdivia early and called the Hostel and they took us in about 10 am. Took a family nap and hit the town. Good size room with four beds (in two room section second floor, room 7 I think) for a family of four. Paid about $80 dollars for the night, which is a good value compared to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JuanV593
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

You could do worse. Overall, this place was fine. One of my biggest gripes was the young couple looking after the place. In particular, the young man wasn’t the most welcoming fellow. He seemed annoyed when having to answer questions from guests or do anything. At times, he was combative and audibly exasperated over having to simply do his job... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank rucksack67
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We wandered from place to place in the area looking for lodging. We were first shown a fairly small room, but when asked if there was something bigger were shown an excellent sized room for not all that much more money and made a decision on the spot to stay there for a couple nights. Its called a Hostel, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeattleBasedVagabond
Antartica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A bit grotty, not very clean, and noisy. Friendly staff though

Helpful?
Thank jimbob j
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Booked a couple of nights here after seeing the positive reviews on TA. At the price I was not expecting too much, but even then I was thoroughly disappointed! The room was dirty, the bathroom had not been cleaned after the previous guests. Hair and grime around the sink etc. Then when I pulled back the sheets on the bed,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LuxembourgWendy
Alvaro R, Gerente at Totem, responded to this review

¿Why you didn't tell us? We would change/clean your room inmediatly. In very few cases we make mistakes, february is very high season and may be there was a confusion, but nothing unfixable!! With your opinion people could think we always have stones in our beds... ¿why you didn't tell us? More 

Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2010

The hostel is nice, it's comfy, all wooden, doubles have private bathroom. Romms are clean, I am not sure wether the kitchen is a community kitchen or not, didn't look like it, but, as usual in Chile and Argentina, the Hostel offers a simple, but good breakfast which is included in the price. It is not too far away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This is a really nice place to stay in Valdvia, and considering the cost its a bargain! Very friendly staff and the rooms are very quirky. They're not modern rooms, but everythings there for travellers, including a good breakfast in the morning. My only complaint would be the quality of the matress and bed which we slept on. We found... More 

Helpful?
Thank peeled_apples

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdivia hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa del Rio
Hotel Villa del Rio
#2 of 13 in Valdivia
200 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
Hotel Dreams Valdivia
#1 of 13 in Valdivia
716 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Boutique  Borderio
Hotel Boutique Borderio
#7 of 13 in Valdivia
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Diego de Almagro Valdivia Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Di Torlaschi
Hotel Di Torlaschi
#5 of 13 in Valdivia
80 reviews
0.6 km away
Bosque Nativo
Bosque Nativo
#6 of 38 in Valdivia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable guesthouse for world travellers, central heating, Internet, cable TV in rooms, private bathrooms, strategically located, great staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Totem

Address: Carlos Anwandter 425, Valdivia 5110239, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Price Range: $62 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Totem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Totem staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Totem staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room number 7 has 4 beds in two separate rooms. Great for a family with kids.”
 of 5 bubbles 606lorenav, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead. This place runs at or close to capacity much of the year.”
 of 5 bubbles rucksack67, 19 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Second floor was good, though tough (narrow) stairs to haul luggage up.”
 of 5 bubbles SeattleBasedVagabond, 2 Dec 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay