We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casaltura The Boutique Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hostel on strength of Lonely Planet recommendation and its quaint appearance. Yes, the hostel has lot of old world charm from the turn of century (20th century, that is) with lot of wood trims and large than normal windows. That does not mean it feels so old and worn out. Its top floor has a panoramic view... More 

Helpful?
Thank OliverTwist78
Valentina L, Director General at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Oliver! Thank you for your comment! We are glad that you liked our hostel. As you say, we are very well located and have a very nice rooftop terrace to enjoy the view. I'm very glad to tell you that we are making arrangements to improve the W-LAN this week, and if all works out, we may have an... More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this place, lovely restored building, good facilities and a lovely balcony to watch the world. Close to the markets, museums and Shops and restaurants. Good breakfast and staff her spoke English.If you like old you will love this

Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
Valentina L, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Alistair! Thank you so much for your comment! We love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to provide the best service we can. I'm gald that you found the facilities comfortable. As you say, we are also very well located to visit the main attractions in the city, and also to go... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

If anyone I know goes to Santiago I will recommend this hostel any day. Clean beds, nice linen, hot showers, great staff, good internet and good location. First night I stayed I couldn't have felt more welcome by the owners, staff, their friends and guests. Easy to get to from the airport get the blue centrobus, then the metro two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liam C
Valentina L, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Liam! Thank you so much for your comment! We loved to have you here and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. The hostel is very well located and our staff is always there to help our guests with anything they need. We hope to have you back sometime! Greetings from Chile, Staff CasAltura More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel in itself is very charming, it has a beautiful interior, the breakfast area is very serene and there are a couple of kittens running around the reception area. The kitchen is very good and the rooms have comfortable beds with excellent linen. Yet this was not a very comfortable stay for us. It felt like we were sleeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovedatsalad
Maira E, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Lovedatsald Muchas gracias por compartir tu experiencia con nosotros, estamos felices de que te haya gustado nuestras instalaciones. Con... More 

doha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

I booked the CasAltura on the recommendations of a friend who swore by the 'boutique' feel. Unfortunately I was left disappointed. Although the location is central, that was about the only positive. As a solo female traveller I was very uncomfortable when I went to get something from the nearby supermarket after checking in around 9pm-the street corners were filled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Couchita1
Paulina L, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Couchita1 Gracias por comentar tu experiencia, lamentamos que tu estadía en Casaltura no haya sido la mejor pero resolveremos... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We had booked a private room with a shared washroom, and when we checked in they upgraded us to include a private bathroom as well (bonus). The room was in the adjacent building, which is not a problem (note there are lots of stairs at this place). Unfortunately only our bathroom had a window, so the room was very stuffy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
Paulina L, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu comentario que nos ocuparemos de solucionarlo de inmediato, para nosotros es muy importante saber la experiencia... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Location is convenient to Mercado Central and the metro, so easy to get around. The common spaces and rooms were very clean. Wifi is only available in common spaces, but worked well. The beds were very comfortable. I had an individual room, and it felt more like a boutique hotel than a hostel. Great rooftop terrace too. The staff was... More 

Helpful?
Thank fwtraveller2015
Maira E, Director de Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Fwtraveller2015 Muchas gracias por comentar tu experiencia, estamos contentos de que hayas disfrutado tu estancia en Hostal Casaltura, como... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Nice place to stay.. Confortable and reasonable. First time in a hostel for me, I just don't like the idea to stay in a shared room with so much people, my adive is choose a private room or with less people, off course it is not a problem of the hostal, but it is a advice for others.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pontes1988
Paulina L, Recepción at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Pontes 1988 Muchas gracias por comentar tu experiencia en Hostal Casaltura para nosotros es muy importante saber de ustedes,... More 

Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

CasAltura is in a good central location. We were put in the adjoining building which was a bit of a nuisance. - we'd booked a 'superior matrimonial ' room so I guess this is where the rooms are. Would've been nice to know beforehand. However, the room was spacious, bed comfortable. Traffic noise is horrendous but I am not bothered... More 

Helpful?
Thank atomcat
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Unfortunately not a great experience here. Upon checking in (all staff just spoke Spanish, so a little hard to communicate, but not their fault I guess), we were shown to our room which was in the building next door. Our double room was SUPER noisy as it was next to the road and the 'windows' were a bit of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrDoughnut
Paulina L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casaltura The Boutique Hostel, responded to this review

Dear MrDoughnut, Thank you for your honest comment. I'm very sorry that you had such a bad time in our Hostel, and please rest assure that we are considering all of your comments and alreasy applying this to improve our service. Regarding our staff, we are constantly training them so they can give the best service possible, and of course... More 

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#82 of 194 in Santiago
565 reviews
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 152 in Santiago
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#4 of 453 in Santiago
854 reviews
Hostal Rio Amazonas
#1 of 152 in Santiago
448 reviews
Parron de Colores
#19 of 152 in Santiago
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable and spacious, or house is decorated stylishly and warmly; the wood takes centerplace, fusing both classical and modern. Illuminated and ample, our hostel is a unique place in the city. We have 2 buildings, located next to each other. The main building is large and divided in two levels, 15 rooms with wooden floors and beautiful details. In addition, it has a terrace on the top. The second building has 4 superior rooms, and with a different entrance which gives a more calmens to our passengers. Our location is privileged, San Antonio with Ismael Valdes Street, next to the forest park; very near to the historic neighborhood of Santiago. Allowing that the tourist can easily accessible places typical of the city, such as: market Central, Plaza de Armas, Cerro San Cristobal, pre-Columbian Museum, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellavista (Patio), Bellavista La Chascona (Pablo Neruda), La piojera, Centro Mall, Board of Trustees, flag, La Moneda, Santiago Cathedral, Paseo Ahumada, Estacion Mapocho, supermarkets, banks, among others. Also we are happy to invite all our passengers to visit our new restaurant called Adobe Restaurant. Located just next to the Hostel, Adobe Restaurant is the perfect choice for having lunch or dinner in an typical Chilean cuisine of excelent quality, that offers fresh products combined in traditional recipes that will make your visit a culinary experience! If you are staying in CasAltura Hostel don't forget to ask for your free welcome drink and appetizer." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casaltura The Boutique Hostel

Address: San Antonio 811, Centro Historico | (Plaza de Armas Subway Station), Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Price Range: $25 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casaltura The Boutique Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casaltura The Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casaltura The Boutique Hostel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Casaltura The Boutique Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for two-bed room as it is quietest room.”
 of 5 bubbles OliverTwist78, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I liked the rooms with the balconys”
 of 5 bubbles alistairm2013, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get put in the main building if you can”
 of 5 bubbles MrDoughnut, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Request for a room facing interior courtyard, if any”
  • Kitchen and my dish
  • Room view
 of 5 bubbles Sambawalk2025, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Non roadside rooms are much quieter and Room 5 would be great for a couple :)”
 of 5 bubbles rosso241, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay