We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmenere Hotel

Maria Luisa Santander 0292 Providencia, Santiago 7500845 Chile
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (27)
Videos (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 230 hotels in Santiago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Carménère Hotel combines rustic charm and modern comforts with an authentic glimpse of Chilean culture and tradition; creating an oasis amidst a metropolis. We are an award winning boutique hotel centered around our guests and their experience. Carménère’s Chilean ambiance and winery setting is present within every inch of the hotel. Situated in the beautiful residential area of Providencia in Santiago de Chile, Carménère is within walking distance of iconic Bellavista, Lastaria, and Italia neighbourhoods. We have created a new benchmark for sustainability in the travel industry in Chile. Our goal is to create the most eco-friendly operation while not effecting the experience of our guests. We support small local producers. Most of whom are organic or sustainable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Concierge
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Safe
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Maria Luisa Santander 0292 Providencia, Santiago 7500845 Chile
Name/address in local language
Carménère Hotel
433Reviews12Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 346
  • 72
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anne M wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This is a small, comfortable and beautifully decorated hotel. The garden/patio is lovely and fully accessible. Our room opened directly onto a private patio in the garden--lovely. A generous, delicious buffet breakfast is included. Our stay was a little unusual as my husband was recovering from broken ribs. We can't say enough about how helpful and supportive the staff was. Many thanks to all the staff! Lots of shops and restaurants withing walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Drkeeney wrote a review Dec 2023
18 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Situated on the edge of Barrio Italia, the Carménère Hotel is ideally located for exploring the Centro Historico, Lastarria, and Bellavista. Hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly, assisting with all my travel needs including assistance with airport shuttles, car rental, and restaurant recommendations. The room was idyllic. A healthy breakfast started the day and unwinding in the wine cellar and on the back patio was perfect to end the day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Jan 5, 2024
Dear Drkeeney, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Carménère. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we are also so delighted to see the wonderful photos you've posted. We agree Carménère is ideally located for exploring wonderful parts of Santiago. We are so happy our team was able to assist with your travel needs and that you enjoyed all the hotel amenities and common areas. We read all of the reviews our guests leave us and we truly appreciate it! We look forward to your next visit to Santiago!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John C wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Stayed here for a number of nights on our way to points further South and on the return to the U.S. Communication was perfect, easy to arrange a fairly tedious schedule. The staff was always helpful and friendly, their English was better than my Spanish. Breakfast was great and the room very comfortable. The location is awesome, quiet and walking distance to a number of great restaurants. Would absolutely recommend and / or stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Deb s wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The room was very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the enclosed back yard and patio area so much. The meals we had eating out on the patio were delicious and having French pressed coffee was so fun and good. Our hosts were gracious and very helpful in recommendations for area restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2024
Hey F2789VMdebs, Thank you so much for your review on Hotel Carménère! We are so delighted to read that our hotel and guest experience team achieved all your expectations during your stay. We were especially happy to read how much you enjoyed our private garden and breakfast. Our team reads all the reviews and this means so much to us! We really appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ny P wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I will start by saying I like prefer boutique hotels and like to support small businesses over chains. That said, our stay at Carmenere was very unpleasant made worse by a staff that was inflexible, and without basic compassion. Upon (Friday) arrival at our 4 night stay, we learned that the portion of the city we were staying in would have its water cut off until Sunday morning. When you’re on vacation and on a romantic getaway, not being able to bathe or shower is a bit of a nonstarter. After all, we booked a hotel, not camping. Worth mentioning that I also booked a room for the night before we arrived so we could check in early in the morning when we arrived without incident. My husband and I were completely caught off guard by this news. I had contacted the hotel 5 business days before to get some recommendations and never heard back. The lack of responsiveness should have been my first red flag. The next few hours were very frustrating, as the on-site manager proceeded to: 1. Suggest we change our plans so that we would go on excursions during the days when there was no water. He insisted on this many times even after we explained that we were traveling with a group of 16 (the only ones staying in this hotel and in this predicament), and had fixed plans that we couldn’t change. And again, when you book a hotel, a basic expectations is running water. 2. Insist that this water outage caught them off guard. Upon talking to staff that other hotels, we learned that the town had known about the water situation well before our arrival. 3. Continued to gaslight us and insist that the situation was “not that bad” and that they would give us water bottles so that we would have access to water to clean ourselves. 4. Offer absolutely no compensation or solutions to help - again, we paid for the nights we were scheduled to sleep there + the extra night before we arrived. We ended up booking a different hotel nearby at a similar price point that had running water while the water was shut off. It was great, the staff was friendly, our room was so nice. Because the staff at Carmenere wouldn’t offer us any sort of financial compensation, we begrudgingly returned. And it just wasn’t pleasant. The rooms were old, small, very creaky floors, you could hear in between rooms. The breakfast was good, though - very fresh with a solid spread. I really wanted to like this hotel, but the way we were treated was honestly shocking and disappointing. I would not recommend staying here. The customer service was truly horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Dear nyp2024, I would like to start by saying it is always disappointing to see such a review about our hotel. It is our goal that all guests leave with an amazing experience during their time in Santiago. However, given your behavior towards both our reception and management staff during your stay we cannot say we are entirely surprised by your review. You had already written to our hotel following your stay threatening a review of this nature if you were not compensated in some way and here we are. As many aspects of your review are not authentic or true so we are requesting that Tripadvisor remove it as it is defamation of our business. In the meantime I would like to address the details for future guests of our hotel. Firstly you say that we did not respond to your inquiry 5 business days before arrival. This is untrue as we respond to all guests inquiries within 12 hours of receiving them and we have written documentation of this. Regarding the potential water cuts. It was very unfortunate that the city of Santiago had announced potential water cuts due to the installation of the new metro line. We were only informed 24 hours prior that there was a possibility our street would be effected. Upon receiving the notification, we promptly informed all guests of the situation. We let everyone know that is was highly unlikely our hotel would be effected and it would be confirmed by 6pm that same day (Friday). All guests staying with us were very understanding and flexible as it was highly unlikely. We did not suggest changing travel plans or itineraries and we had prepared for a worst case scenario. Upon informing our guests of this possible scenario your party was the only one that was very explosive regarding the situation and demanded to promptly leave and relocate. We did explain that we would have everything confirmed in a few short hours and that it may be worth waiting so that it did not affect your stay/plans. We understand this caused a fight between you and your spouse of which was heard throughout the hotel, disturbing other guests. You also mentioned that the situation had caused a fight which was the main reason for your frustration. This was elaborated in the follow up email you sent us. In the end you decided to book an alternative option further up in the city in a different neighborhood. At 6pm Friday we received the good news that our hotel would not be effected by any water cuts. We promptly informed all guests and additionally sent you an email inviting you to enjoy your stay with us. During the entire period of your stay in Santiago our hotel was under normal operation. To reiterate we had running water throughout your stay. All guests staying with us during that time left wonderful reviews and were very pleased by the hotel's constant communication and reaction regarding the unanticipated situation. Regarding our room decor you described as "old". Our rooms are all individually decorated based on the traditional style of the Chilean countryside. All of the furnishing including light fixtures are original restored antiques. We combine our rustic style with the highest level of hotel amenities, such as 800 count Egyptian cotton sheets, Ipad minis for guest use, all organic bathroom essentials, welcome glass of Carménère wine among many others. We believe this adds to the charm of our property and highlights Chilean culture, however, we understand and respect that it might not be a suitable style for every traveler. Lastly we do not "gaslight" our guests which is why we communicated the situation to each party staying with us and offered alternative solutions. We are unsure what you are referring to when you used this term in your review. There is clearly nothing we can do to change your mind regarding your stay so we wish you the best of luck with your future travel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
h0rst1337 wrote a review Dec 2023
Düsseldorf, Germany9 contributions4 helpful votes
The rooms were good and the location was excellent The staff was very friendly and helpful The wine selection was very good The hotel was truly an oasis in the middle of the big city. The Chilean atmosphere was clearly noticeable
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Dear h0rst1337, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Hotel Carménère. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the location as well as the atmosphere. We were especially pleased to read how much you liked the Chilean atmosphere. It means so much to our team! We look forward to you next visit! Best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jrsd wrote a review Dec 2023
Deepings4 contributions
An oasis of calm in a busy city. A gorgeous eco-hotel with a lovely, peaceful garden. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, very helpful front desk, and an amazing breakfast ... they really try hard to please.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Jan 17, 2024
Dear jrsd, Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent experience at Hotel Carménère. We are truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are especially pleased to read how helpful our guests experience team was during your travels. We read all the reviews and this means so much to us! We look forward to your next visit! Best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Beth M wrote a review Nov 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel with clean, tastefully decorated but small rooms. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic part of Santiago for walking with many shops and restaurants, felt very safe. Nice breakfast included and a bonus wine cave for sampling the excellent house wine.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Nov 10, 2023
Hi Beth M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked our breakfast and organic Chilean wine cellar. We agree! Our location is fantastic for exploring around the city with lots of shops and wonderful dinning experiences. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toby N wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
An amazing boutique hotel. Staff is amazing and very attentive and accommodating. A wonderful place to stay while visiting Santiago!! The hotel has many wonderful amenities including a wine cellar and tasting room. Would highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Sep 28, 2023
Hi tobyn631, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Carmenere. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our hotel, especially our wine cellar and amenities. Our guest experience team work hard to ensure each guest leaves with a wonderful experience while visiting Santiago. Our team reads all the reviews that are written and we really appreciate it. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
contemplative writer wrote a review Jul 2023
York, Maine50 contributions15 helpful votes
This personable hotel on a quiet street in Santiago was a real find. The hotel has a nice courtyard where you can relax and read or have a snack/drink, and they take you down to their cellar for a sample of their local wine. Santiago can be a bit overwhelming, and this hotel was an oasis in the heat and bustle.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from German Cornejo, Owner at Carménère Hotel
Responded Jan 26, 2024
Dear contemplativewriter, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Hotel Carménère. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed our private garden as well as underground wine cellar. We were especially pleased to read your comments about the location of our property. We agree it creates a little oasis in the heart of the city. We can't wait for your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santiago area.
PRICE RANGE
C$202 - C$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChileSantiago Metropolitan RegionSantiagoProvidencia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Carmenere Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Carménère Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Carménère Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parque Bustamante (0.4 km), Iglesia de Los Santos Angeles Custodios (0.3 km), and Casa de las Gárgolas (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carménère Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Carménère Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Carménère Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carménère Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gran Refugio, Casaluz Restaurant, and Olan.
Does Carménère Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Carménère Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carménère Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Carménère Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Centro Cultural Palacio de la Moneda y Plaza de la Ciudadanía (2.3 km), Ex Congreso Nacional (6.1 km), and Intendencia de Santiago (2.2 km).