We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riviera Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#127 of 230 hotels in Santiago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Riviera Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Santiago, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Riviera Hotel is a budget friendly hotel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features 24 hour front desk and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a lounge, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Santiago.

Close to some of Santiago's most popular landmarks, such as Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana) (0.7 km) and Centro Cultural Palacio de la Moneda y Plaza de la Ciudadanía (0.8 km), Riviera Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

While visiting Santiago, you may want to try some oyster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Como Agua Para Chocolate, Bocanariz, or Baco Vino y Bistro.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Cerro San Cristobal (1.4 km), Cerro Santa Lucía (0.2 km), and Patio Bellavista (1.2 km), which are some popular Santiago attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Santiago!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located

Location

Miraflores 106, Santiago Chile
Name/address in local language
Riviera Hotel
151Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 68
  • 51
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Traveller2920 wrote a review Mar 2019
Los Angeles, California333 contributions119 helpful votes
Rooms are very tiny, bathroom very tiny, no shampoo in shower. WiFi is bad, not working in rooms and constantly kicking you out and you have to sign in every single time you leave your phone for 1-min. Breakfast is simple, toast, coffee , tea, ham, cheese , cereal and some fruits, no eggs. Only good is the location, literally walking distance to everything and their coffee is soo good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Gerente at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest, We are very thankful for your comment and appreciate the time for reviewing us. We are a family hotel located in a century-old building in downtown Santiago, so the spaces are not as large as newer hotels however we pride in providing the best service in an unbeatable location and we appreciate you comment on that! We apologize for the low connection with the Internet but would like to ensure you that since your visit we have upgraded our connection 10X the speed and haven't had any complaints since. We thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you in the near future, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TravellingAl wrote a review Sep 2018
Durham, United Kingdom158 contributions25 helpful votes
We stayed at the Riviera Hotel for a night as part of a tour. Positives first: the hotel was clean and we had good hot water all day. Also, the rooms had comfy beds and both air conditioning and good heating which was much appreciated after a few were much appreciated after a few weeks in the Andes. And the downsides: the rooms are very very small (barely room to move once you have two people and bags inside), the WiFi wasn’t worth using unless you happened to be awake at 4am when no-one else was on it, and the breakfast was pretty awful. We ate at 9am and there was a very minimal selection of cheese, ham and bread with (plus point) good coffee. In summary, stay here if you’re travelling on a budget - it’s certainly ok - but it’s not recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest, We thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for all the positive notes as well as the negatives, as we're working on improving our operation. Since your visit, we've made improvements to the breakfast, the coffee, and as well as the internet connection that is now 10X faster than it used to be, thanks to the new fiber optics connection. Our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing an honest and warm service for all of our guests. We thank you again and look forward you had a great overall time in Chile, Yours truly, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AvidGlobeHopper wrote a review Sep 2018
Birtley, United Kingdom267 contributions81 helpful votes
We arrived after a long day of travelling to find a pokey room with barely enough room to store our bags. You can't turn around in the bathrooms and the showers are so small that you touch the shower curtain and the wall whilst using it. Breakfast was ok - toast and cheese/ham but nothing special. The good thing about this hotel is it's central location but I otherwise wouldn't recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you had expected after a long day of traveling. We hope this was not because of our false advertisement, as our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing an honest and warm service for all of our guests. We appreciate that you like the location because as you said, we're right in the heart of Santiago downtown, by the Santa Lucia Hill, Lastarria Artsy Neighborhood and Fine Arts Museum. Thank you again for taking the time to write this note, Yours truly, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RedhairMelbourne wrote a review Aug 2018
Boronia, Australia11 contributions13 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. Whilst clean enough the rooms are incredibly small - barely enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom is also very small and the water pressure wasn’t good. The location isn’t too bad though. I probably wouldn’t stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you had expected. We hope this was not because of any false advertisement, as our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but very cozy, and we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing a familiar service for all of our guests. We appreciate that you like the location because as you said, we're right in the heart of Santiago downtown, by the Santa Lucia Hill, Lastarria Artsy Neighborhood and Fine Arts Museum. Thank you again for taking the time to write this note, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PUMBRIDGE wrote a review Mar 2018
London, United Kingdom2076 contributions350 helpful votes
A hotel that's close to just about everything, in a safe and relaxed neighbourhood and with a park nearby (the Santa Lucia). A metro station is handily placed, the tiny breakfast bar - sometimes overcrowded if a group is staying and they all want to have their first meal of the day together - does good juice and the usual cheese and jams, and the - again cramped - reception seems to function alright. Allow time to check out, because if you're standing at the desk with your bags, there's no room for anyone to get past you, and you're constantly having to say 'Excuse me'. The rooms are clean, tidy and well-maintained, the small en suite showers are fine (the mini baths are too small to sit in, so you just use it as a bowl-shaped shower tray) and there's enough cupboard space. We enjoyed a three-day stay here. It's very central and handy for everything, it's quiet at night - the city babble dies down by about 9pm - and it's reasonably priced. All in all, no major issues.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Sixth or seventh floors are quietest
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. We're reading all the comments with our customer experience team to implement some new improvements to our day-to-day operation so thank you for your kind words. As most guests express, our location is definitely one of the highlights, with the main subway line station just less than a block away, across the Santa Lucia Hill and the Lastarria's artsy neighbor, so we appreciate this was a great highlight for you too and would love to welcome you again in the near future, Thank you again for taking the time to write this note, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eileen3 wrote a review Mar 2018
Denver, Colorado151 contributions95 helpful votes
This hotel is just two blocks from the Santa Lucia metro station. It is a small hotel which is kept clean and tidy. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are tiny. Beds are comfortable, and most of the rooms have a/c. The staff are friendly and helpful, and speak some English. The breakfast was disappointing, and scant. However, there are other breakfast options nearby, and also there is a nice little convenience store next door.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. We're reviewing all the comments with our customer experience team to implement some new improvements to our day-to-day operation so thank you for your kind words. We've made some improvements to our breakfast menu since your last visit! We listened to our guests' feedback! Also, we have A/C in all of our rooms in preparation for hotter summers. We're also very glad that you enjoy our friendly staff, as they're who make our hotel a very charming one. Thank you again for taking the time to write this note, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
eleanor G wrote a review Mar 2018
Newport, Rhode Island353 contributions108 helpful votes
The hotel is very tired and could use some attention. The rooms are very small, but clean with comfortable beds. It you have many electronics you should bring a cord for multipal devices. The breakfast is boring but substantial. The staff are the ones who make your stay there a pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RivieraHotel_CL, Manager at Riviera Hotel
Responded Jun 18, 2019
Dear guest, We are very thankful for your comment and appreciate the time for reviewing us. We are a family hotel located in a century-old building in downtown Santiago, so the spaces are not as large as newer hotels however we pride in providing the best service with our gracious staff, we truly appreciate you commented on that, and regarding the breakfast option, this is something we're definitely working on to improve even further. We thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you in the near future, Cecilia Solé Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MooseTravel wrote a review Jan 2018
Toronto, Canada39 contributions32 helpful votes
This hotel is the chosen starting point for a travel group I often use. Pros: The desk staff were nice enough. It's in a good location, with amenities close by. Cons: It was noisy if you had a room at the front looking out to the street. I slept in the narrowest single bed I've ever encountered. In fact one morning I rolled from my back to my side and fell out of the bed! (And I'm not *that* big!). Breakfast was okay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
stellkatalina wrote a review Oct 2017
New South Wales, Australia82 contributions50 helpful votes
Had a very pleasant stay at Riviera. Although there was a language barrier, staff were (very) patient with my broken spanish. I was also getting over the cold and a staff member had taken noticed and offered me cold and flu tablets! I was not expecting that at all but it was highly appreciated! Breakfast was simple, staff would toast bread fresh for you when you sat down. Otherwise the selection was basic. Rooms were clean and well lit. Beds were comfy. Yes, you do get the noise from the street but that didnt bother me. WiFi signal was good for the most part. Ended up moving rooms during my 2nd night and it was a little touch and go but ok.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hellyd76 wrote a review Sep 2017
London, United Kingdom31 contributions13 helpful votes
Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, very sweet staff who were really helpful despite the language barrier. Right near a park and about ten mins walk from the main square and cool neighborhoods for dinner and drinks. It is noisy at night (though nothing earplugs can’t handle) and the bathrooms are tiny, though the water pressure is excellent. Decor is a bit dated.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santiago area.
LOCATION
ChileSantiago Metropolitan RegionSantiagoSanta Lucia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Riviera Hotel - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Riviera Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Riviera Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cerro Santa Lucia (0.2 km), Chile Dream Tours (0.4 km), and Barrio Lastarria (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riviera Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Riviera Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Riviera Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wonderland Café, Le Bistrot Viet, and New Horizon.
Does Riviera Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Riviera Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Riviera Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Santiago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Riviera Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Riviera Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Centro Cultural Palacio de la Moneda y Plaza de la Ciudadanía (0.8 km), Ex Congreso Nacional (4.7 km), and Intendencia de Santiago (0.8 km).