We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Volante Hostal

Save
Share
Escalera Fischer 27 Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso 2370654 Chile
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (73)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (83)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-08-24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-08-24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 312 Speciality lodging in Valparaiso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are the biggest, most booked and more awarded hostel in town. Quality is our goal, always! Our location is just perfect, and we have almost 1000 square meters of infraestructure, a bar with foosball and karaoke, cinema & artistics nights, 3 fully equipped kitchens, a chilled patio, 4 big lounge areas, 24/7 reception, 23 big private and shared rooms, 11 shared bathrooms, restaurant, cafeteria, secure lockers and great multicultural staff to help you. Cerro Concepcion, our location, is the greatest neigborhood in town!! is totally central, chill by night, arti, and 3 blocks from an excellent restaurant-bars area!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Video game console
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
408Reviews10Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 233
  • 134
  • 25
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Pascal wrote a review Apr. 2019
Bassersdorf, Switzerland36 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights in a twin private with bunk bed. Our room was in the back building which comes with an own kitchen which was just like the main one quite well equipped. The room was fine apart from the window which couldn't be closed normally and would let the cold air in from outside. The bunk beds are wider than the avg. beds we had so far. The shared bathrooms were rather dirty and NOT cleaned daily. There was the same trash lying in one of the showers for two nights. Another review from March already mentioned this for the same bathroom to which the management replied that they will improve tge situation which is obviously not true. The common area is nice and there's also a bar downstairs. The location is excellent. You can pay with credit card but they surcharge you a 4% fee compared to when paying in cash. They justify it with that as a foreigner you don't need to pay tax (19%) but that has nothing to do with their 4% surcharge! Not sure if that's even allowed in Chile...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Casa Volante H, Administración at Casa Volante Hostal
Responded Nov. 19, 2019
Hello! Thank you very much for your time and for your comments about your stay in our house. We will take your words into account to improve our facilities and services. Greetings from Casa Volante!
Read more
James S wrote a review Apr. 2019
Montevideo, Uruguay29 contributions36 helpful votes
Don't get me wrong, this is a great hostel and I would highly recommend. It is located in a great area of Valpo, which felt really safe. There is a really cool and laid back social vibe here and the hostel is well equipped with two kitchens and lots of bathrooms - No waiting around! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, especially when my friend cut his head open and there is also a great and reasonably priced laundry service as well. However as the bed is a fairly fundamental aspect to a hostel experience this is where we were ever so slightly let down. We stayed in a private twin room which consisted of a double bed, with a single bunk above. To say that the top bunk wasn't stable, is an understatement. Every time you rolled over, the bed would sway with you, making one hell of a noise and in turn waking you up. Definitely something that needs looking in to and from speaking to other guests it wasn't an isolated issue. That being said we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Casa Volante H, Administradora at Casa Volante Hostal
Responded Nov. 19, 2019
Hello! Thank you very much for your time and for your comments about your stay in our house. I am pleased to tell you that we have solved the problem with all our beds, they are now welded and totally stable and comfortable. We hope you return one day to Valparaíso and see you again. Greetings from Casa Volante and happy trips! :)
Read more
Sheily S wrote a review Mar. 2019
Bengaluru, India16 contributions21 helpful votes
The breakfast spread is good and comes at an additional cost of $5 per head but it is worth it. Also it is available until 11AM so you can ease into breakfast. The room was spacious and the linen was clean (wasn't crisp though) The location is wonderful. Within walking distance of all the hotspots and restaurants. There are at least 6 bathrooms so the waiting isn't much. Some are spacious while some are small but not much to complain since they were clean. Showers were nice and hot. They even provided towels! The hostel itself is vibrant. Murals and art plastered everywhere. Nice music playing all day long. There is also a shared kitchen and a bar in house. The shared spaces are large and cozy. Great place to meet co-travellers. The staff are polite and courteous and also speak English. Overall a nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Casa Volante H, Administradora General at Casa Volante Hostal
Responded Nov. 19, 2019
Hello! Thank you very much for your kind words about our hostel and staff, we are glad to know that you had a good day at our house. Greetings from Casa Volante and happy travels! :)
Read more
GrandTour05029555345 wrote a review Mar. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Close to everything in Valparaíso. I had to wait a long time at the reception because they prefered to chat. Inventory is clean but old.. Take a flyer of the free walking tours, they were really great!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Casa Volante H, Director General at Casa Volante Hostal
Responded Mar. 25, 2019
Hello, we thank you very much for your rating and your comments. I am sorry to read that you do not have a very good stay in our hostel, we will investigate what happened and we will take into consideration your comments to improve. Greetings from Casa Volante Hostal. Victoria Santangelo Morteyru
Read more
via985 wrote a review Mar. 2019
4 contributions
Stayed for two nights in an individual room, March 2019. Ok hostel, but the standard of the room (located in a different building than the rest of the hostel) is in my opinion not good value for money. The shared bathroom was not in good condition, and not clean.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Casa Volante H, Director Comercial at Casa Volante Hostal
Responded Mar. 4, 2019
Hello, I am sorry to read that you did not have a perfect stay at our hostel. We will take your comments into consideration to improve our services. Greetings from Valparaíso. Victoria Santangelo Morteyru
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChileValparaiso RegionValparaiso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Volante Hostal
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Volante Hostal?
Nearby attractions include Cerro Concepcion (0.2 km), Cerro Alegre (0.2 km), and Paseo Gervasoni (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Volante Hostal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Volante Hostal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Volante Hostal?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Volante Hostal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Good Morning Valparaíso Restaurant and Cider House, Cafe Entre Cerros, and Ápice Cocina De Mar.
Is Casa Volante Hostal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Valparaiso.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa Volante Hostal?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Volante Hostal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Volante Hostal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iglesia Luterana de La Santa Cruz de Valparaíso (0.2 km), Palacio Carrasco (7.5 km), and Cementerio de Disidentes (0.5 km).
Does Casa Volante Hostal have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.