We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Gangotena

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Gangotena
See the most recent reviews
Showing 508: English reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went to this hotel yesterday. It was a good experience, but food wasn't gourmet. We found that dishes are to common that you can find them at a mall, like a Caesar Salad for an entree. The soup at dinner was too salty and spicy. I asked for a Tigrillo at breakfast, and it was salty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear Christian C Thank you very much for your review about the hotel, I truly appreciate it. Please rest assured that we have took in account every word from your review to improve the gastronomic experience at the hotel. We deeply sorry for any incontinence caused. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Casa Gangotena is an old-fashioned luxury hotel right in the centre of the historic section of Quito. We had a room overlooking Plaza San Francisco, which was especially beautiful when illuminated in the evening. The view from the roof terrace is even more spectacular! The staff were friendly and efficient, service was excellent, wi-fi was fast and free, breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear Robin B Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Casa Gangotena with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I truly hope that your adventure through Ecuador was exiting and comfortable as well. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Arlington, VA
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel in january with our two young kids. Great place, great location, and excellent with the kids. Only complaint is that their transportation provider is not the most reliable, but the hotel made up for it by paying for our taxi to the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanInVA
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear DanInVA We are pleased to know that your kids enjoyed their stay with us. On the other hand, thank you very much for calling our attention about the transfer provided, we will double check the service to guaranty excellence. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Casa Gangotena is a beautiful, elegant small hotel situated next to Plaza San Francisco. It is a quiet oasis in the midst of all the hustle and bustle of the old town section of Quito. The level of service is above almost any place I have ever stayed. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and handsome. The staff is friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thorns C
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear Thoms C Thank you very much for your warm review about our property and service, it is indeed with pleasure that we read you had a wonderful time in our city. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We had lunch there during our trip to Ecuador. The food and service were exquisite. The hotel is a gorgeous throwback to elegance found in luxury hotels for the rich such as you might read about in Edith Wharton's "Age of Innocence."

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abacusz
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear abacusz Thank you very much for remark the resemblance with the upper-class New York City in the 1870s. Hope we have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I made two stays at Casa Gangotena, each for several days, two weeks apart. It's a fine luxury hotel as described below. But sometimes you need more. When my girlfriend joined me for the second stay she had severe discomfort from altitude sickness. She was scared. The staff of Casa Gangotena were our champions. They brought up oxygen. Coca tea...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John D
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear John D Truly hope you had a safe trip back home, thank you very much for this warm review about your experience at Casa Gangotena. We are glad to know that your girlfriend enjoyed the city at last and that we were helpful to make her feel better. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Encinitas, California
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This possibly is the nicest hotel we have ever had the pleasure to stay in! It is located near the Old Town of Quito in the southern district. The Church of San Fransico is located right across the street. We were told the airport is 45 minutes from the hotel and asked in advance if they had someone to pick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear Anna M Thank you very much for sharing your review about our property. I’m please to hear that enjoyed our rooms, our restaurant and our location, but most of all, I’m glad you had felt safe with us. Warm regarts Juan David Echeverria

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Casa Gangotena served as the hub of our family wedding activity over four days. Even though the wedding was held elsewhere in Quito, Casa Gangotena made the event very special. We arrived in Quito at midnight, and as mentioned in other reviews, tea sandwiches, fruit, and water were waiting for us in the beautiful lobby, putting us in a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trlrnnr952
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear trlrnnr952 Thank you, thank you, thank you for this lovely review, I will share your words with all my team, this is what it´s all about, this is why we love been involved in this industry, create memories and make them last. Warm regards from Casa Gangotena Juan David Echeverria

Fuquay Varina, NC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Casa Gangotena is a luxury hotel centrally located in the Old Town. Our room was large and comfortable with a fantastic view of the plaza. The staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Don't leave without sampling some of the food from the restaurant. Everything is wonderful and fresh - from the club sanwich...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KHM
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear KHM I’m pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us, truly hope we have another opportunity to welcome you to Casa Gangotena. All the best Juan David Echeverria

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The thing that drives me craziest is getting continually lied to when something goes wrong with a service (hotel or otherwise). We were due to spend one night at the Casa Gangotena (2 rooms including 1 suite). When we arrived the porters didn't get all of the luggage out of the transport (while we checked in). We found out only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pseffens
Juan David E, Manager at Casa Gangotena, responded to this review

Dear pseffens I truly appreciate your feedback about your experience at our property, I’m deeply sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you during your visit. I totally understand your frustration with your luggage; as you mentioned to me, you were not expecting a similar problem as the one you already had in Peru with the same land operator. There...

561 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Double Plaza View (35)
Viewed
Junior Balcony (41)
Viewed
Luxury Plus (36)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Plaza View (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
1,092 reviews
18.5 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
3.3 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
4.0 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.8 km away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Price Range: $555 - $944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#1 Family Hotel in Quito
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#1 Business Hotel in Quito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Gangotena staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Gangotena staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the plaza are amazing. noise is not an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles RHooperCA, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard garden. They are quiet and airy.”
 of 5 bubbles 17victoriah, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with the fresco -”
 of 5 bubbles FeliceZ368, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't know; I asked for and got a "quiet room" -”
 of 5 bubbles minnetonkatours, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“107 is a courtyard room that overlooks a hostel but it is quiet and very private.”
 of 5 bubbles mlsearles, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5