We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostal de La Rabida

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostal de La Rabida
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Regina, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent single nights here 4 times while we came and went. For that reason we wanted and needed internet.They advertize internet and wifi. Wifi was not working most of the time and the internet only half of the time. Very disappointing. It is most likely the carrier but I would think there must be better options in Quito. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 50somethingscanada
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us - we really appreciate your comments. Please accept my apologies for the internet problems. We had fairly heavy rain here in Quito towards the end of February/ early March when I think you were staying with us, and this unfortunately, has an effect on the...

Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent 4 nights (1 night per visit) at this small guesthouse in 3 different rooms (only 11 rooms total). The rooms were all clean and quiet. The main guest room has a fireplace and is a cozy place to have a drink and enjoy fellow travelers. There is also a separate room where the bar is located. Their restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rwanda17
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us - and for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back here sometime soon. Best regards Judy

Vancouver
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a small, cozy clean room just off the garden, friendly staff (special mention to Gloria who was welcoming and very helpful). Actually we found all staff to be friendly and helpful. Common room areas were nice and I appreciated the computer that was available in the bar for me to be able to check my emails. We arranged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank next_holiday_dream
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to Quito and your stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with fellow travellers. We hope to hae the opportunity of welcoming you back to La Rabida sometime in the future. Best regards Judy Chiesa

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Hostal de La Rabida for two nights while exploring Quito. The 24 hour check-in was appreciated given our late arrival at Quito airport and the 45 minute cab ride into the city from the air terminal. Our room was modestly appointed but very clean, with comfortable twin beds and a nice hot shower in the private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back with us sometime in the future. Best regards Judy Chiesa

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Gloria is the star attraction of this place. She is so helpful and knows everything you need to know as a newcomer to Quito. Brownie the bunny is the second star. The fire in the common room was great at night. 24 hour reception was very helpful. Otherwise I found the rooms and meals to be not of the standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaelem
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at La Rabida. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our rooms and restaurant meals. Certainly our rooms are not large, and there is really nothing we can do about that as we are limited by the dimensions of the hundred-year old...

Franksville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were at the La Rabida three different times as we traveled in and out of Quito to the Galapagos and the rainforest. They could not have been more accomodating about storing our luggage, locking up our "valables" and doing laundry as we came and went. The convenience of having breakfast there (or dinner) was great. The staff was helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda53126Richard
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay with us and for taking the time to recommend us to fellow travellers. We are happy to know you enjoyed visiting La Rabida and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future Best regards Judy Chiesa

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Quito and didn't know our way around town and felt it was a good location. The rooms were very nice and Gloria was amazing to work with; extremely friendly and knowledgeable and talkative. she knew the city like the back of her hand and told us where to have a fabulous meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denise S
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and we are pleased to heard that is was enjoyable. I am sorry if you felt disturbed by the other guests - it is rather a feature of hotels of our type that guests like to chat amongst themselves and exchange travel stories! We hope...

Atuntaqui, Ecuador
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A lovely little hotel with a lot of friendly service. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, from recommendations to holding our bags after we checked out while we went about our business. Nice breakfast and dinner, too. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and for recommending us to fellow travellers. We really do try to make our guests feel at home and are happy to know that our efforts are successful. Please come back and visit us sometime! Best regards Judy Chiesa

Narooma, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you want personal attention and assistance with queries etc then this is the place to stay. We were very impressed with the smiling and helpful staff of this quaint hotel. Our room was quite spacious, the shower lovely and hot and the bed comfortable. You could have eggs as well as fresh fruit and toast for breakfast. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryLT
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us here at La Rabida and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future. Best regards Judy Chiesa

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for just one night, but wish we had stayed longer. The personnel were very friendly and accomodating, the room was nice, clean, and comfortable, and the hotel was well-situated in the new town portion of Quito, very close to parks and restaurants/shopping. It is a cab to Old Town, so if that is your plan, it might not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us - we are sorry it was short and hope that you have the opportunity of returning to La Rabida in the future. Best regards Judy Chiesa

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Four (22)
Viewed
One (21)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Three (20)
Viewed
Two (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 113 in Quito
690 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 113 in Quito
1,056 reviews
3.8 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 113 in Quito
613 reviews
4.0 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Price Range: $79 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal de La Rabida staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal de La Rabida staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the main building on the second floo at the back. It was a double/queen bed, quiet, and very comfortable. ”
 of 5 bubbles 285cathrynf, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was off the court yard. We were pleased! ”
 of 5 bubbles suzyh08, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Excellent communal area. Room inside the house are closer to the wifi box”
 of 5 bubbles NomadicBoys, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Matrimony rooms have big beds!”
 of 5 bubbles 575stevend, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles brainjogr, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5