We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jhomana Guesthouse

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jhomana Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jhomana Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2016

The staff were lovely and helpful. English was not fluent but they understood enough for me to be able to converse and make bookings. The room was compact but plenty big enough for me as a single traveller. The location was an easy 4 block walk from both a main plaza (Plaza Foche) and a location where the hop on...

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstyn V
ManagerJhomana, Owner at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Kirstyn Thank you very much for the nice comments. Best Regards Patrick Brodin

Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Two mornings in a row there was no hot water. The staff did not have the courtesy to inform guests of the issue. A lot of street noise. Bed was comfortable and the room clean (even if I wasn't). Very average breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
ManagerJhomana, Owner at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Alex Thank you for your comment. I am very sorry for what happened to you. I think I told everyone in my staff, every day, to personally inform all guests what was happening. Everything can break, in any hotel. The trick is so be able to solve the problem quick. We are a small hotel with low prices and...

Reviewed 1 January 2016

The desk clerk was helpful in locating a guide and storing out bags while on a side trip, it is located downtown close to sights of interest, museums and parks. The hotel is comfortable, as is typical (no a/c or heat as it is not needed), if you use a washcloth bring yours. Breakfast included but not recommended, includes 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Reviewed 1 January 2016

The staff was extremely helpful, even holding onto three of our bags when we took a side trip to Galapagos without charging us. The location is central to shopping, markets, discos, etc. The staff was helpful in securing a driver for us that seemed knowledgeable. Room was sparse, but did have its own bathroom. The police station is right next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corlea C
IJsselmuiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The rooms are good and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Especially its central location close to the old historic centre of Quito makes it easy to reach public transport or to commute without the need of a taxi. A pretty good hotel for a low price. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurens S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 May 2015

I was in Quito for nine nights (work then travel) and stayed at Hostal Jhomana for the full nine days. They were very well located, close to Mariscal (which is where many tours leave from too) as well as core transport networks (including a red bus tour just down Amazonas Street). You could get almost anywhere within Quito by taxi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaHFT
ManagerJhomana, Owner at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice and informativ review. This will help us to be even better. Patrick Brodin Owner

Boston
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Our multigenerational family of 13 stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been happier with the staff, our rooms, the location, and places for us to congregate. While at Jhomana we celebrated a birthday and Christmas. The terrace was a wonderful gathering place. Our rooms were perfect for all our differing configurations and needs, the bathrooms and rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BriaBoston
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 December 2014

We came to Quito after a long flight from Amsterdam. We had booked a transfer since we wanted to relax when we arrived. We didn't see any sign at the airport even though we where promised. Called the hotel and they said the forgot or something like that. We didn't care really and took the taxi for a good price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gvapolo
Derby
Reviewed 4 November 2014

This place is horrid. The rooms are damp and the facilities rubbish. The sink was hanging off the wall and the light switch wires were exposed. I received a shock from the switch in the night. The breakfast was also woeful. The staff were also not helpful and at times just plain rude. There was wi-fi but it rarely actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joules98
ManagerJhomana, Propietario at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Its very sad that you had this experience. I have gone through the room you stayed in and I cant understand you complaint. However, if you complain, it must have been like this. Can you please let me know in which room your were, maybe Im looking att the wrong one. That electricity cut sometime is pretty normal in...

Reviewed 2 November 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos and it was easily the worst place we stayed in our 10 day trip. However it's not terrible. Granted the wifi doesn't really work and breakfast was not good enough. Very small and we had to wait for 40 minutes to order and get our food! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traverseinfinity

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
3.2 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
701 reviews
0.4 km away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 114 in Quito
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#26 of 114 in Quito
167 reviews
1.3 km away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 114 in Quito
415 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Andino
Hotel Andino
#28 of 226 in Quito
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Jhomana Guesthouse, Quito Ecuador is situated in the middle of the world. The capital is Quito. In the middle of the part of Quito called Mariscal just 100 meters from Avenida Amazonas you find Jhomana, close to all banks, bus terminals, discothèques, bars, restaurants, shopping malls etc, but jet far away from all the noise. Your Peaceful Home in the Middle of Everything Our guests that are coming back to us often say "It feels so good to be back home again!" We consider that very flattering, since our main goal is to make our guests feel like they are at home, enjoying their stay with us. At Jhomana among many other services you have free access to our guest computer with Internet connection. The whole hostel with surroundings and outside areas are also WI-FI connected. sta fireplace At Jhomana we help you to plan your vacations in Ecuador. We have a lot of knowledge and experience about tourism in Ecuador. We believe that our guest shall not run around and look for, book, pay tours. Our guests should enjoy Quito's beauty and touristic sites, while the staff at Jhomana search, book and pay your tours. We get better prices than you, we know where to look and that not to book. For your convenient, all day tours start from Jhomana, so instead of waiting for others to arrive to the pickup point, you enjoy your breakfast in our cozy restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jhomana Guesthouse

Address: G Ramirez Davalos E4-42 | corner Ave Amazonas, Quito 111111, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jhomana Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Jhomana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jhomana Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure they have rooms on the 1st floor so 1 flight up is by stairs. Helped w/ my luggage, though.”
 of 5 bubbles tallentstudios, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for a room not in the main house as there is a lot of wood and it is impossible for there to not be noise when people are moving about”
 of 5 bubbles ClaudiaHFT, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“Second floor in back is quieter, but Quito is a bustling city. What surprised us was how quiet it did become in the the nighttime hours.”
 of 5 bubbles BriaBoston, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor is a must if you don't want to hear people chatting in the lobby all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles gvapolo, 1 Dec 2014 | Read review
“If you require quiet then ask for a room on back side of hotel...One nice thing is a brand new police department is right next door to Jhomana”
  • second floor sitting room and library
  • typical one bed room
  • outside patio
 of 5 bubbles josephw587, 1 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5