We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed here for one night because I wasn't expecting to book a hostel in Cusco. (I was staying with a few locals for my first few days) Because of that, I was unable to really do my full on research that I usually do before booking my stay. Pirwa is one of the cheaper hostels. I went in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wheredazegoes
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at Pirwa Colonial hostel. Your opinion is very important for us because it help us to improve. We are very grateful for your nice comments about the staff, and also your comments about the breakfast and house aspects that need to be implemented. Soon there will be...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pirwa is one of the cheaper hostels in the area and it shows. The place somehow won an award in 2009, and it looks like they've stopped maintaining the property since. First, The beds are incredibly uncomfortable. Imagine what the inside of a mattress looks like with only the springs. Drape a sheet over this and you've got yourself a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brightkt
PirwaHostelsTeam, Manager at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to leave us a review for Pirwa Colonial. We are very sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay, although it's nice to know that you highlighted that we are cheap hostel. Actually the hostel do not offer a kitchen on websites as this service was dismissed from offered services, so that is...

Takaka
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Initially I approached the hostel to see if I could transfer the deposit I paid at another location which I was unable to fulfill. Although the deposit was not refundable or transferable (as expected) a discount was kindly offered. The private room rate is reasonable, had an excellent private bathroom and good shower. However it did smell very strong of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiwi_Daniel
Fernando P, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Daniel, and thank you for leaving a review for Pirwa Colonial. We're happy that overall you were ok with service in the hostel despite you were disappointed at some points. Last week, we did maintenance to the room walls and it is possible that the smell of the paint used remains, we will be taking the necessary actions...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Pirwa is perfectly located on Plaza San Francisco. The location is slightly quieter than the Plaza de Armas, but is within easy walking distance to the central plaza and the surrounding artesian markets. Pirwa is a quieter hostel, but there is still a small social scene. The hostel is connected to a bar and a coffee shop, with a central...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chmperez
Fernando P, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning, and thank you so much for your review. We're happy that you were pleased with service and the location of Pirwa hostel Colonial. We always try to do our best in order that our guests feel comfortable during their stay. The thick walls of this colonial house made it difficult to solve the Wifi connection, but we will...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 6 October 2016

So my girlfriend and a mate just finished volunteering here for a month! This place is pretty awesome. great to come and rest after trekking they have ping pong, pool, foose ball and a bar. Really nice Common area and its the only place for wifi so it prevent people from just staying in their rooms and being anti social.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Devin K
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I have stayed at Pirwa colonial on off for almost a month, It has a great location in the heart of Cusco, and the price is fair. What i like most about this hostel is it does the basics well. if your priority is a good nights sleep in a clean hostel for a good price Pirwa is just fine....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deanybee
Fernando P, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thanks for your comment about Pirwa Colonial, we are very happy that the location, value, cleanliness, reception staff and comfort, satisfied your standards, all of us are completely grateful with your stay in our hostel, we will continue making improvements to keep our guests happy!

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Based on the rating we expected more from this hostel and were disappointed about the service. Personnel was not very helpful or friendly and rooms are a little outdated. The included breakfast is some bread with butter and jam and cold coffee. There is much better around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smitsj
Fernando P, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, and thank you for leaving us a review. We regret that you were disappointed with the service at Pirwa Colonial. Although frequently we have good comments about the reception staff, sometimes there may be errors, however we are taking the necessary actions to improve service because we are the most interested that our guests can be always happy....

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week as a solo traveller. They have a board in reception advertising nightly activities, and nothing was ever done for the week I was there. The kitchen needs basic utensils adding as there is hardly anything to use! In one of the 10 bed dorms, there was ONE plug socket and barely any sockets throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JezzicaB87
Fernando P, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jezzica, thank you for your comments and suggestions for Pirwa Colonial, we're glad you liked the attention of staff. Our small kitchen has basic utensils like pots, dishes, cutlery, a refrigerator to keep fresh products, but it is likely in high season these are not sufficient, when there are many people who also want to cook, so we...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Staff easily distracted so service not great. On check in, asked to stay for extra nights. So busy with people checking in and out. Later, confirmed my extra nights stay, then said no rooms available, yet on Hostelworld, there was availability. Chaos! Loud music at night. Difficult to sleep. People smoking weed in communal areas. Laundry service was late. Many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travellingnurse79
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Playing too loud music from 8 am to 1 am. Minimum amount of lightning, toilets, showers, tables, chairs and kitchen square meters. Not a proper breakfast and the entire building is extremely cold. Only nice part is the collaboration with the hospital and the volunteering staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petra N
PirwaHostelsTeam, Gerente at Pirwa Colonial Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning Petra, and thank you for reviewing Pirwa Colonial Hostel. We're sorry that you felt cold during your stay. It is currently wintertime in the Andes, and a colonial building like ours can get cold during this time. As a legally protected historical monument, it's very difficult to receive approbation to install a heating system, which is why you...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#107 of 162 in Cusco
74 reviews
1.1 km away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 367 in Cusco
578 reviews
0.6 km away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#9 of 367 in Cusco
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#124 of 367 in Cusco
126 reviews
1.2 km away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#54 of 328 in Cusco
42 reviews
1.3 km away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#46 of 328 in Cusco
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pirwa Hostels is a budget hostel chain offering economical lodging in private rooms and shared dormitories, in locations throughout Peru and Bolivia. Pirwa Colonial Hostel is located in Plaza San Francisco, two blocks from the main square of Cusco, Peru. It boasts two interior patios, a TV and game lounge, bar, guest kitchen, and fast food stand. Services include a free continental breakfast, internet + wi-fi, luggage storage, hot water 24/7. There are occasional activities and parties. Reception is on call 24/7 and there are security cameras within and without. There's also security lockers in the shared dorms for your backpacks, and extra, smaller lockers outside of the rooms for any belongings you want to take special care with. There's also an information desk staffed by Pirwa Travel tour & transport specialists. Pirwa Colonial is a one-stop shop for backpackers! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pirwa Colonial Hostel

Address: Plaza San francisco 360, Cusco 000000, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Price Range: $13 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pirwa Colonial Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pirwa Colonial Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirwa Hostels Backpackers Hotel Cusco
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pirwa Colonial Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pirwa Colonial Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best value is the 8 bed dorm, there was never 8 people in this dorm”
 of 5 bubbles deanybee, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“What a great room, lots of space and comfort. Super breakfast. Cleanlyness good.”
 of 5 bubbles brandob314, 6 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The bathrooms are spacious and clean. The hostel has a Bar with Great Design and Atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles starwarss, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“the top floor might be less noisy than the bottom.”
 of 5 bubbles Mgoodman88, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you wanna know people is best book for a dorm, they have a Dorm x 13 people that is very good for that...”
 of 5 bubbles 917fernandau, 23 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay