We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Montevideo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Montevideo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Montevideo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Don't expect much from the rooms. It's an old hotel. The service was OK. There was barely a coffee shop, more of a pastry continental breakfast nook and a "sort of" bar. Not fancy. BUT, a great location. Many landmarks and walking distance to everything downtown. A very short cab ride to the beach. They have a relationship with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank james k
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear James, thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel. Knowing what our customers think is the best way we can improve our services. We're glad you enjoyed the location of the building, near the main tourist points of the city and its financial center. It is also within the scope of several renowned dining options.... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Well located, distance walking from very nice places, their staff is really worry about your requirements, however it is an old building with issues related to external noises, Wi-Fi connection, broken machines at the gym, etc.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nino C
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Nino C, please write a review about your stay at our hotel. It is a way to contribute to improve our services. We're glad you enjoyed the location of the building, near the main tourist points of the city and its financial center. Furthermore, we inform you that your bad experiences with outside noise and Wi Fi were notified... More 

Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2015

The hotel is well located, one corner bellow the main square. The room is good, but the bathroom is very old! The breakfast is good but expensive and there is no option around (at least I did not find). The main problem to me was that if you want a meal the restaurant is out of the building, few steps... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ESNV
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear ESNV, Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. It is nice to know that you appreciated our location and staff. However, we apologize if you found our breakfast prices to be expensive and we regret to know that you had a hard time going to the restaurant. Your feedback is important to... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2015

The hotel is located a block away from the main street of Montevideo and the Plaza Independencia. It is also a very short walk to the Old City and the restaurants therein. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English and were able to answer any questions we had about the city or various tourist attractions. The rooms themselves... More 

Helpful?
Thank tholland55
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2015

A great location but the rooms are so small when you close the door the door knob gets in bed with you. i did not try the catering facilities nor the room service. It is centrally located for sightseeing

Helpful?
1 Thank 773Gareth
HolidayInnMvd, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Gareth, we thank you for leaving your opinion about your stay at Holiday Inn Montevideo. His words help us to improve our service. We're glad you enjoyed the great location of our hotel in the center of the tourist and shopping area of the city. Moreover, we regret that you felt your room was small. In that sense, we... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

It has a good location, there are several places to visit that are near to it, in the old part of the city and it matches with it. It looks old and it needs painting and new furniture. The room was medium size and nice, although the furniture was old and a little damaged on the edges

Helpful?
Thank Mariana L
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Mariana L, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are glad to hear you liked our location. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of... More 

CHENNAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2015

I am a loyal gold elite member of the IHG.When we checked in on 9 th May,we were given a smoking room and I had booked a non smoking room. This was hastily changed. None of the rooms had air conditioning and it was very warm. The website doesn't mention this. We were asked to open the window!!!! and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RAVI K
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Ravi K, we thank you for leaving your review of your stay at Holiday Inn Montevideo. We have taken note of each of your opinions and transmitted to the heads of each area to determine why the problems were caused. We want to let you know that is very important for us to know your opinion about the service... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,079 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,205 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in Montevideo. It was a fine hotel. Reception staff were nice and friendly. Our room was a decent size, very clean and it did the job. The lifts are a bit old and jerky and the corridors could probably do with a refurbishment! Minor complaints! Breakfast was included and was pretty decent- a good selection... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank champkis
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015

The hotel is in the very centre of montevideo, only a few steps from square of independence and other important and sightseeing places. the staff is attentive and helpful with no problem with english, and the breakfast are nice and tasty, albeit somehow limited in selection - but more than enough for business traveller. wifi is not only in foyer... More 

Helpful?
Thank twztwztwz
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Twztwztwz, we thank you left an impression on your stay at our hotel. For us it is important to know the opinions of our guests to keep improving our services. We appreciate that you enjoyed the prime location of Holiday Inn Montevideo, in the city center, a few steps from major attractions and the breakfast was to your liking.... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Very average hotel, rooms are old and compare to private rooms in a hostel. Be mindful of what floor and side of building you get as there is a fair amount of street noise. Decent location in terms of being near main square, but the street that hotel is located on is very run-down and a bit of a downer.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Jamie B, we thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, because knowing the opinions of our guests helps us to improve our services. We appreciate that you have noticed that the hotel's location helps to have near major tourist attractions of the capital. We also appreciate that you liked the... More 

347 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (144)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 km away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#6 of 87 in Montevideo
572 reviews
0.1 km away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
730 reviews
0.7 km away
NH Montevideo Columbia
NH Montevideo Columbia
#34 of 87 in Montevideo
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
#35 of 87 in Montevideo
940 reviews
5.2 km away
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
Regency Way Montevideo Hotel
#14 of 87 in Montevideo
662 reviews
0.7 km away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#9 of 87 in Montevideo
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel & Convention Center Uruguay. We are located in the commercial , financial and cultural Center , the best location in Montevideo. One block away from main avenue 18 de Julio , and main square Plaza Independencia .Next to the most luxurious Casino of the city. In a radius of 200 meters you can find Airlines Offices (United, American , Varig, Iberia, Tam , Lan Chile) and important international companies : IBM , Nortel Networks, Citibank, ABN Amro, Xerox, Reuters, Amadeus, Kodak and many others . If you are coming from Buenos Aires , we are the nearest Hotel from the Ferry Terminal (1 Km) . Our mission is to offer highest quality of services based on friendly , efficient and professional staff. 120 comfortable rooms and 14 elegant suites , were specially designed to satisfy the most varied needs of our guests travelling for business or pleasure . 600 m2 Convention Center with 9 multi purpose meeting rooms with the latest technological support. Other Facilities include: 75 m2 Indoor heated pool with panoramic view , Solarium, Sauna , Gym , Garage , Danubio Azul Restaurant , El Quijote Lobby Bar , Business Center. Services included in room rates :Buffet American Breakfast (7 - 10:30 AM) , Internet access, local calls ( up to 3 minutes) , and access to Pool, Sauna and Gym.Non Uruguayan residents holding foreign travel documents are exempted from taxes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Montevideo

Address: Colonia 823, Montevideo 11101, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Price Range: $96 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Montevideo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Montevideo Hotel Montevideo
Montevideo Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Montevideo staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Guatemala City, Guatemala

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Montevideo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is pretty close Independence Square. There is a Tourist Bus that you can pick up there to know the city.”
 of 5 bubbles luizc578, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The building facing the road offers better roms, but noisy”
 of 5 bubbles LaohuPenang, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you need Internet, it's a definitely NO”
 of 5 bubbles 406ff, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Make sure you get a non-smoking room at the rear of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles tholland55, 25 Jun 2015 | Read review
“None as they are all too small”
 of 5 bubbles 773Gareth, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay