We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 592: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Such a great resort for our first time in Rarotonga. We went as a family (6 adults) for my parents 60th birthday celebration. The resort was perfect. 2 couples stayed in garden rooms, and 1 couple in a beachfront room. The rooms were very similar, and are very comfortable with all having small kitchenettes which made eating in possible. The...

1Thank apple6
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana We were very please to have your group stay and celebrate your parents 60th birthday with us. Thank you for your feedback on the resort . We are very fortunate with the staff we have and I will make sure that they are aware of your positive comments . Kia Manuia

New Zealand
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My partner and I booked via Expedia and promptly received an email from the resort to ask if we needed transfers from the airport, which were a very reasonable price. Pros: When we arrived we were greeted at the airport and were taken to Paradise. The room was large and secure, we had a safe in the room which was...

2Thank classical_geek
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at The Sunset Resort. We very much appreciate all feedback from our guests, as it is a very important tool for us to use to improve our resort and our services. You mention in your review that Sunset Resort does not stand...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed my week in paradise. Resort clean, very comfy bed, and staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant provided tasty food but very long wait for meals (I appreciate being on "island time" but over 2 hours is a bit excessive)! However...I'd happily return if I get the opportunity.

1Thank Ngaire N
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Ngaire Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your positive comments on the resort, our rooms and our staff. I was disappointed to read that you had to wait two hours for a meal in our restaurant, this is extremely unusual and I will make sure that I hand this feedback onto Tony our...

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great resort! We had road side unit for the weekend, but found traffic was pretty noisy. When asked if we could change to quieter unit they were very accommodating. Beach is one of best on island. Great snorkelling, spoilt for choice with nearby restaurants. Would recommend to family & friends.

Thank Sheryl R
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have returned from this beautiful place today with my husband. We both had a wonderful holiday which started the moment we met Kim at the airport. She was friendly, informative and very helpful.In fact all of the staff from reception, housekeeping and gardening were very polite and so friendly! The breakfast team were full of smiles and great to...

1Thank Julie M
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank you for taking the time to write your review . We value all feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Ki Manuia

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the resort for 6 days. We found the facilities were very good. The staff were super friendly. The units were clean and presentable and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in. The only critique I can give other than it was great value for money is that the continental breakfast is a little boring. It is...

1Thank Michelle W
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Thank your for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken a note of your comments regarding the complimentary continental breakfast and will make sure that I hand this feedback onto our new restaurant managers. We have been getting some great reviews on their menu so I am sure they will...

Gore, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just returned from an amazing Honeymoon experience at Rarotonga and the Sunset Resort: Upon our arrival in the early hours of the morning we were greeted by Kim & taken back to the Resort. Kim showed us to our room and advised us as the Air Con unit was broken down there was a fan for us to...

3Thank Toshes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here buying a package from Costco for our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed there on May 19-26. I highly recommend the beach front studio. We were in room 1 which is the furthest left and there was no neighbor on the left. It was pretty private. We had our windows open all the time without worrying for people...

Thank DebbieKTustin
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this resort for 8 nights at the end of May. The resort looks nice and the beach front is great. The highlight for us were the hammocks on the beach where we enjoyed lying and watching the sunset. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be getting a bit run down. The first room we had had a broken...

2Thank travellingbex
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Travellingbex, many thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. It is nice to read overall you had a pleasant stay with us. We hear your concerns about the air conditioning and pleased that we were able to address this for you. We do regular checks on all our rooms and...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was recomended this hotel by a friend that lived in Rarotonga. My partner and I stayed there for two weeks with a beach side room. The staff were friendly and the room was always cleaned when we returned after a day of exploring or swimming amongst the coral heads right out the front doors. One of our excursions was...

Thank JohnMRoss

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (389)
Pool/Beach Area (85)
View from Room (34)
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Room/Suite (46)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (7)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
11.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
11.1 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $152 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga
Sunset Resort Cook Islands/Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Resort staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beachfront was lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 690jacquieh, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is the way to go”
 of 5 bubbles Dubya80, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Too much partying near the pool. Beach side would probably offer more peace.”
 of 5 bubbles debims83250, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think any room would be nice the ones with the ocean view looked nice but we liked our poolside room.”
 of 5 bubbles kerryr28, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront units - just for the view”
  • Main bathroom
  • Kitchenette
  • Bedroom 1
 of 5 bubbles Toucan2222, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5