We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Club Raro

PricelineUS$92*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Club Raro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Club Raro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in Club Raro. The place is really beautiful with the ocean views and nice swimming pool area, staff is amazing and they try to do their best to make your wishes true. Rooms are average though, noisy air conditioning and looking kind of old. But you get what you pay for. It was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kateřina B
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thanks so much for posting your review. We appreciate all feedback and have taken on board your comments and will work to improve our resort experience. We are very proud of our staff they really are great people who will help wherever possible. Noted on the menu and our team are working on new options....

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The setting is wonderful with the ocean not far away. All the staff were very friendly even the guy that does the garden is a very friendly person, in fact all of them were excellent. The food was good, the cocktails during Happy Hour were even better. My bank balance now has a dent in it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harvard1078
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thanks so much for posting a review. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to do that. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us an we would love to have you come back anytime so do not hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily sort out a great deal for...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Kia Orana, My H2B and myself arrived on the 4th April was a late check in, but from the moment we were greeted by the friendly staff we new we had made the right choice of Accommodation for 10 Days/Nights. My Husband & i got married on the 8th April DIY wedding, Club Raro staff were more than accommodating on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vickien1967
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, What a pleasure it was to read your review. Firstly congratulations on your Wedding! Thanks so much for acknowledging our staff and the fact they are great people, and we will pass on to Rhys your comments, yes a fantastic barman and good fella to boot. We would love to have you come and stay...

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at Club Raro.The staff and Aunty Lou were amazing.We Loved our included breakfast.Our lagoon facing rooming was cool and clean with amazing views.Before we flew away we were planning our next stay....A Big Kia Orana to all the staff....Matt, Rhonda and the girls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt w
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from the team here at Club Raro, We would love to have you come back and stay with us anytime! Sp pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and yes the Lagoon front rooms do have the amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. So if planning your next trip let us know on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

I arrived in on a Friday night around 10:30pm to be told that unfortunately the hotel was overbooked. They immediately got on the phone and had another booking for me right away at Edgewater and even arranged for my airport pick up the next morning to be changed from Club Raro to Edgewater. While I wasn't there more than 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooke-KiwiTraveller
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thank you so much for posting this review. We really appreciate that you took the time to comment on our service even when you were unable to stay with us. We thank you for noticing that our team work hard to resolve issues quickly and help our guests. We would love to have you come...

Canberra
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We asked for a great break for a young family (our little guy is 11 months old). We loved the place. They provided a lovely comfortable portable cot and our little guy loved it. The rooms were great and had a small bar fridge for milk and food for our son. The shower and toilet were good, without being amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Damian d
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, Thanks for posting your review. Great to hear you enjoyed Club Raro and that you loved staying with us, we loved having you! We pride ourselves in being a good 3 star resort and by the sounds of things you totally understand that. You offer good tips and information for other travelers so again Meitaki...

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We have really disappointed with the service we received from hotel reception. Not helpful at all.Air conditioner is too noisy in pool side rooms, room service is very poor. Food is way too expensive.. and average

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chams R
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro. We will be addressing the issues you raise and have discussed your review with all Heads of Departments especially our Front office. Kia Manuia The Management team at Club Raro.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a week. I was away from there to Aitutaki Island for two days. My money was stolen at the time. I informed to the hotel. They just said to go to the police station. I am a stranger on this island, so I asked them to take me to the police. They said no....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sam K
Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stayed here for six days for the first time,found the staff very friendly and helpful however our room was pretty basic had a very old air con unit in it and even though with it on full and the ceiling fan on full the room was still hot! Our room also had a ranch slider main door that was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calypso12017
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Had the best time at Club raro we stayed for 6 nights .the staff were very helpful and friendly .maybe not everyone's cup of tea but to me it was value for what I paid for our trip .definitely recommend the sea food chowder and being there on a Sunday for the Sunday grill.will be back to stay again for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rustypovey
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia orana from Club Raro, So happy you enjoyed your stay with us and yes our seafood chowder it tasty as is the Sunday Grill. We would love to have you come back and stay with us so don't hesitate to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily put a great deal together for you. Kia Manuia from the...

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
8.6 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.3 km away
The Islander Hotel
The Islander Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avarua
196 reviews
6.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
539 reviews
8.0 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.7 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $119 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Cook Islands/Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Club Raro staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lagoon view seem to be most up to date rooms”
michaelcY2421OX, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ocean views can be a bit noisy with the roar of the waves on the reef, which isn't far away.”
harvard1078, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to the fishing club just two doors down for a dinner!”
Damiand136, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get one with air con that works!”
calypso12017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view or lagoon view.”
  • Bathroom was dirty.
  • Refrigerator
348gails, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$92* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUS$144
Orbitz.comUS$92
Hotels.comUS$92
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates