We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Islander Hotel

Booking.comUS$129*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Islander Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of The Islander Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were picked up at the airport promptly after our flight had landed. We needed to pay $150 extra for an early checkin (flight arrived at 5am and check in was at 2pm). While this was expensive, it was worth it since we already had a 7 hour layover in Auckland. It might be cheaper if you research your tickets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mele F
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Islander Hotel. The free simple breakfast buffet features a range of items to satisfy an international audience. We hope to see you again soon. Kia Manuia.

Peterborough, Cambs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Air New Zealand put us up at this hotel following a delayed flight which led to us missing our connecting flight to Aitutaki. Great Location for the Airport 5 minutes walk. Good food and friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JB&CT
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your overnight stay at the Islander Hotel. Kia Manuia.

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We attended the islander hotel to see one of the many Island nights that are on offer at many venues in Rarotonga. We chose this one as it was a little cheaper than others and new. We were not disappointed. The show was great (performed by younger members of the cook islands community), the food was great and it's happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel I
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your Island Night experience at the Islander Hotel. Our lovely island buffet; dynamic cultural show with fire dance; affordable drinks at the Hula Bar make us a fantastic value for money proposition. Kia Manuia.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were to be picked up at the airport, no one showed. The room was terrible, no hand towels, no face cloths, black gobs hanging from the ceiling fan, no pen, no paper, no black out curtains and a hula show went on outside our window til midnight. Very scuzzy place and not too courteous staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. If you weren't met on arrival - you did not provide your flight details to us. Our rooms have bath towels, hand towels and bath mats. No face cloths. Pen and paper are phased out since people use smart phones. Black out curtains are on the way - eye masks are in (just...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night. True to management responses to past posts, their bar closed at 11:30pm and so did the loud music. There were outdoor tables within 2 metres from our window which made it quite noisy. There is also minimal insulation to the indoor corridor, so we were privy to many conversations on the couches right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loshell
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us. We will be removing the couches along the corridor to avoid sitting and talking, especially at night when guests are trying to get to sleep. We will soon introduce eye masks and ear plugs (like in airplane business class kits) to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Accommodation at this hotel is great because it is close to the airport and still not too far from the main shopping area.But the Islander is a great place just to visit for a quick coffee or drink when waiting for a flight or as a night out destination. If you have kids with you the pool is great to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauketai
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, meals, drinks and friendly service by the team. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Suva
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This place has AMAZING food with views and service to match. We ate here upon arrival and then spent a whole day just eating, drinking and taking in the view before catching our flight in the pm. Easily one of the best places on the island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShaiJanif
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your meals, views and service from our team. We do hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This place is awesome. It has a nice vibe, friendly staff, cheap beers and the food is top notch. If you ever pop in for the cheap beers, try there Ika Mata with Island fries on the side. You wont regret it. There is the Hula bar to the rear of the Hotel that has great music, probably not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshandphoebe
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, your meals and off course your drinks at the 'Tiki Bar' in the main restaurant and the iconic 'Hula Bar' on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kia Manuia.

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic lunch, small and main course dishes to choose from and a beautiful seaside deck to dine from. Great for dinner and lunch with a great selection of food, service was fantastic and friendly. Prices from $18 to $32 for main courses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandraleelovering
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your meals with us. We do hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Mornington, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

On our return journey to Australia we had a one night stopover in Rarotonga. Our travel agent had booked us in to the Edgewater Resort for the night. we will be advising them to cross them off their list as it was so tired and the staff were NOT happy to be there. As we needed to kill time and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gralove78
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your meals and drinks with us and we hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
6.8 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
9.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
200 reviews
6.8 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $182 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Cook Islands/Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Islander Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Islander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here”
carolyno458, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Furthest room may be better for noise levels”
joshandphoebe, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are close to the pool and dining areas.”
Gralove78, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our room was right near the hula bar and we didnt have any problem with the noise.”
judychittawaybay, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-5 are quite close to the entrance where the public toilets are.”
876ramonam, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$129* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$129
Expedia.comUS$129
Hotels.comUS$129
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates