We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Islander Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Islander Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Islander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Rarotonga
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Kia Orana Had our staff Xmas party at the Islander Hotel booked out most of the rooms for the two days we were there. The restaurant and bar setup quite nice around the pool, nice ocean view with the Hula bar over looking the water. Checked into our rooms very nice simple decor matching island theme. Pizzas were great but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dread187
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review of your stay and meals at the Islander Hotel. We have a local special on offer for $50 featuring 2 pizzas of your choice, huge bowl of fries, garlic foccacia & 4 glasses of lemonade or coke - hugely popular with the locals and a family of 4. We're glad to read you...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This hotel was recommended to us as a place to wait for a few hours before we flew out. From the front I thought it looked like just a bar but when you went out the back there was a pool and view of the ocean. The pizzas were the best our family have ever had .... tasty crust and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felicity M
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your comments about your lunch experience at the Islander Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your pizzas before getting on the plane. Our waterfront location offers an oasis respite for visitors and locals looking for a value for money food & beverage service. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We had a really delicious lunch here last week, we were taken here by a local, we really enjoyed our meal , it was a beautiful day and we sat out by the pool with a outlook over the ocean, the service was also very good, looking forward to returning here next year when we are going back to Rarotonga

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suejohnwo
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, thank you for your feedback about your lunch. We do hope to see you back again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2015

the hula bar area is great and one wonderful female staff out there!!! and one grumpy female manager(?) inside at the restaurant cafe area. if you ignore that one downfall , the bar and beach area are worth it!!! it is very near the airport so a good first or last stop . you can even drop off you luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hollytp1963
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will ensure our service team (including the restaurant managers) provide gracious polynesian service for our valued customers. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia, Rohan Ellis The Islander Hotel & Hula Bar Rarotonga - Cook Islands

Sydney
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We stayed here on route to Aitutaki and it was great. The room was spotless and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Being just across the road from the airport was ideal and we were able to check our luggage in and then walk back for a bite to eat and a drink. Upon our return from the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bossmum
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that we met your expectations on this visit. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Stayed here for a week,what a blast!!!Staff were awesome,very respectful and helpful.Room was clean and tidy when we arrived,2 channels and a hddrive with movies.beds made daily and rooms cleaned pretty much every other day.The food at the islander hotel was some of the best in rarotonga.The chef cooked some wahoo fillets that we caught on our fishing trip, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shmee2015
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We're pleased to read you enjoyed your room, meals, drinks at the Hula Bar and service from our team. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 November 2015

I recommend this hotel for people who are flying out early in the morning or arriving really late at night as it is just across the road from the airport. The Restaurant is awesome food is great, drinks are cheap and great bar outside, pool and view of the ocean. The rooms are fresh, modern and very clean. Staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leanne G
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay in our rooms, and that you enjoyed the meals in the restaurant and the cheap drinks from the Hula Bar on the beach. We recommend to all our guests that they rent a scooter and drive around the island to find deserted sandy...

Abbotsford
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We were taken to the restaurant by some local friends. The food was pretty authentic to the island...I think we went on a Friday night. We had cheap drinks at the hoola bar and ate the buffet dinner in the restaurant. We were all stuffed! Then, they had a dance, drum and fire show around the pool. These dancers were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sony72
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals, cheap drinks at the Hula Bar and the cultural show around the pool. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Reviewed 22 October 2015

We went to Islander for dinner last week Thursday and they were hosting the Woman of the Month that night. It was a busy night - but the staffs were very attentive. We got to be a part of this celebration and it was lovely. Our meal was top notch. Best steak I've had in a long time. The atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chardanay1
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to host the monthly Woman of the Month program to recognise Cook Islands women who make outstanding contributions to our country. It is only fitting that we offer a great value meal deal for the families that support this worthy cause. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We went here for a birthday dinner on a Thursday evening. As so often happens with groups, there were only 8 of us, you simply receive poorer service overall. The meals came out all at different times, most of them barely warm as they seemed not to be able to manage cooking times at all well. Some of us had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevinfrancis65
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. A table of 8 is quite manageable, however, if the restaurant is full, then service timing would be stretched and delayed. Regardless, our wait staff should have kept you in the loop about potential kitchen delays. We continue our service training programs to ensure issues like...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
9.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.4 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
506 reviews
6.8 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.2 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: $185 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Cook Islands/Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Islander Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
New Plymouth, New Zealand
over a year ago
Southern Cook Islands, Cook Islands
7 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Islander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1-5 are quite close to the entrance where the public toilets are.”
 of 5 bubbles 876ramonam, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms very nice”
 of 5 bubbles doleyt, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Happy hour seems to go all day at the outdoor bar? Great sunsets. Take your camera”
 of 5 bubbles Rustyjamtin, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It's a airport hotel, don't expect much but is very convenient”
 of 5 bubbles Soft1962, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay at this hotel, just visited it for meals.”
 of 5 bubbles Sher577, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5