We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ashland Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashland Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ashland Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Carlisle, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 27 August 2015

I travel on business frequently and lean towards non-chain hotels when possible to support local businesses. I was disappointed in this hotel. It's obvious it used to be a beautiful facility but has not been updated in decades. The employees were very pleasant and the ones I spoke with were very proud of the job they do. When I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sher S
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us! We are positively thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our beds. Our staff will be delighted as well to hear your compliments. We are a proud bunch of the progress we have made so far with our facility but that doesn't mean we will rest soon. We look forward to...

Oak Hill, West Virginia
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Having lived in Ashland for 20 years I am familiar with the Ashland Plaza. We moved 2 years ago and came back for a wedding this weekend. Everything was ok about the hotel, but now what I expected. The rooms are older and need some remodeling (paint or new wallpaper) the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeane945
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We owe so much to our guests who take the time to speak with us on how we can improve so that we can continue to target these areas. We love our hotel and we want to do everything possible to ensure our guests are comfortable during their stay. We...

Hillsboro, Ohio
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Arrived late, but the desk staff were helpful and accommodating. They steered us to an 'in-house' bistro for a nightcap before we retired.The room was a 'riv-vue,' We truly envoyed the sounds of the railroad and river barges as they plyed their way about the Ohio. Would highly recommend it, and intend to return just for fun. But remember, cities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rick m
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! There is absolutely no greater feeling than to know that our guests enjoy their time in Ashland and have everything they need for a comfortable visit. It would be a pleasure to have you with us anytime you can make it back to the area!

Florida
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We found the facility to be older but nice and original. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Our room faced the Ohio River and we had fun watching the barge & boating activity! The staff was extra friendly and helpful! We received great service and attention. The continental breakfast offered many selections and was served in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie D
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are so thrilled to have been a help in making your time in Ashland a wonderful experience. We love our town and nothing makes us feel better than to hear that our guests are excited for their next trip back. We would love to have you with...

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 24 March 2015

hotel was ok. front desk was very friendly. our soccer club may have had the hotel to itself - felt like it did. but that made the trip better. team had 2nd floor (breakfast area) to ourselves all night for talking and games. breakfast was mediocre at best. no meats. kinda paltry choices for what the front desk talked it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theron621
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Your comments are incredibly helpful as we continue to work toward adding new amenities and services for our guests no matter what brings them to our area. Our goal is to make sure every guest has a reason to wake up and smile. Feedback from our guests is so important...

Morehead
Reviewed 2 December 2014

An older hotel and could use some updating. The bed was comfortable but was very high for a person that is 5 foot tall. A better selection of breakfast items would be nice. Overall it's an average place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor! We absolutely owe the greatest part of our success to our incredible guests like yourself that take the time to talk with us about their time at our facility. Although we are a historic property, we strive to provide our guests with the best service and accommodations...

Greenfield, Indiana
Reviewed 29 November 2014

I had to stay here for work (30 days) and I thought it would be a really upscale place considering the name. The only thing that was good about my stay was that I had a bed to sleep in that was very comfortable. The first problem I encountered was that my key card didn't work half the time. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle K
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We cannot describe how much we appreciate the ability to talk with our guests during their time with us and afterward so that we can determine where we can best focus our efforts to bring our guests the best accommodations in Ashland. We do not want...

Reviewed 6 November 2014

Had to stay there for work and was recommended to me by a fellow Co worker. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful but the rest of the hotel needs help. Was only supposed to be there for 2 nights but my job got extended which ment a room change which I understand. The first room had a brown phone, weird...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Stephanie, thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We owe an incredible amount of gratitude to our guests who volunteer their input as we continue updates and restorations to our historic property and the conveniences that we provide. We are truly devoted to providing the cleanest accommodations and our housekeeping department sincerely appreciates...

Virginia
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I've been staying at this hotel over the years and I'm happy that it's still hanging on. It's older but clean enough and the staff is pleasant and competent. There are several decent restaurants within walking distance and Fat Patties (burgers, etc) right across the street is a hopping "night spot". There are a few other hotels in Ashland that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capngeo
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor! It absolutely warms our hearts to see a familiar face coming back to stay with us and we sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We are very excited about the recent updates to our accommodations and look forward to having you back with us as we continue in...

York, PA
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Spent 4 days, 3 nights in this hotel while in town for the IMEA Awards in October. Stayed on the 5th floor, 2 double beds which were comfortable for the most part, mattresses were not firm. WIFI worked fine for us, although having to sign into a browser or smart phone on your tablet can be a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
kppate00, Director of Sales at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Alex, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. Your input is incredibly valuable to us as we seek to continue improvements to our beautiful property and the comforts that we provide our guests. Getting feedback like yours lets us know what works and what we can still improve on, there's no greater...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
12.1 km away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
333 reviews
11.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
12.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We invite you to come and join us for your special occasion. There is something magical about the Ashland Plaza Hotel and Convention Center experience. Whether it is your first, second, or third stay with us let us accommodate you with our newly remodeled rooms and excellent staff. We promise we will have you coming back to Ashland, KY sooner than you think!! Also keep us in mind for your next big event now available to the caterer of your choice. One of the many ways we try to meet every guest's expectations! We offer our guests:•Complimentary High Speed Internet and Complimentary Continental Breakfast• State of the Art Fitness Center Includes: - Fully Serviced Gym. Our 141 Guest Rooms Include:•Bluegrass Suite•Cumberland Suite•Honeymoon Suite•Plaza Suite •Derby Suite•Presidential Suite•Winchester Suite•King Rooms•Queen Rooms•Double Rooms•Handicap Rooms also available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashland Plaza Hotel

Address: 1 Ashland Plaza, 1441 Winchester Ave., Ashland, KY 41101
Region: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Price Range: $110 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 160
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashland Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
New Boston, Ohio

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ashland Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong with a city view or river view..”
 of 5 bubbles 225garyc, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Wouldn't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles randyw582, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Keep in mind what I wrote above regarding cityscape v. riverscape audible ambience. As well we opened our windows, which doubtless allowed in more 'ambience.'”
 of 5 bubbles rickmO284SI, 27 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on 9th floor in a double suite with Ohio River view - was stunning! Hotel was very quiet and spacious - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles stephaniedU4991HE, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“stay on town side (much quieter) not river side (trains)”
 of 5 bubbles theron621, 24 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5