We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Salve Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Salve Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed this hostel in the end of August. It was worst experience. It was nightmare. In August 24, someone had stolen my laptop(Mac Book air),iPod, chargers and playing card. Also,Someone broke my backpack. The staff didn't care and old women staff said "Don't worry. You don't need to go to police" Can you believe that?? (She could speak English....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mamabe H
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The administrator and staff are extremely nice and helpful. The administrator speaks excellent english and will welcome you with a smile anytime. The room was clean and comfortable. A very good place to stay in Kiev.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natali B
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We booked a room in the hostel 3 weeks before our trip to Kiev (we wanted to visit the RHCHP concert). But when we arrived to the hostel the administrator said that they have no rooms available. He said that they gave our room to someone else. And he didn't even call us to notify that the room we booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vladimir K
SALVEKiev, General Manager at Salve Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! According to our rules if guest don’t informed us about check-in time we are waiting for guest till 3.p.m. and then try to contact with guest. If contact is not successful (wrong phone number, e-mail or guest asked about booking cancelation) we sale his/her room or bed. We called to your phone number...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Its a well priced place for a student to over night. I found the staff really friendly and welcoming. I wouldn't say its a 5 star hotel, but then again you get what you pay for. I will definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talohole
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 3 October 2015

My partner and I stayed here two different times in a private room on our way through Kiev and it was one of our favourite hostels of the trip. The location is perfect and quiet, the staff were very friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and and we felt really cozy and at home. As others have mentioned, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderingAmp
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I had a terrible experience with this hostel. I've stayed at this place before and the level of service has plunged down to rock-bottom in only one year (not that it was that great before, but with some effort you could ignore it and round-up the corners). This hostel is pretty much a 'family affair' with a mother and her...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nebulous123
SALVEKiev, Владелец at Salve Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! 1. You visited our hostel during three years and only now you see that quality of our services is too low! 2. Why you don't write that you stole money by our guest? Our “bed son” caught you and you asked him don't call the police. But you know that we always call...

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We had a private room for 2 persons at salve hostel, nothing special, but it was ok. The hostel is located in the very center of Kiev and therefore the price was really good. Unfortunately the hostel only had one shower and one toilet for all rooms together (with 10-15 other people sleeping there) which kind of meant standing in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabie5
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 20 November 2014

Firs of all..we were travelling with my boyfriend from Poland, and we stayed there at some hostel as well. when we arrived to Salve< we got shocked and...scared..it looks like a big apartment ,where we were asked to leave our shoes near the door, and there were no space actually, because of other shoes..a lot... and so we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milena p
SALVEKiev, Владелец at Salve Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Milena, Your review seems like fake review and we can prove it: 1. All our rooms have doors. And we can attach the photos. 2. From 2012 to 2015 our cooperation with Booking.com was frozen. You can’t book our hostel with help of Booking.com in December 2013! 3. We never charged prepayments on Booking.com!

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Well, what shall I say? I decided to go to this hostel because it is close to all three metro stations – all lines, in addition close to Maidan, Golden Gate, Opera and Philharmonic hall … perfect price, no party people … calm and friendly, serviceable staff, honest and caring people. Why therefore looking for another place to stay? So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_Christ
Italy, Texas
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Outstanding!!! Everything was great! I haven't seen such good hostel not in usa nor in Europe. Owners are great! So helpful and caring!! Stuff is very-very helpful also! Hostel is beutiful. Everything is clear, comfortable and spacious/

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthieu V

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Roots Kiev Hostel
#99 of 346 in Kiev
25 reviews
Hostel Factory
#8 of 346 in Kiev
9 reviews
Hostel VShokoladi
#15 of 346 in Kiev
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lypky
Gar'is Hostel
Gar'is Hostel
#2 of 346 in Kiev
142 reviews
Veselka Hostel
#28 of 346 in Kiev
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Airport transfer - 200 UAH, Breakfast only 30 UAH. 1) coffee/tea, juice, fried eggs with bacon, bread roll. 2) coffee/tea, juice, muesli with milk, bread roll. 3) coffee/tea, juice, blintzes, jam. The name of our Hostel is "SALVE", which can be interpreted from Latin as "Hi!", and it symbolizes our hospitality and readiness to create a warm and friendly atmosphere to every guest. The Hostel is situated in a building that was constructed in 1890 in a historical part of Kyiv city. OVERVIEW: We have a good experience in hotel business and we know how to make your stay in our hostel pleasant. Our common room has all one may need: convenient sofa and armchairs, LED TV with 150 channels, a built-in kitchen. A free WI-FI is available in each room of our Hostel. If you did not take your laptop, you can use our computer with the Internet connection to send/receive e-mail, communicate over Skype, or simply surf in the Internet. There is a mini-shop in the Hostel. There, one may buy beverages, chips, chocolates, personal hygiene means, and souvenirs at cheap prices. We also provide food services. That means that one may taste Ukrainian cuisine (borsch, dumplings, stuffed meat balls, etc) without leaving the Hostel. There are such rooms in our Hostel:• Dorm for eight beds• Dorm for four beds• Dorm for five beds• Twin Private room • Twin Private room• Triple Private room All of them are equipped with air-conditioners. All the Private rooms have ecological clean wooden beds with orthopedic mattresses to make your sleep sound and healthy. We may accommodate large groups up to 23 persons. Check-in time: 12.00Check-out time: 11.30If you come earlier or leave later than the indicated check-in or check-out time, we shall always help you in this situation and treat you with a cup of coffee/tea!Our Hostel is situated in the historical center of Kyiv and due to that fact one may reach practically all places of sightseeing by foot. It will take you to: the Golden Gates – 3 minutes; St. Sophia Cathedral – 5 minutes; Kreschatyk – 5 minutes; the Independence Square – 5 minutes; the National Opera House – 7 minutes; St. MichalÂ’s Cathedral – 8-10 minutes.One may find the Embassies of many countries not far away from our Hostel. The short distance to three subway stations (Kreschatyk, Golden Gates and Teatralna) allows you reaching any place in Kyiv. One may visit shops, bars, restaurants and discos very easily because they are in a short walking distance from Hostel. The city maps are distributed FREE OF CHARGE in our Hostel and our staff shall always recommend you what to visit! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salve Hostel

Address: 18/1G, Prorizna Street, Ap.46, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Price Range: $16 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salve Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salve Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Salve Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the 8-bed dorm, it's worth the slight difference in price”
 of 5 bubbles Nebulous123, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“well, if you have a problem with snorcher ... you shall chose a 3 or double room. there is always someone coming in who snorches ... becuase of having drunk too much and laying on the back. but since - when i sleep i sleep - it is only a problem when i got up for pee and want to start sleeping again. otherwise ... come and decide then...”
 of 5 bubbles Benjamin_Christ, 12 Jun 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in the upstairs room where I had it all to myself...spacious and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles finn17, 27 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Take the private room on the second floor. It's more quiet and warm.”
 of 5 bubbles NataliaT790, 23 Nov 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay