We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hostal Mamallena

    Casa 7-62 Calle Primera | Perejil, Panama City, Panama
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$24
          View Deal
          Traveller (45)
          Room & Suite (9)
          Dining (1)
          El Machico Hostel
          477 reviews
          #1 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Magnolia Inn
          606 reviews
          #2 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Luna's Castle Hostel
          562 reviews
          #6 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Hostel Casa Nativa
          33 reviews
          #8 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Overview
          • Excellent47%
          • Very good30%
          • Average14%
          • Poor5%
          • Terrible4%
          Travellers talk about
          “san blas” (51 reviews)
          “private room” (45 reviews)
          “free pancakes” (21 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Breakfast included
          Airport Transportation
          Kitchenette
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          El Machico Hostel
          477 reviews
          #1 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Magnolia Inn
          606 reviews
          #2 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Luna's Castle Hostel
          562 reviews
          #6 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Hostel Casa Nativa
          33 reviews
          #8 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (476)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Hostal Mamallena See the most recent reviews

          181 - 185 of 476 reviews

          Reviewed 31 January 2014

          I chose this place for the single reason that they would book me trips to San Blas - which was my whole point of going to Panama. I talked to them over email, paid the deposit But when I landed, they had no reservation, confirmation...More

          1  Thank ThiaTravelvast
          Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 3 February 2014

          Thats a big call, avoid at all costs. I do apologise that your short stay with us ruined your whole trip. I can only assume though that your whole reason for staying with us, the trip to San Blas, went off OK? You didn't mention...More

          Reviewed 19 January 2014

          It was a really nice,cosy hostal, i went there 3 times. With them i also went to SanBlas, everything was good organized. Clean rooms, friendly staff, they would do everything for you :) It's in the center, but not like the most 'safe place that...More

          Thank Anneliessssssss
          Reviewed 17 January 2014

          I stayed here for one night and it was really nice. The common room has windows and doors that are always open which is great since it's so humid. This hostel isn't the best place for meeting people. Everyone mostly kept to themselves.If I come...More

          Thank lifeisapancake
          Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 18 January 2014

          Hey, really glad you enjoyed the place but a shame you might not come back. Meeting people can be a hrd thing, it often depends on the group that are there and on you yourself, so its very subjective. It can be hard when you're...More

          Reviewed 15 January 2014

          This hostel disappointed in every regard. Rooms were dirty, air conditioners didn't work, staff was rude, and the location was not the best. Also, they plan trips to San Blas and other places, but use caution because they do not plan them well. Total disappointment...More

          4  Thank Alex M
          Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostal MamallenaResponded 18 January 2014

          Well, at least you are the sort of person that follows through on your word. When you threatened to put a bad review on Trip Advisor if you didn't get your way we weren't sure if you would follow through after we did all we...More

          Reviewed 9 January 2014

          friendly staff, good pancake breakfast, nicely decorated to make it a pleasant place to stay, especially in the communal areas, that offer books, films, games, and travel info. The only downside were the small rooms that were very hot and had noisy airconditioning.

          Thank Eliene V
          El Machico Hostel
          477 reviews
          #1 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Magnolia Inn
          606 reviews
          #2 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Luna's Castle Hostel
          562 reviews
          #6 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          Hostel Casa Nativa
          33 reviews
          #8 of 105 Speciality lodging in Panama City
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Airport Transportation
          • Breakfast included
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$13 - US$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 20
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • Panama >
          • Panama Province >
          • Panama City
          • Also Known As
          • Mamallena Backpackers Panama City ,
          • Hostal Mamallena Panama/Panama City
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (45)
          Room & Suite (9)
          Dining (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (57)
          Family and Play Areas (7)
          Bathroom (2)
          Nearby
          Euro Hotel
          141 reviews
          .22 km away
           
          Hotel Costa Inn
          287 reviews
          .18 km away
           
          Andino Hotel
          87 reviews
          .25 km away
           
          Avila Hotel Panama
          72 reviews
          .21 km away
           
          Hotel California
          92 reviews
          .34 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Aurum
          21 reviews
          .88 km away
          Da Stefano Trattoria
          11 reviews
          .72 km away
          Cafe Balear
          52 reviews
          .29 km away
          Simplemente Frances
          17 reviews
          .36 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Casco Viejo
          8,121 reviews
          1.05 km away
          Avenida Balboa
          1,841 reviews
          .83 km away
          Iglesia del Carmen
          324 reviews
          1.26 km away
          Bridge of the Americas
          1,385 reviews
          .89 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Hostal Mamallena staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "maybe call ahead just enjoy?"
          Read review
          "Only book here to stay in a dorm - Look somewhere else for a private room"
          Read review
          "If you can afford the private rooms during the stay...well worth it."
          Read review
          "Reserve or show up early"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing