We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort

Save
Share
Omar Torrijos Avenue, Paraiso, Panama City 0844-2014 Panama
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$73
View deal
TripadvisorUS$73
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$73
PricelineUS$82
travelup.comUS$104
Lol.travelUS$118
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (817)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (236)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#9 of 133 hotels in Panama City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort is surrounded by 160 acres of lush rainforest around the Panama Canal, and is approximately 30 minutes from downtown Panama City. Lodging at our Hotel is a quiet alternative to downtown accommodations, while still providing free shuttle service to top attractions like the Miraflores Locks and the Albrook Shopping Center, both just a short drive from our hotel’s address in the Panama City area. While visiting our Panama hotel, you’ll also have access to exceptional on-site amenities, including our professional 18-hole golf course, free breakfast buffet, free transportation to Miraflores Locks, Summit Botanical Gardens and nearby malls, free wireless Internet access, two outdoor rainforest pools, 3 nature trails with a butterfly and frog exhibit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Table tennis
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1646Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 913
  • 449
  • 173
  • 73
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
traveltam12 wrote a review Jan. 2023
uk39 contributions60 helpful votes
The location, grounds and included little walks are all fab. It's set near the gamboa & soberania national parks & rainforest so great for hikes. The hotel itself though is a let down and very underwhelming. It's outdated and run down. Carpets in the corridor old and worn. The bedrooms whilst clean badly need to be renovated with rust everywhere on the balcony and lamps, chipped furniture, appliances not working. The restaurent at the hotel has a limited selection and overpriced for what it is. The food came out cold and had to be sent back. There is no ambiance inside the restaurent but also there is not really anywhere else to go at night especially if you didn't drive so you are stuck paying their prices for medicore food. Same for the breakfast, nothing tasted fresh and a limited selection. It's a shame as some of the employees are pleasant enough and the trails and nature is beautiful but it really isn't worth staying the night. We booked as saw a special offer on the room. There website states the jewel of Panama but please do not be mislead. The outside may well be the the inside needs a lot of work.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SFvegetarian wrote a review Nov. 2022
Vallejo, California77 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I spent 2 nights here from Nov 16-18. This place is gorgeous, the lobby is fantastic, the rooms are nice, but certainly have issues. Our safe and television wouldn't work, the staff was able to fix the TV, but not the safe. They offered to have us move rooms, but we liked our view of the jungle and golf course, so we stayed. The staff needs help, to put it plainly, they seem unhappy and uninterested in making things better there, they are just going through the motions. The Restaurants (really all the same kitchen ) are ok, but need more help, as the food takes forever, as well as getting the check, and closing out. Same with the bar service, only one bartender, and he is busy or gone. The breakfast buffet was ok at best, it seems to change daily, so at least there is a little variety. My wife and I are vegetarians, and as with all tropical places, that can be a huge challenge, and here was no exception. Pretty much only salads, pizza, or fried plantains, yucca, papas, and that is all. The Golf course was tremendous, I got to play one morning between showers, and it was a sloggy mess, but you can tell they really take care of this very unique and cool course. It has several spectacular and memorable holes, and only cost me $52 to play with cart. I want to salute Sergio on the staff, who gives the walking jungle/nature/animal tours. He was excellent, and answered all questions patiently, and was very courteous and thorough. We got to see sloths, toucans, monkeys, butterflies, frogs, lizards, iguanas, and much more. We learned a lot about these creatures, and their habitat. He also does the evening golf cart tour, out on the golf course, where he has fed the alligators since they were tiny, and he calls them, along with a bunch of turtles, and we get to see them all up very close as they get fed dinner rolls. It isn't very often you have a 4 foot gator just a couple of feet away from you, and you're not terrified ! I would also like to thank Juan, who was a bellhop / liason / expert on all things local and the resort, and also did the logisitics of setting up our tours with Sergio. he was wonderful from the moment we arrived. As far as the room goes, the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was very nice, and the shower was excellent, and the AC worked great. Overall, I would say this is a great place to spend a couple of days.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: get a room on the highest floor possible, the views are tremendous
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi! We are really happy you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travel61addict wrote a review Nov. 2022
The Netherlands53 contributions23 helpful votes
The hotel is situated at the edge of the rainforest and close to Panama City. We were very disappointed by the staff and the restaurant and only stayed for the first night (of the two booked). When we arrived early we were given a room with jungle view as requested, but it wasn’t ready yet. When we came back at the end of the day the other reception staff member gave us another room. But arriving in the room it had more golf course view than jungle. She said that the former room had no jungle view, but we still requested the first one, and it appeared it did have full jungle view. Either she was not capable or was lying. The room we finally got had a nice view and a bit outdated (as the hotel itself) but was okay for the price. Breakfast was basic. The restaurant has no atmosphere at all, with loud music, lacking any light from outside and the staff didn’t seem to enjoy their job. The lobby is beautiful with big glass windows and jungle view, but unfortunately this is not the place were there is any service or restaurant. It probably used to in former days. We wanted to stay here for our pleasure, but there were too many items to complain about, so we left early. I think good management and financial input can make this place great again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The price of the rooms is not bad but don’t expect too much for it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ThereseY wrote a review Aug. 2022
New York City, New York10 contributions4 helpful votes
We went with high expectations based on a former employer who recommended visiting the place due to nature. However, we found out the property was having a wedding which took over the entire hotel (at least it felt that way). Sadly, the restaurant was slow for dinner and only the nature adds some value to stay here. I would rather go camping. Food and service below average. This place could be amazing if well managed. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask if there are events in the hotel prior booking.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Aug. 8, 2022
Dear Visitor, We apprecciate your comments and the fact you have enjoyed the nature around, we understand that your stay collide with a social event taking place in our Hotel. We hope you can come back in other date and enjoy also the calm nature of our surroundings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FiaEdl wrote a review Jul. 2022
Stockholm, Sweden8 contributions2 helpful votes
Good: The beds, the room and the view. The Paco and the patacones at the restaurant. The front desk . The free guided tour to se plants and animals. Also tracks where you can walk on your own. Close to Panama City, only 25 min with car. Bad: The service at the restaurant at night. Waited 1 h for a not tasty pizza for 15 dollar. Not much to do if you don’t play golf or want to stay at a crowded pool. A party with loud music going on to 02.00. A bit isolated. This is a budget version of Gamboa with some good but also some bad. Seemed to have good activity’s for small kids.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Aug. 8, 2022
Hi Fia! We are glad you have liked our rooms and our closest position to the nature!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel Gordon wrote a review Jul. 2022
St. Andrews, United Kingdom293 contributions90 helpful votes
The hotel is about 20 minutes outside Panama City itself. It is a bit run down in places but for the price, very good value. The staff are not particularly friendly but not rude either. The shower pressure was excellent and so was the internet. The bed was probably the comfiest bed I have stayed in for a very long time. Would return
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Jul. 18, 2022
Hi Daniel! We are so glad you have enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fernando Manfredo wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
We had a friends wedding and decided to stay overnight. The service was 10/10 in all areas, rooms were comfy and we had a blast. Next morning we had a very nice buffet breakfast and enjoyed the day on the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Jul. 18, 2022
Hi! We are really glad you have enjoyed your event and your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie S wrote a review Jun. 2022
Toronto, Canada69 contributions19 helpful votes
For the price, I think this hotel is awesome! It's in a great location with this cheap tour of just $2/person for the butterfly pen & the tiny frog pen, and a walk through the forest with a guide. The staff is great and attentive and super sweet. The food is good, not superb (but that could be because we decided to extend our stay for 2 more nights from 2 nights, and we didn't go anywhere else to eat). The pool is gorgeous, and the little walks through the forest are nice. There was a problem with our booking through Expedia and they wanted us to pay another $27/person extra, even though our reservation clearly had us all in the room. That kinda miffed me, but once that was resolved with Expedia, everything was good. That delayed us checking in for about an hour. That's not super nice when you just arrive. Rooms are spic and span. Beds are great. Hotel is in a gorgeous setting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Jun. 17, 2022
Good Morning! We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay in our resort!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph W wrote a review Jun. 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
LIFE THREATENING! AVOID AT ALL COSTS! On May 5th, 2022 I dined in at the location with my family. Promptly at sitting down, as usual whenever I eat out, I alerted the server I had a severe nut allergy. She said she understood and would arrange for a plain dessert since that section had nuts. However, to my surprise, the POORLY labeled buffet had cooked rice with almonds (a total oddity in Panama), which quickly caused an allergic reaction. I rushed to the front desk, who provided ZERO assistance. Thankfully I was able to resolve the situation at a local clinic. The waiters and front desk provided no compensation and just a shrug of shoulders. There was no promise to provide labels with allergens in the buffet, train the servers to understand the severity of the requests of guests. This story should tell you all you need to know about the location. You’ll find better service at other places that won’t possibly kill you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Jun. 17, 2022
Good Morning Joseph! We apprecciate your feedback, nevertheless part of our standard is non allergic food in our buffet as you mentioned in your comment a rice with almond is an odditiy in Panama as part of a buffet. For any emergency we have an ambulance and paramedic service that can quickly help us with any life threatening situation that can occur with any of our guests and can be contacted by any of the staff during your visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mírian wrote a review Jun. 2022
Panama Province, Panama2 contributions
Excellent Hotel great food. Fair prices. Very good attention Jeffrey and Carlos great activities. In the restaurant Shalani has an excellent customer service. I invite you to come any time. Is very close to the city. 45 minutes from the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melisha Mirpuri, General Manager at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Responded Jun. 7, 2022
Hi Yesenaie, Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Radisson Summit Resort & Golf Panama
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvincePanama City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort (C̶$̶1̶5̶7̶) C$84 - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Panama/Panama City) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Nearby attractions include Panama Canal (7.5 km), Soberania National Park (3.9 km), and Centennial Bridge (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kotowa Coffee House, Brava Pizza, and 10-4 Diez Cuatro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Summit Rainforest & Golf Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.