We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle 50 con 53 este Urb. Marbella, Panama City Panama
15 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-11
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-11
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$100
View deal
Hotels.comUS$149
Riu.comUS$148
TravelocityUS$149
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2608)
Room & Suite (1124)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#12 of 133 hotels in Panama City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
TThe Hotel Riu Plaza Panama is located in the heart of the banking and business district of Panama City and very close to most attractive entertainment and shopping centers. Only 250m from the luxurious "Soho Mall" Panama and Tocumen International Airport (PTY) is approx. 21 km away. This hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travel. The 644 modern and elegant decorated rooms with free Wi-Fi offer maximum comfort and in our 23 stylish and modern conference rooms you can successfully organize your events and meetings. Relax at the Renova Spa or get in shape in the gym. You can also unwind in our outdoor pool. For gastronomy lovers, we offer a live cooking station at our buffet restaurant, an á la carte restaurant, as well as 2 bars. Crown Level Executive lounge service free for guests staying in Executive rooms and Suites as well as hotel guests holding RIU Class Gold and RIU Class Diamond cards.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Trendy
Languages Spoken
Spanish
3637Reviews86Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,892
  • 1,158
  • 326
  • 145
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joksan M wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution
The Riu was a wonderful experience. The pool are was beautiful only thing this is definitely no a property suited for children. The pool area is populated by a senior crowd who for the most part use the pool for exercise purposes. The breakfast buffet was excellent, very good variety.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jamrock813 wrote a review Aug. 2021
Princeton, New Jersey82 contributions24 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The staff made this hotel awesome! They were extremely helpful and catered to our every need. They help personalize the experience and were very friendly. Envy, at the front desk made our birthdays special. The concierge Frank is a great as well! Breakfast was pretty good as well. I wish the pool was a rooftop setting instead but it is what it is. I’d definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kerns577 wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution
3 nights and four days in Panama, staying @ Ther Riu plaza. Wonderful and informative staff. Excellent housekeeping staff with attention to cleanliness and needs of guests. Rooms were spacious with pillows and mattresses well above average. The complimentary breakfast exceeded all expectations, similar to cruise ships I have traveled. Location was convenient for our trip and maybe 20 minutes from the airport. Absolutely will stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone, including traveling with children.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leslie S wrote a review Jan. 2023
We stayed in an executive level king. The price was really good and you are a short uber ride to favorite sights. We were able to get early check-in and a free ungrade which was great. Food is ok. Nothing special. The room was nice and comfortable and the separate seating area was useful. The hotel is really large and the pool only sits about 30 people. So, people usually come down early and leave their towels out. Even if they leave for HOURS the pool attendant will tell you the seats are occupied. They should limit the time you can be away. So, if use of a pool is a must, this hotel probably won't work. You will need to stay a bit further out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Responded yesterday
Dear lesliesR818TG, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We regret the disappointment during your stay. We can only apologize for our failure to meet your requirements and for any service lapses encountered during your stay here. We will pass your comments to corresponding departments as we hope to have another opportunity to provide you with an enriching experience. Yours faithfully, Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Benjamin K wrote a review Jan. 2023
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom30 contributions33 helpful votes
This is meant to be one of the most exclusive hotels in Panama yet they are always trying to take more money off you. Not only did we have to pay a daily rate for parking (despite their enormous garage) we also had to pay for WiFi. This is completely unacceptable. We are in the year 2023 and WiFi is not a luxury but a necessity. Very cheap on part of RIU and left a very sour taste in my mouth. The room was fine although nothing special. The TV was very outdated. On the positive side the breakfast was absolutely superb and the staff are generally pretty friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Expect to pay more than just the cost of your room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Responded 2 days ago
Dear BenKew, Thank you very much for choosing Riu and for sharing your feedback. As we strongly believe that guests come first, it is truly saddening to find that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay and that there were some aspects that overshadowed your experience. We have passed your concerns to the relevant department for an appropriate follow up and we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you again and share a more pleasant experience. Kindest Regards, Hotel Riu Plaza Panamá Online Reputation Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anka K wrote a review Jan. 2023
2 contributions
We booked a stay of 2 Nights. The Riu Plaza employees didn‘t provide us our luggage, which has been delivered to Riu Plaza by our Airline. We asked several times various employees at the reception whether our luggage has been delivered and the answer was always „no“. After our check out and after we flew to our next stop in Panama, we have been informed By the Airline, That Riu Plaza would be in possession of our luggage for already 3 days. But also then, Riu Plaza felt not responsible to solve their mistake and didn‘t Support or Provided help To us. They absolutely didn‘t care about this and just called it „a mistake“. So spoken honestly - When it comes to Customer care, Support or at least Kindness: Riu Plaza in Panama is one of the worst hotels I have ever Seen and been. As we had no luggage we had to use the laundry Service of the Hotel for the clothes we had on our body But also there we had to make Bad experoences: First of all they didn‘t bring us back all the clothes we provided to the laundry service. We had to reask for our missing clothes and then we unfortunately recogized that our White clothes had a shade of grey, which means they do Not Split White from coloured clothes and one of the Shirts is shrunken. And believe me: this laundry Service was expensive! What cheek!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Responded 1 week ago
Dear AnkaK29, Many thanks for choosing Riu and for sharing your feedback with us! It is clear by your comments, that we did not fully succeed to offer you a satisfying stay. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority therefore we are very sorry we did not live up to the standards that you expected from us. In case you wish to follow up or to raise a formal complaint, you can share your concerns with our After Travel department via email (in case of a direct booking using the following e-mail address: complaints@riu.com or through your travel agency). Our colleagues will be happy to attend you. We will also pass your comments to the responsible department as we hope you allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and to deliver a more enjoyable experience. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shermaberoo wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution
This is the best hotel I have ever been to! Hands down! The rooms are modern, the colour schemes and designs...refreshing! The view is amazing because it's a high-rise building, great service, and great food!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: It's also locate in the hub of things you can leave the hotel and walk in the busy streets below....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear shermaberoo, We would just like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback means a lot to us and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. All the best, Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Online Reputation Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan wrote a review Jan. 2023
Ghent, Belgium4 contributions
Very nice hotel to stay. The breakfast was delicieus with a great choice. Also the people at the desk were very friendly and helpfull Also the pool was a very nice place to have a drink The rooms were perfect
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gabriela I wrote a review Jan. 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
We had a great stay at this hotel. The room service was very good. There was a little mishap with a sliding door in the room getting out of its place, but it was fixed fast. The buffet breakfast was very tasty, every day having some new things besides the usual eggs, sausages, cereal, cheese, cold cuts, fruits, etc: tamales, rice with pigeon beans and coconut, beef soup, etc Too many options to mention! This hotel is placed very conveniently in the heart of the business district, a very safe location, very short distance to great restaurants, Multiplaza mall, Rey supermarket, hop on-hop off bus, etc. We used Uber all the time. One driver we would highly recommend (we ended up using him most of the time because he spoke English well) is Mijail. He gave us his number (he oked it to be shared), and we called him via whatsup when we needed a ride: +507 6431-9972
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
IAmFreddeRico wrote a review Dec. 2022
Sodra Sandby, Sweden1 contribution
Nice, clean and comfortable room. Great facilities and awesome food and beverages. The location couldn’t be any better, especially if your there for business. The staff was very kind and helpful. Love it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaPanama ProvincePanama City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
644
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Riu Plaza Panama (C̶$̶2̶0̶7̶) C$112 - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Panama City) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Nearby attractions include Soho (0.3 km), Brew Stop Marbella (0.3 km), and Nina Concept Store (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Yes, a parking garage and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Vespa, Coffee Max, and Ciao Bella Gourmet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Plaza Panama have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Riu Plaza Panama offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Plaza Panama offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Capilla San Jose (4.8 km), Plaza de Francia (7.6 km), and Panamá Viejo (4.8 km).