Hotel Posada Don Valentino

Hotel Posada Don Valentino

5th Calle Poniente # 28, Antigua 03001 Guatemala
Letto
Traveller (71)
Panorama of the Double Room at the Posada Don Valentino
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (76)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#56 of 96 hotels in Antigua
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
A beautiful mid-range hotel in the heart, of the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala. We offer everything you could need during your stay in Antigua. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and get the most out of your visit to our beautiful city. Our hotel is in the perfect spot, only 2 blocks to our beautiful central park, only 2 blocks to our tourist market, close to lots of restaurants and other services. We offer all the tourist services, airport pickups, tourist shuttles, free city maps and pointers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Outdoor dining area
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
Secured parking
Wifi
Bicycle tours
Patio
Walking tours
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Separate living room
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

5th Calle Poniente # 28, Antigua 03001 Guatemala
196Reviews7Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 64
  • 35
  • 19
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Crysee wrote a review Apr 2021
Winnipeg, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location wise it’s great as the hotel is literally right next door to La Bodegona (main grocery store), the market, and only a few blocks from Parque Central. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. There is a kitchen and place to refill water which I always appreciate. And they have a couple terraces which are nice places to relax. The staff are super lovely.

Poor Wifi was the main negative for me. I moved to the main floor as there was no signal upstairs but it remained spotty in my room. There was no natural light being on the main floor (with the windows being to the hallway so I kept my curtains closed). On the night I was leaving a family moved in above me and omg the noise was crazy. I couldn’t have handled staying. So my advice would be to stay on the main level.

It’s a good enough option for the price despite the couple negatives.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HalifaxTbird wrote a review Jun 2011
Port Williams, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and value for money. As a woman traveling alone this hotel offered security, helpful English speaking staff, Internet access and an awesome location near nightlife and attractions in Antigua. Basic yet comfortable. If you are looking for a step up from hostel life without breaking the bank, this hotel is a great option.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lilian21 wrote a review Feb 2011
Ann Arbor, Michigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 5 nights with 3 young children. Had a room on the 3rd floor - much quieter. Delicious breakfasts enjoyed on terraces, Nice to have use of full kitchen for meals. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Internet Cafe on site for small fee. Perfect view of Volcano Pacaya. Can't beat the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gabysuvi wrote a review Dec 2022
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the worst experience of my life at La Posada de Valentino in Antigua Guatemala. The rooms were dirty and in complete disrepair, with peeling paint, broken furniture, and stained bed sheets. The bathroom was cramped and disgusting, with moldy tiles and a broken shower. The staff were rude and unaccommodating, and seemed to have no interest in making my stay enjoyable. To top it all off, the hotel was located in a sketchy area with no security, making me feel unsafe at all times. Overall, my stay at La Posada de Valentino was a complete disaster and I would never consider staying there again. If you value your safety and comfort, I would highly recommend finding a different hotel to stay at in Antigua Guatemala

Tuve la peor experiencia de mi vida en La Posada de Valentino en Antigua Guatemala. Las habitaciones estaban sucias y en completo deterioro, con pintura desconchada, muebles rotos y sábanas manchadas. El baño era pequeño y repugnante, con baldosas mohosas y una ducha rota. El personal era grosero e inflexible, y parecía no tener interés en que mi estancia fuera agradable. Para colmo, el hotel estaba ubicado en una zona sospechosa sin seguridad, lo que me hacía sentir inseguro en todo momento. En resumen, mi estancia en La Posada de Valentino fue un completo desastre y nunca volvería a considerar quedarme allí. Si valoras tu seguridad y comodidad, te recomendaría altamente encontrar un hotel diferente para quedarte en Antigua Guatemala
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sorcha wrote a review Oct 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was small and had a lot of mould. The bathroom was basic, with no hot water, leaky at night and also had a lot of mould. We had a window that opened into the hallway and staff were not very helpful. Kitchen was minimal. This place is desperate for a little love.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No early check-in available and luggage storage is a bit ropey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elisabeth D wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there for 2 nights and had the amazing chance of being upgraded to a suite for one night at no extra cost. Amazing comfort, warm shower, devoted employees, clean rooms. Well equiped kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The price are better if you book directly at the reception.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DKayM wrote a review Jan 2008
Houston, TX
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a delightful three weeks in this inexpensive hotel when I was in Guatemala to study Spanish. The staff was incredible! Friendly and efficient, they provided excellent service and thoughtful suggestions. I felt as if I were leaving friends and family after my extended stay. The hotel's proximity to the market, lovely restaurants, and the town square made it an ideal place to stay. The rooms, clean and comfortable, offered not only comfort but also a feeling of security. Access to other areas of the hotel--a rooftop terrace, a patio with comfortable sofas, and and internet access within the building--were special surprises. Kudos to the lovely staff. I am planning another extended stay there in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trent_Davis wrote a review Mar 2011
York, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a mission trip with 19 people and we felt right at home at Posada Don Valentino! I have been to Guatemala 25 times but this was my first hotel experience in Antigua. The staff, particularly Mary, were very helpful. They helped us arrange tours and transportation including a shuttle to the airport for our group. They had a great spread for our breakfast that was only $5/each. The rooms were beautiful and what you would expect in Guatemala.

The location is near perfect. One block form the market. A short walk to the Central Square. There is a grocery store right next door for anything you need. We took the mini taxis anywhere we wanted for 20Qs which is like $2.50.

The only problem I had was with the shower heat. And I was told that if you don't turn the water on full blast it heats better.

We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jerrystacy wrote a review Oct 2010
Canyon Lake, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would recommend the Posada without reservation. The people were super kind and helpful. The location was convenient and the accomodations clean and more than adequate for the price. I would return without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resounding2000 wrote a review Feb 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Posada Don Valentino will lie to you to get your money. We asked twice over the phone if there was construction. They said no. We arrived and they put us in a room RIGHT NEXT DOOR to loud hammering and construction. We were moved to cheaper hotel. The hotels were full in the city. The first room was fine although obviously cheaper. The next morning the staff said our room was booked and we needed to move to another room. This room was even cheaper, smaller, had no windows and was right next to the front desk. As a result, we ended up in a $20 room. Posada Don Valentino lied to us and stole our money. Do not stay in a hotel staffed by liars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Posada Don Valentino
Responded Mar 6, 2015
Thank you for your review, we would like to point out that when the receptionist offered you the room by phone she mentioned that there was a construction going on close to our hotel which you said it was fine and then told them to book the room knowing about the construction. After you were sent to our other hotel you stayed for two nights in the same room, we never said and never moved you from that room. We do not appreciate your comments about our staff being liars and thieves. Sorry if you think we ruined your weekend which is not the case.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from mexicohicks1
Antigua, Guatemala17 contributions7 helpful votes
si, puede. Este tiene un costo adicinal de $5. Gracias
Answer from mexicohicks1
Antigua, Guatemala17 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi Suki, I'm glad to inform you that Guatemala is a very safe place to live and travel, there are some places that are dangerous at certain hours but that's common with every place you could imagine, since Guatemala is a very touristic place there is a lot of security around (just in case) and if you ever get lost or something happens to you there is a hotline dedicated especially for tourists which is 1500 or you can visit there web page (visitguatemala) if your daughter gets a chance of coming to Antigua Guatemala I would like to offer her any of our 10 hotels for her to enjoy her stay in Guatemala even more, for more information about prices and photos you can visit our web page (antiguahotelsolutions)
EVALLE asked a question Jul 2017
San Salvador, El Salvador15 contributions6 helpful votes
Hay algún parqueo cerca?
carl0ss12 asked a question May 2017
Guatemala Department, Guatemala
Cuanto es el costo por dos noches del 8 al 10 de mayo
Deidy10 asked a question Aug 2015
Necesito alojamiento para 7 adultos y 1 niño
Answer from mexicohicks1
Antigua, Guatemala17 contributions7 helpful votes
Hola Deidy, con gusto le podemos ofrecer habitaciones, para que fecha desea la cotización? y nos puede dar su correo electronico para enviar la cotización?
sorcha wrote a tip Oct 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom14 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No early check-in available and luggage storage is a bit ropey"
Read full review
Elisabeth D wrote a tip Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The price are better if you book directly at the reception."
Read full review
rguillen2016 wrote a tip Mar 2016
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms in the higher floor are more quiet"
Read full review
Rick H wrote a tip Jun 2015
Tegucigalpa, Honduras19 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was second floor with a porch across the hall. Even at the top of the stairs we had no disturbing noise."
Read full review
devildog0800 wrote a tip Jun 2015
raymore181 contributions72 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the first floor, upper floors have narrow staircases and a pain to take luggage up."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Antigua area.
PRICE RANGE
C$18 - C$53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
posada don valentino antigua guatemala, posada don valentino hotel
LOCATION
GuatemalaSacatepequez DepartmentAntigua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Posada Don Valentino - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Posada Don Valentino
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Nearby attractions include ChocoMuseo La Antigua (0.4 km), The Plaza Central Park (0.4 km), and Xibalba Studio (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include laundry service, free internet access, and a rooftop terrace.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Top room amenities include blackout curtains, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Conveniently located restaurants include 27 Adentro, Carlos And Carlos Antigua, Guatemala, and Hector's Deli.
Is Hotel Posada Don Valentino located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Antigua.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Posada Don Valentino?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iglesia de San Francisco El Grande (0.8 km), Real Palacio (0.7 km), and Casa Popenoe (0.8 km).
Does Hotel Posada Don Valentino have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Antigua HotelsAntigua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AntiguaHotels near Hotel Posada Don Valentino
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars