We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mekong Riverview Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mekong Riverview Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mekong Riverview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 631: English reviews
Minty001
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Lovely little hotel with helpful and friendly staff! Our room was huge - plenty of room for twin beds which were surprisingly large and comfy for Asia. Good bathroom with separate loo - very useful. And twin hand basins. AC was good, also a ceiling fan. Nice balcony with view of the river. Breakfast area had a great view, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minty001
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I was totally satisfied with this last minute Internet booked hotel in Luang Pharang. The staffs are all helpful and speak english fluently. The location is superb by the riverfront and next to the palace which is now turned to national museum. Wat xiengthong is just 5 minutes walk away uphill. The jetty is right in front if you intend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaunesk
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked the Junior Riverview Suite for 4 nights at the end of March and spent hours sitting on the balcony enjoying the view & the peace (most of the time all you heard were the birds and the river- so calming). The breakfast was also a good spot for relaxing and the selection was more than adequate. My friend made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaz300
Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this great little hotel in a great location. Positives: 1. Location at the tip of the peninsula means great views and less traffic than centrally located hotels. 2. Friendly owner and hotel staff. The owner, Mr. Urban, is on the property every day. 3. Great restaurant location right at the junction of the Nahm Kahn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwc3
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 6 April 2013

we wanted to stay in a peaceful place after wonderful but noisy, crazy Hanoe. We chose Mekong Riverview thinking this would be what we were looking for. Unfortunately we were weong. we paid extra for an upstairs room overlooking the river because people said it was peaceful. I think these reviewers must had had hearing difficulties. I used ear plugs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annallen_13
MrUrbanPaulsson, Owner at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your trip advisor review. We are so sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with the passing motorbike at night. We would like to point out that we do not charge extra for the upstairs rooms, could it possibly bee that you choose a Junior Suite River View room and therefore upgraded to the...

Barcelona
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stood 4 nights in Mekong Riverview hotel, everything was excellent. It was great having breakfast while looking at Mekong river, we really miss those mornings :) Location is very good, you can use the bikes all day, We were very happy with Mr. Urban kindness and all the staff. Sure we will repeat the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mLao
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I was traveling on business (solo) and spent easter weekend in Luang Prabang (5 nights). I had stayed at Villa Senesouk last time I was in town (and loved it!). However, I checked trip advisor and was persuaded to stay at the Mekong Riverview. It happened to be at the convergence of the two rivers, one of my favorite views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JenGPhiladelphia
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewed 1 April 2013

How often have you stayed at a hotel where the people running the hotel and the entire staff working at the hotel really care about you and want to help you have the best stay possible? This is the unusual experience that my wife and I had at the Mekong Riverview Hotel. It started when we where greeted at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Incredibly helpful and friendly staff welcomed us to Laos after our flight with an annotated map and free tea/coffee and cake. The room was spectacular with a wraparound terrace. They kept adding bottles of complimentary water to our fridge, something we just had never seen elsewhere. The location is central and the bicycles are free to borrow. Wine reception on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J G
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I just feel like I am at home rather than in hotel! From freshly made eggs and shakes served in the terrace (which has unsurpassed view in Luang Prabang), free bike rentals in the day, free tea, coffee and cakes in the lobby (which is more like a living room than a hotel lobby), to little amenities in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DerekHung

583 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (203)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
River View Junior Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Mekong River View Room (39)
Viewed
Superior Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 km away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
621 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
654 reviews
0.3 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
510 reviews
2.3 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
567 reviews
1.8 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: $217 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mekong Riverview Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mekong Riverview Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor with verandah, you get beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles dvillax, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Insist on a view of the Mekong. The second floor very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoSKW, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles glenisl2015, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles S0lway, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the upper level are quieter a have a balcony with chairs and table”
 of 5 bubbles mundus, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay