We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was alright, personnel ok. Unfortunately we had some issues with them not taking euros even though it was explicitly stated in the menu that they do indeed accept euros. Seating and interior nice, prices okay, though definitely not cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Thanavorakit K, General Manager at Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Tim, Thank you for visiting our restaurant. Please accept my apology for the inconvenient caused. We accept LAK, USD, EUR and THB as normal basis. I'll personally check with out staffs to make sure they follow this policy and find out what happened. Regards, TK

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ordered a margherita pizza, a tomato and cheese baguette, a fish and chips followed by an oreo cheesecake. Love the outdoor seating, the food was good, and service was quick and efficient. Would recommend for a nice light lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 809anujav
United States
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We only had some coffee there. The baked goods looked fresh and generous in size, but we didn't fancy trying any. The order came quick. The capuccino was good...rich, thick, and strong, but not for my taste. The cafe is right by the Royal Palace, so it can be a great stop on the way therr or back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TropicalDuck
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Stopped into this restaurant/bakery on two separate occasions for dessert. The baked goods we had were exceptional(fudge brownie, chocolate ball & banana creme pie). Not mention the prices were very reasonable for the quality and quantity of the baked goods. The staff are professional and friendly; especially the owner/manager. Their patio in front of the restaurant is probably the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CM2020
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

So I ordered fried chicken noodles- I received soggy noodles in sauce never been fried! Staff insisted it was fried I requested a discount based on I never ate a thing! No refused a discount, apologised and that's it- not recommended for fried noodles or customer service! Really disappointing only negative experience in Luang Prabang, what a shame!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Foshan, China
Reviewed 5 February 2016

After a tour around Luang Prabang, Bakery Guesthouse is the right place to relax, nice environment , great bakery and good coffee. the place offers seat outside or inside where you can enjoy the aircondition. The Bakery products are not bad and at night time you can buy some cake with discount.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormaci69
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Reviewed 29 January 2016

I did not stay at the guesthouse, but I ate here on two different days, one lunch, one dinner. The location is good, directly on a main road (Sisavangvong) through the old town, with seating inside as well as cafe-style streetside where you can people watch. Wifi worked well, and as another reviewer mentioned, they have some of the nicest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItsATouristTrap
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I only ate in the restaurant, didn't stay in the hotel. I'm amazed the food has attracted negative reviews. We sat outside and it was a great atmosphere, good selection of food and excellent - in fact first class - service. We only really wanted a snack so ordered chips to share, banana pancake and a piece of cake -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fourviolets
Kildare
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The nicest thing about this place is the toilet. The cake and coffee was so over priced and tasted so awful we couldnt eat it. The service was fine, polite young Laos people, cleanliness is good but food and drink wise this place is a disaster.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The food is expensive for "NON-guest". The taste is so so cause it's ABF. I ate 1 ABF with smallest bottle of local water, it costed me 80,000 LAK which is about 320 THB. This is the most expensive ABF dish I've ever had. There won't be next time for me unless I am staying there as a guest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kumiko_fontong

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 km away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#31 of 68 in Luang Prabang
203 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 68 in Luang Prabang
235 reviews
0.3 km away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#33 of 68 in Luang Prabang
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#20 of 254 in Luang Prabang
148 reviews
0.5 km away
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
#16 of 122 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0.4 km away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#30 of 254 in Luang Prabang
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant

Additional Information about Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse

Address: Sisavangvong Road | Ban Chamkong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the front share a balcony, perfect for people watching.”
 of 5 bubbles retayl, 15 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Ask rooms with Sisavangvong Road street view from the balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles anton296, 28 Dec 2013 | Read review
“There are only 5 rooms. We looked into the middle room looking over the street with a balcony which appeared to have only a double bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Conbear, 15 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front with the lovely balconies; as other reviewers have suggested room 5 is bigger than room 3.”
  • Looking out from Room 3 balcony
 of 5 bubbles SimonB-Ely, 7 Apr 2013 | Read review
“If you wish to view morning alms ceremony in the morning. Do choose the room with balcony. You can sit and the balcony and watch the monks pass by and the locals provide their offerings in the morning about 6am”
 of 5 bubbles lenacoco, 20 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5