We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bell Tower Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

619 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 614: English reviews
Sylvania, Ohio
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lots of great memories here! The town has tons to do and the staff at Bell Tower go out of their way to make the stay perfect. There is alot of character and charm to this Inn, yet it's upkeep is obvious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank senewmyer
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to see that your experiences have been great! We spend a lot of time and energy ensuring our guests feel the way you feel. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I look forward to your return. Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager

tokyo
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here twice on visits to the University of Michigan. It is a "quaint" hotel with comfortable rooms and good service. Visiting profs stay at this hotel. It is located within walking distance of the first "Borders" bookstore (defunct), founded by two U Michigan students.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank warren D
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

It is disappointing to not have an icon like Borders in Ann Arbor any longer. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay(s). We look forward to your return visits whenever you return to Ann Arbor. Safe Travels! DeWayne Grann General Manager

Great Falls
Reviewed 1 week ago

I always enjoy my sojourns at the Bell Tower Hotel. The staff makes all the difference between the Bell Tower and other hotels. I have stayed at the Bell Tower every Thanksgiving week, but for one, since 1990.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickrM691VD
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business for all of these years. It is truly our pleasure to have you back each year! I am glad we never disappoint you and look forward to your return next year. Happy Holidays! DeWayne Grann General Manager

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Surprised my hubby for his birthday with tickets to a Michigan U football game. He had broken his leg two weeks before our trip which made things more interesting. Everyone went out if their way to help starting and ending with the valet which I was grateful for after a 10.5 hour drive. The room was simple and clean everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry your husband broke his leg before the game. I am glad that you selected our property since we are on campus and close to shops and restaurants. You really can walk anywhere (even with a broken leg) since we are literally around the corner from everything...

Okemos
Reviewed 1 week ago

First room, heat wouldn't work. 2nd room, hot water wouldn't work and shower head leak sprayed in every direction. No desk to work in 2nd room. Staff made every effort to correct problem but really needed to upgrade at that point.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikecZ6629XU
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy in the second room. I am aware of the heat issues in your first room but showed you the second room to be sure that it would fit your needs. I am sorry you were not happy with that room but after our conversation, thought you were happy with it? I would have...

Deerfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been going to Ann Arbor for 35 years and this was my first stay at the Bell Tower. I couldn't have been more pleased. Valet parking is great. Since the hotel is right on campus, I gave them the car when I arrived and never thought about it until check out. They were extremely accommodating with an early check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E7090USdanielk
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am kind of surprised you only awarded 4 out of 5 stars with such a glowing review. I look forward to your next stay and please feel free to reach out to me directly at 734-769-3010 to share how we are able to improve to a five star review. Thanks again for your...

Winter Springs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was so accommodating and friendly. The location could not have been more accessible. The view was a brick wall and for the price of 238.00 a night I would of thought it would have been much nicer. The room had everything I needed right down to slippers and a robe which was a great touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that we don't have great views. We try to compensate with excellent guest service and the cleanest hotel in Ann Arbor. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Ann Arbor. Regards, DeWayne Grann General Manager

Boston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not fully accessible, although there is an elevator visitors must climb steps to move throughout facility. If you are mobility compromisedf this probably is not the hotel for you. If there is a convoluted way to get around to avoid climbing stairs it isn't clearly marked or intuitive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M8020QFjohnr
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not realize we have two elevators for guests that aren't able to climb the steps to the first floor. It is available upon request and we are always happy to show guests where it is and how to use it. Please let us know the next time you are in so we are able to...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had stopped by this establishment a couple of years ago and were in anticipation of staying at this property. We did our online research and made plans to visit the adjoining restaurant Eve for cocktails prior to the concert. However, the restaurant was permanently closed a month ago with no indication of this news on the website - so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi V
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry about the restaurant. We are revising our website now that we know the restaurant is not returning. Until last week, we were not aware of this. I am also sorry that the 2 cans of Coke were frozen. I looked at them and they were misshaped but did not see where they "exploded". If you would...

Lauderdale By The Sea
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a little surprised by the room itself - the hotel was gorgeous, the room "okay" - our bed was old and worn and our view was a concrete wall... With that said, the breakfast was fabulous, the staff attentive and courteous and the location amazingly convenient. Would stay there again... However if the room were refurbished, it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

The good news is that we are starting a renovation project within the next month. However, I am surprised that the bed wasn't a positive experience. We have top of the line Serta-Presidential double pillow top mattresses. I will have our Housekeeping Manager review each bed to ensure there isn't a defective mattress. Thank you for taking the time and...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
2 Queen (27)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Queen Atrium Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Queen (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.7 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
0.3 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#20 of 34 in Ann Arbor
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
4.4 km away
Weber's
Weber's
#18 of 34 in Ann Arbor
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: 300 S Thayer St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1699
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range: $239 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#4 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bell Tower Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Nunya
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bell Tower Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You may want to avoid a room next to the stairwell or elevator”
 of 5 bubbles TCWII, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a picture. Don't get a room facing the parking lot/wall”
  • Only thing missing is the bars
  • Anybody have binoculars?
  • turn sideways to enter. What is the opposite of COMMODious?
  • In lieu of chest of drawers.....
 of 5 bubbles 344BarbaraM344, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Arrive early and try to get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles RichardD384, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“facing the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 801AlanB, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“front of the hotel is crucial”
 of 5 bubbles Avidtraveller525, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay