We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thebe River Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Thebe River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thebe River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed 18 September 2016

They had wifi in reception. rooms were clean, bathrooms a bit basic but sufficient. Reception staff OK. Easy to reach from road into town. restaurant on site. Catering for tours and camping also onsite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matilda F
Salt Lake City, UT
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Thebe River Lodge is situated on the Chobi River in Hasane, Botswana. It is very close to the Zimbabwe border if you wish to visit Victoria Falls (highly recommended). The lodge is clean and very quaint. The rooms are comfortable and mosquito nets are provided (bring your mosquito repellant). River cruises and safari drives can be arranged and you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank widowtallan
Grace B, Manager at Thebe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of Thebe River Lodge. Your feedback is invaluable and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your notes about our breakfast has been passed on to the food and beverage manager for further attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you ever find yourself in Kasane...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Clean and nice rooms in good location but the front desk staff seriously need an attitude adjustment. Any request or question (even as simple as asking for the wifi passcode) seems to irritate the front desk staff. Fire damage still hasn't been fixed so no pool and the rooms are home to some seriously huge and hairy spiders and although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markos2013
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

A good place to stay while visitng chobe and the border triangle area. Clean and beautiful, and the staff can help with questions about the area. A bit too crowded for my opinion but that is probably the only bad thing i can say about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idobentzur
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

If you want luxury your looking at the wrong place to stay, Thebe is a good price point for those travelling on a budget. Clean small A/C rooms, good bar, pool & restaurant. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. We are enjoying our stay here this is Africa 4* TIA, TIA

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph N
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review of Thebe River Safaris. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back should you find yourself in Kasane again.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The rooms are singe story terraces arranged around 2 courtyards with seating in the centre of each. The first room that we were allocated smelt very musty. The hotel changed it without fuss. The room was small, and with a double bed, dressing table, wardrobe and both upright and soft chairs, somewhat overcrowded. There wasn't really enough space to put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KKKitty
Management response:

Thank you for your review of Thebe River Safaris. We have taken your comments into consideration in relations to the lighting and space in the rooms and will work with our maintenance team to endeavor to resolve those issues. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed as part of a tour. Room was comfortable but a little smaller than most i had stayed in on tour. Courtyard area was nice for catching up with friends. Restaurant had good food, our group had preordered in the afternoon to avoid long delays at dinner time. 2 meals were totally missed off our order and 18 others had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJKPerth
Management response:

Thank you for your honest review of our lodge. We are glad that you have enjoyed the facilities offered at Thebe River Safaris. In relations to the restaurant we are in the process of creating a roof before our rainy season starts so rest assured it will be nicely covered by the end of the year. I have passed on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Thebe River's camp for two nights very recently and were really disappointed at what little regard was given to our booking, which was made months in advance to make sure we got a camp! People showing up last minute were allocated to share our camp, which meant by the time we returned from having dinner, there were other campers set up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Siv_and_Keddy
Management response:

Thank you for your honest review. Your feedback allows us to continually improve our services and guest experiences. It also allows us to ensure all complaints can be dealt with in a timely manner. I would firstly like to offer my sincerest apologies for your experience on behalf of the Thebe team. I am disheartened to hear that you left...

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in accommodation which was very quaint and clean. Several in our group camped. Was a good camp site and we were able to hear hippos down by the river. No sight line to river. Very close to Chobe National Park where you can see tons of elephant!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aocwagner
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review of Thebe River Safaris. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience here at our lodge. We are very blessed to be surrounded by such incredible wildlife and are delighted that you got to experience it first hand. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We stayed at the lodge as part of a tour we undertaking. It was a really nice environment, with nice people and good service. The bar and dining area were very comfortable. Nice sized rooms and good showers. Coffee and Tea making facilities as well. The boat cruise provided by the lodge along the Chobe River was also terrific -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen255114
Management response:

Thank you for your review of Thebe River Safaris. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back should you ever find yourself back in Kasane.

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
4.4 km away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
1,020 reviews
2.3 km away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
134.7 km away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kasane
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kasane
399 reviews
4.3 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
104 reviews
5.7 km away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#8 of 20 in Kasane
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THEBE RIVER LODGE FACILITIES Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include Twin Room and Family Room accommodation in addition to Camping Facilities. All guests at Thebe River Lodge have access to our Spacious Dining Area and the Bush Bar and a pool to soak in the Botswana Sun. Thebe River Lodge offers an Activity Centre where you can book a variety of activities on offer in the region and transfers to all the regional Airports and towns. Thebe River Restaurant offers the chance to unwind after a long, hot day of exploring the Chobe National Park or after arriving from a distant destination or just anytime you feel like cold drinks, good food and varied company in the rustic restaurant and bar area overlooking the placid Chobe River. Guests can enjoy a fine meal or drinks from the bar and take a swim in the inviting pool if the weather gets hot which it does often in Kasane. Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include; - Lodge Rooms - Camping Sites - Restaurant - Bar and Pool area - BBQ Facilities - Activity & Safari Centre ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thebe River Lodge

Address: Main Road, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Thebe River Hotel Kasane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thebe River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Thebe River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms surround and quiet courtyard so one room is not better than another.”
 of 5 bubbles widowtallan, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, plus they have separate camp grounds if you really want to rough it and bring your own tent.”
  • View of the Courtyard
 of 5 bubbles alethearobinson1, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Campsite at riverfront seem still to be the nicest ones...”
 of 5 bubbles 972evaj, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Not room 15, it was below average.”
 of 5 bubbles AttilaArrow, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“did not stay in the rooms but the camp site was clean and tidy.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneB57, 6 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5