We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Costaustralis

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Costaustralis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
New Jersey
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A good home base in Patagonia. Hotel is fine, not great. Very windy on the waterfront. Can walk to town easily. Great breakfast. Internet is weak, the lobby has the best service. Staff helpful in booking day trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
Englewood, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Waterfront location but still walking distance to restaurants etc. Good home base for Patagonia side trips. Rooms are good (not great), bottled water provided in the room (nice amenity) and hearty breakfast included with the room. Helpful front desk

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nava1203
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thanks a lot for writting and all your comments. Thanks for these words " Good home base ". All the best. Gema Estrada.

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has a great location and that's about it. We had a reservation for a triple room with sea view. Being a couple with a kid, we expected a double bed and a single bed; we found three single beds arranged in a row along the same wall. Overall, the room looked like a dorm (we have photos). No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGPO
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Alessandra: Thank you very much for writing and for your comments. You met me on December 31st, after I heard about your complaint and I personed myself at the hotel to talk to you. As we informed you in your day the problem with your room came directly from the agency that made your reservation Since we never inform...

Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location but the rooms are showing their age. We ordered food at the restaurant because we were too tired to go elsewhere in Puerto Natales. This was a mistake - the food and service are also only average. There are better options available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank --D--UK--70--
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear: Thanks for writing to us and leaving us your comments all of them allow us to improve every day to be better. All the best. Gema Estrada.

Anaheim, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we only had one night here. We did not get to take full advantage of this place. We got in late at night and had a bite in the bar.The food was so so. Our room was also just average.But the setting where the hotel is is just incredible! I really want to come back to Puerto Natales.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsbof3
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear: Thank you for writing to us and we felt that the food service was not as expected. If you decide to return to Puerto Natales, come to the hotel to receive you again. All the best. Gema Estrada.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a 8 people reservation , We had an agile reception due to we had arrived late (flight delay) and they was attentive to have bedrooms ready to don't miss the first tour that day. Comfortable bed, bathrooms clean, beautiful view from the de room to the sea , we loved it . Very coordinated touristic operation , they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther O
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear Esther:: Thank you very much for all your comments with details of how we are and how we welcome people. All your comments will be given to all our staff. Best Regards. Gema Estrada.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here twice while taking friends & family to visit the Torres del Paine. Both stays were very pleasant. The decor is elegant, and makes a cozy refuge to relax in after exploring the nearby wilderness. Short walking distance to cafes, shops, and other attractions in the town. The lounge/bar is very comfortable, and I really liked the calafate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJM3
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your words. We are within walking distance of the city, so it is easy to get to anywhere. Thanks for your "lovely" towards our sour calafate. Legend has it that everyone who takes Calafate returns. Here we wait for you. Best regards, Gema Estrada.

Glorieta, NM USA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a sister hotel of the Cabo de Horns and equally as good. Easy to get around town. We had no trouble with restaurant service and the food was good. The rooms were clean and nice. It was convenient to shopping, within walking distance. The service was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saildancer0711
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing. Actually we are in a privileged location facing the sea and our views are beautiful. Thank you for your words. All the best. Gema Estrada.

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night here while traveling between Torres del Paine and Punta Arenas. The hotel is adjacent to the waterfront so it affords some nice views. We found the room to be good our view was of the waterfront which we liked. The only problem that we had was that the safe did not operate properly and we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radmrjg
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear: Thank you very much for writing to us and leaving your comments. It is good to always know that we are failing to correct it and that the stay of our guests is totally pleasant. A cordial greeting. Hotel Costa Australis.

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Relaxed but classy. Any place with a puzzle and map room for its guests gets my vote. And these are next to a spacious warm lobby overlooking cold and windy Lost Hope fjord. (Wish I knew how that name came about...) must mention the resto, too. Upscale and tasty (though with the Chilean tendency to under cook beef). Soups are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
Gema E, Gerente at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review

Dear Nail: Thank you for all your good comments about our spaces and especially for our map room. By the name of Seno ultima Esperanza is a very nice Chilean history that we recommend you to read. All the best. Gema Estrada.

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (251)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Natales hotels
1.0 km away
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
Weskar Patagonian Lodge
#3 of 26 in Puerto Natales
479 reviews
2.7 km away
Remota
Remota
#2 of 26 in Puerto Natales
353 reviews
0.2 km away
Noi Indigo Patagonia
Noi Indigo Patagonia
#7 of 26 in Puerto Natales
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
El Muelle Hotel Boutique
#8 of 26 in Puerto Natales
52 reviews
4.2 km away
The Singular Patagonia
The Singular Patagonia
#1 of 26 in Puerto Natales
584 reviews
2.8 km away
Altiplanico Sur
Altiplanico Sur
#4 of 26 in Puerto Natales
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Facing the fjord of Last Hope, Hotel Costaustralis stands out for its traditional building land marking the entrance of the city of Puerto Natales. Inside, it houses the history and traditions of the area with its warm, personalized service along with its sober and elegant decor accented by the great presence of local pieces. Hotel Costaustralis boasts 110 comfortable rooms designed to provide total relaxation. They face an incredible sea view with the Patagonian Mountain in the background as well as first class facilities like full set of pillows, standalone desktop, LCD TV, bathroom full equipped and free wifi. The Hotel also offers a high-level food service. The kitchen abounds with typical food of the region, where you can taste the delicious Magellan Crab in his restaurant or a typical Calafate Sour at the bar. The Hotel CostAustralis' experience lets you live the Patagonia from its roots. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Price Range: $139 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Natales
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Costaustralis staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Costaustralis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“water view if available”
 of 5 bubbles Nava1203, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you really must sleep here, try to get a corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles AGPO, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere wlse”
 of 5 bubbles davidmN4646UT, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for view to the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles Maricarmen55, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good place for an afternoon drink.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahgai, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay