We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Hostel Mamallena

    Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$26
          View Deal
          Traveller (95)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (4)
          El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
          1,464 reviews
          #2 of 179 Speciality lodging in Cartagena
           
          Mucura Club Hotel
          58 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Isla Mucura
           
          Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
          77 reviews
          #1 of 179 Speciality lodging in Cartagena
           
          Punta Faro
          493 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Isla Mucura
           
          Overview
          • Excellent49%
          • Very good32%
          • Average13%
          • Poor4%
          • Terrible2%
          Travellers talk about
          “private room” (43 reviews)
          “air con” (41 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Breakfast included
          Bar/Lounge
          Laundry Service
          Free Parking
          Pool
          Restaurant
          Fitness centre
          All hotel details
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
          1,464 reviews
          #2 of 179 Speciality lodging in Cartagena
           
          Mucura Club Hotel
          58 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Isla Mucura
           
          Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
          77 reviews
          #1 of 179 Speciality lodging in Cartagena
           
          Punta Faro
          493 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Isla Mucura
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (495)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          • More languages
          There are newer reviews for Hostel Mamallena See the most recent reviews

          51 - 55 of 362 reviews

          Reviewed 13 August 2016

          I loved this Hostel! The owner is super helpful, friendly and welcoming. Having stayed at multiple hostels in Cartagena, I would 100% reccomend Mamallena to anyone. It is located in a great area, which was great for exploring the city.

          Thank Carlo M
          Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

          Despite the owner being helpful and friendly, this hostel did very much disappoint. We may have just visited on an unlucky week however, on one of our nights a stranger from the street strolled in and went into every room on the top floor of...More

          Thank Tash A
          Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostel MamallenaResponded 16 August 2016

          Its a shame to get a review like this. These girls stayed with us for 5 days, and I thought we had a pretty good rapport. We spoke quite a few times and they had a great stay, as evidenced by the very late nights...More

          Reviewed 1 August 2016

          This place is not for light sleepers due mostly to the nearby bars. If you get the dorm next to the street, prepare for one of the louder nights you'll experience in a hostel. On the other hand, I was so tired at the end...More

          Thank ExtraUnderwear
          Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

          We arrived here after getting in on the boat from Panama, and despite having very little space left the owner shuffled things around for us and gave us dorm prices for sharing a private room. The aircon was excellent and very needed in Cartagena, and...More

          Thank LucyQA
          Reviewed 25 July 2016

          Hostel was pretty loud until late at night, even with the quiet hours after a certain point. Pretty well located (10-15 min walk to old town). Wifi was decent. A super simple breakfast (a pancake and coffee was included)...could have been a little better. I...More

          Thank Melanie S
          Response from Casa762, Owner at Hostel MamallenaResponded 16 August 2016

          I'm sorry to hear that you felt that way about the staff, we dont aim for our guests that feel that way. that said we are quite a busy hostel and it does get difficult to deal with so many people at the same time....More

          El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
          1,464 reviews
          #2 of 179 Speciality lodging in Cartagena
           
          Mucura Club Hotel
          58 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Isla Mucura
           
          Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
          77 reviews
          #1 of 179 Speciality lodging in Cartagena
           
          Punta Faro
          493 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Isla Mucura
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Breakfast included
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Laundry Service
          • Things to do
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$13 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Number of rooms
          • 7
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • Colombia >
          • Bolivar Department >
          • Cartagena District >
          • Cartagena
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (95)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (4)
          Hotel & Grounds (89)
          Family and Play Areas (5)
          Bathroom (1)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Restaurante Diegolandia
          5 reviews
          27.47 km away
          Pescaderia y Restaurante Pesecar
          39 reviews
          43.61 km away
          Restaurante El Laguito
          6 reviews
          39.76 km away
          Playa Surf
          5 reviews
          49.99 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Orla de Tolu
          20 reviews
          27.64 km away
          Playa Dulce
          24 reviews
          46.60 km away
          Aviario Nacional de Colombia
          184 reviews
          49.33 km away
          Mercado Publico de Santa Cruz de Lorica
          14 reviews
          61.46 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          NEWYORKstevenk
          Can you control the ac or it is on at all times? I want a room with a private bathroom. Does the private bathroom have its own sink and toilet and shower.? Can you bring a woman overnight or is it extra charge ? Anything negative about this place ? Any problems with smoke from people smoking inside ? thank you
          27 January 2016|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from Cesar V | Reviewed this property |
          The black nomad is right on. Say hi to Leo who stands outside the hostel entrance door at night selling "cigarettes".
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Number 5 was good for internet connection but noisy."
          Read review
          "Ground floor is the loudest"
          Read review
          "There may be fewer customers on weekdays than at weekends."
          Read review
          "Back of courtyard"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing