We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Balcones de Venecia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Balcones de Venecia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a modern, safe and well run bed and breakfast in a good location and at a reasonable price, the Balcones de Venecia is a great choice. During Spanish colonial times Cartagena was an island surrounded by a wall, which could be approached by land only through a bridge from another island to the south. That island, called Getsemani, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes Estimado cliente, es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We staid 4 nights here and we really liked it. Hostel is located in Gestemani, which was my favourite part of Cartagena. The rooms are clean and decent size. They have private rooms (double and single) as well as tripple and bigger( I haven't seem these though). Proper breakfast is included in the price. They don't have warm water, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review

Good afternoon Dear customer, is for us a pleasure reading your comments. Undoubtedly, comments like yours encourage us to continue working hard so that the customer experience as you are enjoyable in the hostel. We love being able to get back in our establishment.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This is an odd hotel. The location is excellent for access to the historical centre and local restaurants. The rooms back directly onto reception and the breakfast room so you are always woken by the morning breakfast preparations. The bathrooms also back onto the breakfast area but with only a wall and no ceiling separating them! As you might expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamDavies83
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review

Days good Dear Customer, We appreciate your opinion calling our service, unfortunately their experience details that were not welcome in our hotel were evident. We consider a valuable contribution these details, for this reason we are committed to improve to provide a better service next stay. Have a good day!!!!

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located well for restaurants and going into the historic centre. However, we had quite a negative experience here. Our room adjoined the breakfast room and reception so there was noise all day long, as a previous reviewer said, we could even hear eggs being broken at breakfast time, never mind chatter all day long from 6 am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review

Days good Dear Customer, We appreciate your opinion calling our service, unfortunately their experience details that were not welcome in our hotel were evident. We consider a valuable contribution these details, for this reason we are committed to improve to provide a better service next stay. Have a good day!!!!

Louth
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The bedrooms are off the reception area. My room was opposite the reception desk, with one wall onto the kitchen/breakfast area. Sound insulation was terrible, you could hear everything going on outside the room, down to the sound of eggs being broken to make breakfasts. Noise (from staff) started around 6am when they started to get breakfast ready and continued...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou L
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenos Dias Estimado cliente, agradecemos su opinión calificando nuestro servicio, desafortunadamente en su experiencia se evidenciaron detalles que no fueron...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The room was small but good. We had our own balcony with table and chair. Although shower had no hot water, we didn't mind because Cartagena is very hot and humid. Reservation said we would have a choice of king bed or two single beds but they had only one queen bed in the room. They set up another single...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chetan P
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes Estimado cliente, es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan...

Santa Barbara
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

Nice secure place near both the loud but lively calle media Luna area and the old town, which is 5-10 minutes away. Great security, gate bars anyone except guests from entering. Also a safe in room and a lockable cupboard. AC is good, secret is to press the turbo button and it will amp right up. TV has lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanna C
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenos Días. Estimada Deanna es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this B&B for the first 3 nights of our stay in Cartagena. The location is convenient to walk to the walled city day and night and the staff will tell you which street is safe to walk on after dark. The breakfast was quite nice with juice, eggs the way you like, bread and coffee in their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Youmi P
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenos Dias Estimada cliente, es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My daughter and I stayed ten nights recently while she was in language school in the centro historico district. The hotel is small and charming with staff that treated us with kindness and understanding. While my daughter is fluent in spanish, I am not, and I counted on her to communicate with the staff. I did not hear any English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salsacher
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas Tardes Estimados Clientes Es para nosotros un placer leer sus comentarios. Sin duda, comentarios como el suyo nos alientan...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Balcones de Venecia is a small hotel, which gives it a homey feel. It is extremely well located: a 5-min walk to the old center. There are plenty of cheap and yummy food options nearby (the rooftop bar across the street was very nice). We had a clean room with balcony, a big bed and air con. The breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nan0upil0u
hotel balcones d, Gerente at Balcones de Venecia, responded to this review

Thank you very much your opinion esmuy important to us. It is a pleasure to have met and filled all expectations. Our staff will be happy to serve you in your next stay .

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#59 of 146 in Cartagena
131 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Casa Victoria
Hostal Casa Victoria
#37 of 154 in Cartagena
62 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal 1811
Hostal 1811
#22 of 141 in Cartagena
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Puerto De Manga
Hotel Puerto De Manga
#62 of 154 in Cartagena
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
Hotel Casa de la Trinidad
#8 of 154 in Cartagena
145 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Sweety
Casa Sweety
#35 of 154 in Cartagena
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Balcones de Venecia

Address: Calle Tripita y Media Ndeg 31-52, Cartagena 130015, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: $50 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balcones de Venecia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balcones de Venecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balcones de Venecia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Balcones de Venecia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a quiet room you may want to ask to stay in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles RonB943, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles LouL888, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Salsacher, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay