We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,004: English reviews
New City
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They said velet parking was full and we need to use metered parking on the street. Restaurant was closed no advanced notice. Leak in room over top our belonging. TV remote didn't work. The front desk wasn't very helpful. Nothing was done to adjust the bill. We were also told that room was known to have a leak in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juds2017
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to disappoint you. During the recent nor'easter we did have some minor room leaks. We believed we addressed them all soon after. However, it is clear that we missed the one in your room. We apologize that we caused this inconvenience to you. Please contact us so we can address your concerns.

Oakhurst
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the price I paid for a room I was not pleased at all. It is an older hotel. Our sink was clogged and the ice machine not working on our floor. Bed not too comfortable, very hard. Friendly staff and good location are really the only positives. Self parking is a nightmare.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevepR78IO
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your concerns are very important to us. We will review the items you have brought to our attention. We promise to make the necessary corections.

Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

no blankets??? only a crinkly noisy matress cover? never been to a hotel that has no blankets front desk sent me across the street for breakfast... in the brutal cold, and they don't even serve breakfast til 11...needs more knowledge of things...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shari S
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed in your visit. Your comments are important to us and we will use them to see we make improvements. We do plan to mbegin breakfast service in the near future.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a mixed review of this hotel. The main pros are the location and the common areas of the hotel. The main con was the cleanliness of our room. We came for a wedding. While the venue is nice, we felt that they were not ready with their rooms for the big crowd that came. 1) When we got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimpleTraveler1
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed. Your comments and concerns are important to us. I will that these items are addressed. They are easily correctable.

Blairstown, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Berkeley is a wonderful friendly hotel. The staff is exceptional and accomodating. Theo and Angeles to name just a few are professional and courteous. The beauty and history of the hotel makes it stand above the rest. Arriving stressed and tired, leaving rested and comfortable. I am a regular at the Berkeley and feels like a second home when...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison L L
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and wonderful review! It is so nice when our guests take the time to recognize our special and talented team. We work very hard to make sure our guests feel at home. Your kindness is very much appreciated!

Englewood, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I arrived at the Berkeley with European friends, we were greeted by bellman Theo Brown. Theo seemed genuinely happy to meet us and especially to welcome our overseas guests; he was as thrilled as we were when we saw our drop-dead-gorgeous ocean views. He had a can-do attitude and a sense of pride as he hoisted an enormous amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kka2014
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very blessed to have a great team, including Theo who inspires us all. Your compliments are the fuel to our passion to do all we can for our guests...

Wuustwezel
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The people, staff at the frontdesk are willing to help you out at anytime with no mather what. The rooms are clean, comfortable and lots of space. Thank you for the upgrade and thanks to Theo for helping us with the lugage! Will be back next year like any year :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueBossaers
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your self. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

New York
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Not bad but not great. Staff was nice. The building was interesting. Rooms, felt and looked kind of neglected. Plugs didn't work. Thin walls. Could hear everything in all rooms around us and in hallway. As if they were in our room. But it was comfortable nonetheless. Once again, staff was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our team works very hard to see that every guest has a great stay with us. Your feedback is very important and we will see that your concernes are addressed.

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I, and our closest 150 friends, just got married at the Berkeley. From Theo at the door when we arrived to Robin at last call at the hotel bar, the staff was great. The main ballroom at the Berkeley is almost a hundred years old and other than the soundtrack, we felt like we were sharing a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review! It was an honor to be part of your special day. We truly do appreciate the recognition of our team. Please come back and celebrate many anniversaries to come. Congratulations!

Toms River
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The outside looks better then the rooms themselves. Lobby looks great, room is not worth the price. Only one working light, no working TV. Ants on bathroom floor. Valet was great. Would not have to stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicholascA7050CW
Mike T, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed. I will personally look into your concerns regarding your guest room. I can assure you these will be corrected.

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.3 km away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
185 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
282 reviews
8.8 km away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
65 reviews
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
305 reviews
9.1 km away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Price Range: $159 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
over a year ago
9 months ago
Hudson, New York
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean-view rooms are worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles dmanuel7126, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Fourth floor is pet friendly. Yes, pet friendly. As in bring your pet. Great to know!”
 of 5 bubbles FlavaFlav, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront rooms on the higher floors provide the best sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles ritaw406, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach view Is worth it”
 of 5 bubbles nickhI5995IQ, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Its pet friendly on the 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles rotololaw, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5