We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Chelsea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Chelsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,080 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,038: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Chelsea hotel was okay, but our bathroom had some issues. The wall paper bubbled in several locations and mold was clearly visible. We had a Luxe King Ocean View (Not much an ocean view), but we would have been fine with a bay view (Cheaper rate). I would suggest going to the hotel in the warmer months because one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FloresE
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear FloresE, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please message us your room number through TA as we would like to address the room concerns you noted as soon as possible and speak with your directly about your stay. Kind regards, The Chelsea Management Team

Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

While we only paid $115 for a penthouse room, I'm not sure it was worth even that. Upon check in we went up to our room. The wallpaper was peeling, couch sunken, and toilet paper holder falling off the wall. A walk in shower seems like it should be modern until you notice the ancient PLASTIC shower head mounted low...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acelia14h
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Acelia14h, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated the opportunity to speak with you firsthand today so that we could take the necessary action to address the issues noted here. Acelia14h, thank you for being our guest, we’re continually updating and improving the property, we know you will be pleased on your next stay...

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Hotel room wasn't clean and the staff wasn't that friendly. Our bathroom water pressure was very weak. Valet parking took 30 mins to retrieve the car on Saturday afternoon. Best part of the trip was the breakfast spot. Decent value though since I paid less than 100 bucks for Friday night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ralee18
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Ralee18, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA. We are sorry to read you were not pleased during your stay with us. Please message us through TA so that we can discuss your concerns directly as we do believe in making situations right. Warmest regards, The Chelsea Management Team

Bryans Road, Maryland
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Booked an overnight stay at this hotel in January 2013. Went to AC to see a comedy show and enjoy the sights. Very busy check-in, valet parking is strongly urged. front desk staff was very pleasant and provided information to help make the stay more enjoyable. Regretfully, one of the main elevators was not working, adding to the seemingly long...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tryto82
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear tryto82, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TA. We are thrilled to read that you had a fun weekend stay with us! Thank you for your honest comments about the cleanliness and condition of the room. We couldn’t agree more, our beds are especially nice and comfy. As for location, you’re right,...

Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I once again stayed at the Chelsea the weekend of February 16th/17th. I've always liked the Chelsea because I expect more out of my stay than just a room with a bed. I enjoy their restaurant and club. Neither were open, to my surprise, during my President's weekend stay. Check in was listed at 3pm. I arrived at 3pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patrick58
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Patrick58, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TA. We love repeat guests and your experience is important to us. Please message us via TripAdvisor; we’d love the chance to speak with directly. It is important for us to know what booking engine you used to confirm your stay. Our website and confirmations note a...

New Jersey
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel was nice, it could use some paint touch ups because some of the walls near the elevator were pretty beat up. Our room was very comfortable, the bed was AMAZING. I didn’t think I would be impressed with the food from the hotel, but the Telipztsky Diner (not sure if I spelled it right) was delicious!!! We decided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rakia1012
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Thanks Rakia1012!! We’re pleased to read you found your room to be very comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that bed is amazing! Thank you for commenting on how impressed you were with the food in our restaurant Teplitzky’s, they do a fine job and will be thrilled to hear how happy you were with...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I stay over 1 night to attend an event on the Boardwalk. Was not interested in casino hotel for most part. Took advantage of the Rise & Shine package with breakfast at Teplitzky's and had room in the Tower. No issues with check in or out or the room. Breakfast was excellent and plenty - they were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TNT4240
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear TNT4240, We are so happy to see you had such a great experience with us, thank you for all the wonderful comments. Boardwalk Hall has an outstanding schedule of events for 2013 and our location makes for an easy ten minute walk. Should you find yourself returning to Atlantic City, we hope you will make the Chelsea your home....

philadelphia
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Went there with a group of girls - The hotel is a bit worn - which I found surprising as it is relatively new. Valet excellent as this is not in the greatest neighborhood. The Spa is FABULOUS. We all got massages and we all raved. The pool and steam room are great as well. Food at Teplitsky's was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank timecher
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear timecher, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We couldn’t be happier to read of your Sea Spa experience. We are proud to offer the only coed Jacuzzi, steam and sauna solarium in Atlantic City. The Sea Spa is available to non-hotel guests for a fee as you noted. While our property is only...

Penna
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the winter. Felt the hotel was so-so.. Nothing about the service or the hotel itself was really noteworthy. The price was right and it was close enough for walking to a show in town but I wasn't wowed on any level. A perfectly clean room to sleep in for a night or two but nothing special. One recommendation...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jen B
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Jen B, Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and most importantly for staying with us. We are pleased that you found your guestroom perfectly cleaned and the hotel location to be a good one for you. We do hope you give us another try; it is our wish to WOW you on your next stay with us! Warmest...

New Jersey
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here over the President's Day weekend to attend a concert at the Borgata. Compared to the $600 suite that was still available at the Borgata, we opted for the Chelsea. The photos online were cute, there was no casino onsite (a huge plus) and really all we needed was a bed. Thankfully, that bed was super inviting and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NotUrTypicalChick
ExecOffice01, Manager at The Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear NotUrTypicalChick, Thank you for your review here on TA. We appreciate your comments about how friendly our staff was and that you felt the view from your room was pretty. We are pleased to partner with other booking sites, as this is how some guests find us for the first time. We do our best to respond to comments...

699 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (685)
Viewed
Room/Suite (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (205)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
4.0 km away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#6 of 50 in Atlantic City
14,601 reviews
3.2 km away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
3,580 reviews
1.1 km away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 50 in Atlantic City
8,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.4 km away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#8 of 50 in Atlantic City
7,089 reviews
2.2 km away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Chelsea

Address: 111 South Chelsea Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Price Range: $197 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Chelsea Atlantic City
Chelsea Hotel Atlantic City
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chelsea staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Browns Mills, New Jersey
over a year ago
3 months ago
7 months ago
10 days ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from The Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great view, nice lobby, everything else is underwhelming”
 of 5 bubbles 462nataliab, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“elevators take forever. so stay on a low level if you are in patient.”
 of 5 bubbles noelaniw, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“19th floor great for views, but beware of penthouse above. Paper thin ceiling made for a SLEEPLESS night!”
 of 5 bubbles T8601LIashleyp, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the right & rear side of the elevator have views of the pool area and are unobstructed. Other side faces building”
 of 5 bubbles L3094ELmiked, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views, quiet, close to the boardwalk and the Tropicana.”
  • Room 1511 view was breathtaking!
 of 5 bubbles loreens864, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5