We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Opatija

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Opatija
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Opatija
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Very old hotel room, there was an awful smell in the room from the drainage. Half of the rooms has A/C half doesn't, guess what ours did not have. aInternet available in all public spaces means it's only available in front of the reception and also there is very bad quality. Neither in the restaurant is not available. The WC...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoltan m
CustomerRelationsOHM, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Zoltan m, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next...

Topolcany, Slovakia
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I visited this hotel already 8 times and for sure I will come back,but not during highest season July-August. The reasons are 2. First- the hotel is very crowdy and noisy. Second- the breakfast are very poor,variety of food is smaller than in other months during the year,many things are missing as cheese,butter,sausages,bacon. Big dissapointment. And at the end tha...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Tom T, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us and for being our loyal guest for all these years. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection as we...

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Visited this lovely old hotel in spring this year and was pleasently surprised considering reviews I read before I got there. The park surrounding hotel is quite beautiful, great for resting and meditating. Hotel itself is situated right in the center of Opatija, a few steps away from the main bus stop. From what I could see, there is enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Girasole1977
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Girasole1977, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular service...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Went there. Checked in. Went to the rooms and shock. Everything it looked so old and dirty. Nothing like in the pictures, nothing! The bathrooms were very small and looked like somebody was using them from 1000 years. I don't even want to mention the rooms. When we went down to check out and cancel our whole booking(the same day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miruna D
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Miruna D, Dear anusheh123, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija I would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Bristol Hotel Opatija or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, which are both four stars hotels and are therefore maybe...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The Hotel Opatija is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and main shopping street. Overall a good value and good all-round experience. Rooms are OK, with an efficient aircon unit. No fridge. Nice balcony overlooking the sea. WiFi does not work in rooms, but is VG in public spaces. The pool is marvellous, quite a good size,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Paul Q, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular...

Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Two star hotel with two star facilities, but in fairness it does not claim any more. Advisable to go for the newer extension which has air con and 10euro per night extra for balcony with sea view makes a difference. Also on site parking (which is necessary) is extra, (15euro per night in July). No kettle in room, and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dafyddwynford
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear dafyddwynford, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you consider our hotel location great and staff excellent. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our...

Reviewed 18 July 2016

Location was normal. 500 meters from the beach. The hotel was very old and dirty. Inside the hotel there was no air conditioning. Very hot oil. The bathroom was old-fashioned toilet bowl. Breakfast was not the best. indoor pool was also a separate money. Already paid a lot of property. A complete waste of money.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Taavi K
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Taavi K, thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent stay with us. It is our job to make Your stay as comfortable as possible. We can assure You that our guests are extremely satisfied with our restaurant offer especially with our breakfast selection and we have guests coming in from all the corners of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

The hotel is beautiful from the outside, however, the rooms do not reflect the external beauty of the hotel. I stayed with 2 people in a room, so 3 beds were almost on top of each other - I could only get on my bed from the end, seeing as I couldn't walk around the sides of the bed as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank summertraveller247
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear anusheh123, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. For your next stay in Opatija I would kindly suggest to book one of our sister hotels Bristol Hotel Opatija or Astoria Designhotel Opatija, which are both four stars hotels with an aircondition in all rooms and...

Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We was in this Hotel OPATIJA on early spring 2015 and we were not happy with room accommodation and TV service that is simply outdated old CRT TV that is 20 years old small screen and antenna signal with snow all over the screen and just some local channels to watch posted on some shelf in the room. You have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TripFreak666
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear TripFreak666, thank You for Your review. We are really sorry to hear that You felt uncomfortable during You stay in our hotel. I do hope that You were aware when booking our hotel, You booked a 2 star hotel and even though we have only 2 stars, everything in our hotel is according to standards. For your next stay...

Dubrovnik, Croatia
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful I like the way it was designed, it is near everything you need, good position and well prices, very, very, very good food in restaurant, nice atmosphere, amazing garden in front of the hotel Only the way hotel was built makes it amazing

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cuky420
managerOpatija, Customer Relations at Hotel Opatija, responded to this review

Dear Cuky420, thank You for taking the time to provide us with your review and for allowing us to host You during your recent stay in Opatija. We are delighted to read your feedback and learn You had a wonderful experience with us and that You enjoyed our accommodation. We invest a lot of effort in providing a spectacular service...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
7:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opatija hotels
0.8 km away
Smart Selection Hotel Istra
0.5 km away
Hotel Bristol by OHM Group
0.3 km away
Smart Selection Hotel Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Astoria by OHM Group
0.8 km away
Grand Hotel Adriatic
Grand Hotel Adriatic
#10 of 31 in Opatija
560 reviews
1.1 km away
Remisens Premium Hotel Ambasador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Opatija, just a few steps from the Lungomare seaside promenade, this hotel offers an unforgettable stay at an excellent price/performance ratio. On the hotel terrace, one of the largest and most beautiful in Opatija, surrounded by oasis of greenery, the guest can enjoy an unforgettable combination of Mediterranean flair and refreshing delicacies. The Hotel Opatija’s sports and leisure offer includes: own tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, sauna and massages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Opatija

Address: Trg Vladimira Gortana 2/1, Opatija 51410, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Opatija
Price Range: $70 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opatija 2*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Opatija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Opatija
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Opatija staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Opatija staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with seaside view! :)”
 of 5 bubbles Girasole1977, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“With balcony overlooking the sea - very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulQ492, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Newer extension with sea view worth it”
 of 5 bubbles dafyddwynford, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont pick 3 stars rooms it is simply terrible and not worth money”
  • 3 star room with two beds...poor ambience with old TV
  • 3 star bathroom...no need for further comment
  • This is balcony view from the third floor. You can see parking lot.
  • This is balcony view from the third floor. You can see sea, it is about 0,3 miles from hotel
 of 5 bubbles TripFreak666, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“High floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles johnmI9183UC, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5