We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Iguana Mar y Sol

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Casa Iguana Mar y Sol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Iguana Mar y Sol
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Tobago
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We spent 2 great nights at Casa Iguana, looking out from the rooftop lounge during the evenings, and walking to the nearby cafes and beaches. Luis cooked us breakfast; washed our clothes; helped us arrange a day tour; and even after we had checked out, he came biking down to the docks with a charger that we had forgotten in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CamilleBaker
spiralstaircase, Owner at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Dear Camille, Thank you very much for the nice review. We do not "ask" for reviews, and therefore every one is precious and completely voluntary. As is usually the case, Luis reported to me that you were fun guests to have at our property. I (the English speaker) will be there on the island next week, for several months. I...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We loved our stay at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol! The owner Luis and his sister were wonderful. They made us an amazing breakfast every morning and made sure we had everything we needed to make our stay more comfortable. The house is absolutely stunning with amazing views. It is also in a great and quiet location. I highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanja W
spiralstaircase, Owner at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Dear Tanja and D., Thank you so very much for your kind words. Also thank you for expending the extra effort to search us out and contact me to make and fine - tune your reservation. Luis reported to me that you two were delightful and fun guests to have. I was in the US visiting my grandson. The majority...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for just two nights - but we loved every moment. Luis was so accommodating, not to mention cooked us a delicious breakfast each day served with coffee made from beans roasted on site. There is no greater smell than freshly roasted coffee beans! We had a view of the ocean from our room and loved all the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shilng
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

We loved staying here. American ex-pat Patricia and Ecuadorian Luis know how to run a lovely B and B. The rooms are beautifully appointed with furniture made by Luis. Patricia ' s hand is son everywhere in the beautiful design of the Casa. Seeing a sunset from the room or the winding staircase is breath taking. Breakfast is cooked by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dottie b
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Great location to walk to town and to the beach. Owners are very friendly and rooms were very nice, and compared to other options available on San Cristobal, I would recommend staying here and would do so again. The rooftop for sunset was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

My son set the itinerary and made all the reservations for this vacation to the Galapagos. All he would tell us was try not to be too disappointed in the accommodations, as they would not be of the normal caliber we were used to while traveling. Expecting the worst, we were very pleasantly surprised when our guide Gina delivered us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
spiralstaircase, Owner at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Dear M. (and family), Thank you for the lovely words. I guess I have a lesson to learn; just because a nice guest appears in the "sala"/ living room area....does NOT mean I am invited to use their precious internet time to chat in English. But actually it was kind of YOUR FAULT. You have a big personality, a HUGE...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Sept 27-28 We met our guide Darwin and his wife Gina at the San Cristobal airport. We were passengers iin one mini-van while our luggage went with Gina's truck. At the B & B, Luis Mendoza greeted us with his limited English. His wife Patricia was away on the mainland, but he managed the inn well and easily interacted with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank alohatripper
Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We arrived early morning after a 4 days cruise and we had a so warm welcome from Patricia and Luis that we immediatly felt being home:they offered a nice breakfast with the organic coffee from Luis plantation.We had the Flamingo room on the top floor it was huge:beautiful decoration,all is designed to give you the perfect relaxing time during your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurent503
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We can't say enough good things about our stay here. Patricia and Luis are the perfect hosts - ready to take care of your every need - fresh drinking water in the mini fridge in your room when you arrive, beach towels for your excursions, maps of the island, suggestions for restaurants and tours, and help with arranging your tours....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank conbauer
spiralstaircase, Owner at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol, responded to this review

Dear family, Thank you (paernts) for forgiving my unapproved room "upgrade" which was neither approved nor desired. I will not make that mistake again. The offspring stayed in the Tortuga suite. I hesitate to use the word "kids" because they were so smart and mature. Imagine debating politics, environmental issues, future plans with the children of the family. It was...

Sunset Beach
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

I can't say enough about how completely awesome this bed and breakfast is! From the second I inquired about reservations and things to see on the island Patricia (the wonderful kind owner) was so helpful and honest about things to see and do. I wasn't even sure if I was going to stay at her establishment but she didn't care...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank reneagee

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
85 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
79 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Playa Mann Galapagos
Casa Playa Mann Galapagos
#2 of 14 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
190 reviews
0.7 km away
Galapagos Eco Friendly
Galapagos Eco Friendly
#1 of 14 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Casa Iguana Mar y Sol

Address: Barrio Playa de Oro, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Mar y Sol Hotel San Cristobal
Casa Iguana Mar y Sol San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Iguana Mar y Sol staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Atlantic City, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Iguana Mar y Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the top floor, theres a sick deck”
 of 5 bubbles 160elir, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite on the top floor was lovely with a beautiful view of the ocean and offered an abundant amount of space.”
 of 5 bubbles amyinquito, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms look to be excellent-a well designed hotel with the guest in mind completely throughout.”
 of 5 bubbles 831travelgirl, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“I would choose the Flamingo Suite on the top floor it's exceptionally large but I'm sure the other rooms are equally comfortable and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles 4Christine, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Get the room with a king-sized bed--it has a sitting area as well.”
 of 5 bubbles Leslieloveswildlife, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5