We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Castro

Save
Share
Los Colonos Barrios Las Ninfas, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Hotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#23 of 26 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Castro Galapagos is located right in the center of Puerto Ayora - Santa Cruz Island most of our rooms have Bay view. Hotel Castro Galapagos offers 21 rooms for our guest. Single Rooms - Double Rooms - Twin Rooms - Triple Rooms - Quadruple Rooms or Family Rooms. Amenities : TV Cable, A/c, cold / hot water and WiFi. Swimming pool open all year round. Visit Galapagos Islands and OUR Hotel
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese
36Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 9
  • 11
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sarah S wrote a review May 2017
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
If you like having termite eggs above you bed, and wood chips falling on your face as you sleep, for the affordable cost of $150.00 a night, Hotel Castro is the place for you. With wasp nests, beetles, minimal wifi (none), no hot water, and ants in the rooms, this has been the WORST hotel experience I have ever had. The breakfast made me so sick that I threw up, and the broken toilets the wouldn't flush it down. The location is the ONLY benefit to this hotel, and if you speak Spainsh, perhaps the staff would be friendly. I moved my room THREE times because each room had something absolutely unsanitary about it. I would post picture of the bugs, but the Wifi is so awful here, I can't. DO NOT GO.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Unsanitary and expensive.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Cv O wrote a review Jan. 2017
4 contributions
Hotel price was more than 100$ per night witch in my opinion is not normal for this hotel . We ordered romantic surprise , we never saw it . (paid 110$) and never got that money back. Room was horrible, big hole in wall next to A/C , dirty floor, dirty bathroom, to have warm water need to wait at least 10 minutes,On the wall was a spider web. They charge 10% of service - but to be honest there is no any service, because girl who sits in reception can speak only spanish, no one who can help you with bags. There is no room service or something similar. When we wanted to speak to hotel owner what solutions we can have - she answered really rude and didn't wanted to help at all. Right now (after trip to galapagos ) trying to contact owner to get money back about this romantic surprise and she never pick up the call. Anyways really disappointed .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from hotelcastro2014, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Castro
Responded Mar. 7, 2017
Dear Sir Dario, Thank you for you feedback dear Sir. Whatever you paid was what you bought We adjusted the price for the room. Your reservation was for 10 days and you decided to leave before and We did not charge you for anything extra even tho the cancellation police was very clear .Very sorry to read your negative comments .We really work hard in our hotel. Best Regards. Cancellation Policy The guest will be charged 50% of the total price if they cancel after reservation and the total price if they cancel in the 30 days before arrival. Hotel Manager.
Read more
Mario_BusinessTravel wrote a review May 2016
Graz, Austria3 contributions
The hotel and the interior is very old fashioned. The technical stardards are not very good (open elecrical clamp boxes, holes in the wall at the A/C). The bed and the bath room was clean, but the floor was not. The personnel there is very friendly but not speaking english. The pool is ok, but does really not look like on the photos (as the rest of the hotel).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Roaming Jode wrote a review Dec. 2015
wiltshire565 contributions216 helpful votes
we only needed to stay here for one night thankfully. For the price it is very very tired and dated. It appears to have been last decorated somewhere in the 1980's but that is only our guess. Even the AC unit came off the ark! We had room 16 on the first floor and the wifi was hit and miss here The room was clean and so was the bedding. The beds were a little hard for my personal taste but i understand some people like them hard. The bathroom was definitely a throw back from the 70's or 80's (think avocado suite) but the shower did have plenty of hot water. The staff were lovely though and they really were the only redeeming feature of this hotel. They were very sweet and very helpful. Breakfast was ok also with nice fresh bread but the dining room is a very depressing place to sit and eat. If this hotel was updated it would be great as it is in the perfect location, as it stands I think it is very over priced and you could get better
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Bryan_Jody wrote a review Dec. 2015
Swindon, United Kingdom238 contributions86 helpful votes
This hotel is close to the harbour and the shops, a/c and hot water. But it is a very tired hotel and in desperate need of updating. It's a quite area of town, and the staff are helpful and friendly. There are plenty of other hotels for this price in the local area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Castro
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Castro?
Nearby attractions include Laguna las Ninfas (0.2 km), Malecon de Puerto Ayora (0.07 km), and Galería Exótico Ecuador (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Castro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Castro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Castro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Castro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Galapagos Deli, Bahía Mar Restaurant, and TJ Restaurant, Cocktail & Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Castro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Castro have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Castro offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Castro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.
Is Hotel Castro accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.