We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Fortaleza de Haro

Save
Share
Calle 7 y Av. Perimetral Barrio El Eden, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (5)

About

#8 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
La Fortaleza De Haro is a Hostel completely built with Basaltic lava Rocks and wood from Santa Cruz. It looks like an old Medieval Fort, designed by the Owner, Roberto Haro, one of the first Naturalist Trilingual Guides and Divemaster of the Galapagos Archipel. He also owns Galapagos Aquatours, one of the best Excursion Agencies of the Island. Situated next to the National Park, and 15 minutes walking from the Charles Darwin Scientific Station. The hostel attended personally by his wife Gianna Vallazza has 4 Rooms which can host a total of 13 People. All the rooms have private bathroom, hot water, air conditioning, cable tv and wi-fi. Moreover each room is decorated with the Artworks of Mr Haro, which gives a Unique aspect to this Enchanted place. Free access to the swimming pool, cleaning service and breakfast are included in the price. La Fortaleza De Haro is the perfect place for lonely travellers, families, couples and groups of friends!!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Snorkelling
Board games / puzzles
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
126Reviews8Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 24
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mauricio Arteaga wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
I’ll start off by saying that Roberto and Gianna were amazing hosts, from the moment we arrived at the hotel with 2 friends of mine, they were very kind and helpful when we asked them for recommendations on what to do on each of the 4 days we stayed at the hotel. The breakfast service was excellent and plenty to get us through the day until we could eat lunch. I loved the design of our room, we stayed at “Andromeda”, the bathroom had a window with view to the nature from the Galapagos National Park. The medieval design of the hotel makes it very unique and i would definitely stay in this hotel the next time i visit the islands.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Haro, Dueño at La Fortaleza de Haro
Responded Mar. 3, 2021
Our dear Guest and Friend Mauricio, it was a Privilege to host you and your friends in our Fort that is also yours now. We are honored by your words because it encourages us to see that our Guests enjoy what we make with Love and Care for all of you. Looking forward to host you again in a near future!
Read more
NicDix wrote a review Mar. 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed for 5 nights and were so well looked after by Roberto and Geanna. The room was very comfortable, with all you need for a comfy stay with good wifi, very hot water, comfy mattress. Breakfast was lovely. The pool was clean and refreshing for an end of day cool down. Geanna helped us with where to go including to eat and we went on their Bay Tour trip and loved it- great value at $35. Lovely little extras like access to suncream left by guests (its so expensive on the island). In summary a great location- very quiet but only 5 mins from the main drag.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza de Haro
Responded Mar. 4, 2020
Our dear friend Nicholas, We are so thankful that you appreciate and share your Experience with us. Its so Magic how people make Soul Connection, and I was just thinking of you guys today, because I was wondering how your sweet Sue continued with her Sunburn. We remember you both with Affection, and welcome you back to your Fort anytime you wish! Gianna and Roberto
Read more
Laura085 wrote a review Feb. 2020
Toronto, Canada37 contributions20 helpful votes
Gianna & Roberto are amazing hosts. They go above and beyond to ensure their guests are well catered for and attended to. The property is beautiful, you can see the passion, love and thought that has gone into making it, the beautiful castle it is today. The pool area is a great place to relax and cool down after a hot day, the whole family had fun in the pool. The breakfast was very good quality and substantial, served al fresco in their beautiful cafeteria. The walk into town is only an easy 8 minute walk where you will find plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops. Noting previous reviews have marked the property down, based on nearby construction, this was no longer an issue when we stayed. We would certainly recommend staying here and would like to thank Gianna and Roberto for taking such good care of us!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto Haro, Propietario at La Fortaleza de Haro
Responded Feb. 26, 2020
Dearest Laura and Family, We have no words to express our Gratitude for having enjoyed, and share with other people about your stay at our Fort, which now is also yours! As well we need to say that we were honored and privileged to host you 4. It is people like you who encourage us to continue with the same Love and Care for all those who choose to stay here. Abondant and Blessed hugs from Gianna and Roberto
Read more
artemis1 wrote a review Feb. 2020
Auchterarder, United Kingdom1,452 contributions165 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights after a 7 night cruise around the Galápagos Islands. Let me just say that if I had shown my husband a tent on dry land for 3 nights he would have been delighted, such was his nausea on board the boat trip, but that’s another story (divorce proceedings might take place if I try to involve a boat in any future holidays 😂). So, our little fortress was a welcome sight. We were greeted by Giana and sat and waited while our room was made ready. I gather this was because the previous guests were late to vacate their room but it wasn’t too much of a bother to us, we were happy just to sit outside and relax. Giana gave me some information on what to see and do in the area and had an excellent map. Unfortunately she only had the one copy and I failed to find anything as useful in other locations on town. Our room was the sun and moon room which was very spacious. We had an issue around our booking a few weeks before we arrived in that somehow our booking was “mislaid” and the room given to someone else. It got resolved but it does concern me that our booking wasn’t registered with them through Hotels.com. Glad I had made an inquiry before we got there, I would have been hugely unimpressed to find out they weren’t expecting us. The issue around the construction noise that the previous reviewer mentioned is no longer an issue (this was my query as I didn’t want to be having a racket all day), there is no work in the vicinity of the hotel that would disrupt you. There does appear to be work a few roads away so looks like this may be a general upgrade of either the roads or lighting, we didn’t get close enough to check. Our room itself was fine, nothing fancy. Nice to have the outdoor seating area where I sat of an afternoon while hubby had a snooze. Air con was too cold for me, I couldn’t adjust it to suit. Shower was hot and so lovely to shower while looking out to the nations park. Breakfast-nothing to write home about. First morning the croissants were a bit stale, much better the days after that. Scrambled eggs and a bit of simple fruit. I think the fruit could have been a bit more adventurous than banana chopped up with grapes or kiwi. Location, couldn’t ask for better. Easy walk into town, laundry (much needed) maybe 5 mins walk away. Filtered water available to fill up your bottles with. Pool, didn’t swim in it but did sit around it for an hour late afternoon one day. The first morning we were there, a bunch of folk from the Darwin foundation seemed to be using the pool for testing their equipment and I did think that was a bit off had we wanted to enjoy the pool. Thankfully we didn’t that day but there was no mention of it. All in all we were quite happy. Would I book there again? Perhaps not but I wouldn’t dissuade anyone from staying. Hotels on the island aren’t cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto H, Propietario at La Fortaleza de Haro
Responded Feb. 7, 2020
Dear Ailsa, We thank your opinion, specially the fact of saying the truth about the street construction. We just need to let you know that we cooperate with the Darwin Foundation for a few hours every certain months of the year, and only if nobody will use the pool those moments, as it happened indeed! Also remind you that you did have the Suite you booked, and I even wrote you asking at what time you would arrive, but didn´t get your answer. However we were waiting for you. We are pleased for the things you enjoyed! Gianna de Haro
Read more
MrPukster wrote a review Nov. 2019
18 contributions15 helpful votes
Woke to the sound of pneumatic drills and bulldozers and this continued until 9pm at night. Noise was so bad we had to spend the day away from the hotel. Requested a room away from the road but none available, requested a refund which was refused. Owner said there was nothing he could do but turned out there was as he was providing electricity for the work crews lighting after dark.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roberto H, Propietario at La Fortaleza de Haro
Responded Dec. 1, 2019
The fact that you write your opinion twice about the same matter surprises me, however since you do it, I can also answer you again just to tell you that if that was such a bad experience, unfortunately you will not be able to make it up adopting that attitude. Fortunately most of our guests opinions are exellent! Gianna de Haro
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Fortaleza de Haro
Which popular attractions are close to La Fortaleza de Haro?
Nearby attractions include Rancho Primicias (0.6 km), Santa Cruz Fish Market (0.7 km), and Charles Darwin Research Station (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Fortaleza de Haro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at La Fortaleza de Haro?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to La Fortaleza de Haro?
Conveniently located restaurants include Almar Seafood & Grill, Galapagos Deli, and 1835 Coffee Lab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Fortaleza de Haro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Fortaleza de Haro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.