We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Tortuga Bay

Save
Share
Sector Thomas de Berlanga s/n in front of Santa Cruz Garden, Puerto Ayora 200350 Ecuador
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (6)

About

#19 of 27 hotels in Puerto Ayora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
It is a hotel located in Santa Cruz, Galápagos, the building was constructed to be found to provide the best hotel services and lodging. It has 35 rooms equipped with latest technology and alarm management, intelligent building, and handicapped accessible areas. Has service restaurant seating 150 people and can enjoy local and international cuisine. It also has a meeting room, pool, jacuzzi, gardens and green areas.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Billiards
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
32Reviews8Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
NDFNorway wrote a review Oct. 2019
Norway16 contributions7 helpful votes
Was at this hotel 14 days ago, I don't recognise the nice photos in the gallery. This place did not function. It's located in the middle of nowhere along a very rough road. There was no hot water, no furniture in the bedrooms except the bed. If you are game enough to try this place go for the second floor. On the first you may get sewerage coming up in the shower. There was no security keys to rooms lay on the front desk. There is no bar, lunch or dinner facilities and breakfast was the bare minimum.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Room Tip: 2nd floor see comments above
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Johnnyb9852017 wrote a review Mar. 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is very decieving from the pictures . Don't fall for the all inclusive breakfast, lunch,and dinner. After my first breakfast of a table spoon of eggs,an ice cold roll,and one slice of cheese,and not to mention the water down orange juice. I refused to even try lunch or dinner. The rooms are all outdated, as well as the hotel itself,pool area, etc... The towels provide, will give you brush burn when trying to dry off after shower. They will sell you on the all inclusive food plus excursions, which they say they will leave at 8am to start your excursions, we never left at 8am,it was always more like 9am. There is no insulation or soundproofing anywhere in the rooms, I could here the people snoring in the next room. The noise from hallways are extremely loud,due to hollow doors and no soundproofing. Then there was the staff, which all very unprofessional. Seemed like a bunch of high school kids,girlfriends and boyfriends running the place. You go out on an long day excursion, you come back and just want to shower and catch a nap,before going out for dinner, that is not happening here. The staff party more then the guest and it is all day and every day, even into the late night hours. It is about a 8 minute ride to the town center, taxi fares are from $4.00 to $5.00 and if your a gringo, they will try $8.00 to $10.00, don't fall for that. They will also only include one excursion a day for you, that is only about 3 hours and then that is it. Do your homework, we was able to talk to some locals and add some excursions on top of the ones they had booked, thank God we did, because we was able to see so much more. Yes I will be back to Galapagos, BUTTTTT I WILL DEFINITELY NOT STAY HERE AT TORTUGA BAY HOTEL, IN PUERTO AYORA
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Responded Mar. 11, 2019
Dear Johnnyb9852017 Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience with our product/service. I apologize if our service did not meet your expectations, and appreciate you taking time to share your concerns.
Read more
lorenmichael wrote a review Oct. 2018
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey6 contributions2 helpful votes
TORTUGA HOTEL AND TOURS Our first trip to the Galapogos Islands, a bucket list item and adventure of a lifetime. Firstly some general comments about the above Hotel. Adverised as 4 stars. The staff is great, friendly, helpful and very polite, although very challenged with language. We have covered the good, now for the rest. Our tour was all inclusive from arrival in Ecuador to departure except for alcoholic drinks. Arrive on the Islands, our guide who spoke no English made it clear that we had to pay the $5.00 per person bus fare from airport to harbor, a five minutes ride. Then a water taxi fee of $2.00 per person. We finally get a land taxi which was good and off to the resort. Fortyfive minutes later we are on a dirt road, followed by a dirt driveway, followed by a dirt parking lot. Reception staff were great, the reception was not, no place to sit, just stand. We took a look at the pool, beautiful, no sign of filtration. The hot tub was empty. Great. Off to the room. We were received by two large cockroaches. They didn’t speak English either. Ah, the restaurant was open for lunch. Great. Food was horrible. Grab an orange plastic tray, just like grammar school and point. Food quality, one word, edible. The included tours were ok. Working boats that spent more time in the air than in the water, bone jarring. We later purchased a tour that used a proper boat, what a pleasure. On our last day, I took a shower, no hot water! That evening, we tried to accomplished some work, but when attempting to log on to the interne the message “Service suspended by provider” appeard, guess the bill needs to be paid. Woke up the final morning to no running water. Manager knew we were leaving at 7AM and said they turn the water on at 7AM. Avoid this “resort” at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid all rooms
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Responded Jan. 17, 2019
Thanks for your comment. Our effort is oriented to the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you very much for staying with us and do not hesitate to return to Tortuga bay in the future, we will be waiting for you.
Read more
702Mary58 wrote a review Sep. 2018
Totowa, New Jersey4 contributions7 helpful votes
The pictures of the hotel are very deceiving. The hotel is indespate need of repair there is mold everywhere, badly in need of paint, pool needs to be seviced and broken AC units. DO. NOT BOOK. Extremely dirty. The staff at the hotel helped us locate a another hotel on the island. Do yourself a favor do not stay at this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Responded Jan. 17, 2019
Dear 702Mary58 Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience with our product/service. I apologize if our service did not meet your expectations, and appreciate you taking time to share your concerns.
Read more
Erika R wrote a review Jul. 2018
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Do not stay here. We booked in advance and paid. When we arrived at the hotel there was a group of 76 school children in the hotel as well. They were approx 10-12 years old. They were loosely monitored and ran screaming and yelling up and down the halls. They completely monopolized the common areas. First morning there we woke up to no water. When we did have water we had no hot water. The last 2 nights we were there the a/c in the room broke and no one knew how to fix it. We couldn't open the sliding glass door for some cooler air because there was no window screen. We requested our money back to go somewhere else and were told we could leave but we wouldn't be getting ANY money back. They did even offer a % of a discount of any kind. The staff did try but they obviously had no power to do anything. (P.s. my dad fixed their water pump to get the water running again and they didn't even offer him anything but a job!)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Responded Jan. 17, 2019
Dear Erika R Thanks for your comment we would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to remedy the situation. we will be waiting for you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Galápagos Garden
LOCATION
EcuadorGalapagos IslandsSanta CruzPuerto Ayora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
Nearby attractions include Galapagos Beach at Tortuga Bay (6.4 km), Rancho Primicias (3.9 km), and Santa Cruz Fish Market (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Finch Bay Restaurant, Almar Seafood & Grill, and Galapagos Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Galapagos Tortuga Bay have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Galapagos Tortuga Bay offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Galapagos Tortuga Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Galapagos Tortuga Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Galapagos Tortuga Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.