We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheikh Salem House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sheikh Salem House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

it's clean. great hospitality. very good location and beach. they can get u anything u want and suggest where to go and make the needed arrangments for u. Felt home :) i don't think i will stay anywhere else. I loved the food market they organize every friday. The food is really good and the prices as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marwa F
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Ha, I've never stayed in a hostel this far off the deep end before. Nasty dirty, there was a padlock on the door from the outside so we couldn't lock it from the inside and there was a huge opening above the door to the common area so privacy was non existent or anyone wanting to creep in could have....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue C
Sheikhs, Business Partner at Sheikh Salem House, responded to this review

Dear Sue, We are very sad to read your review and i am personally sorry that you were given a room which should not have been given to guests at this time. Unfortunately on the date you stayed the guest house was almost full and you were given a room which is in much need of attention. This situation should...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 9 September 2013

If you don't give much care for the room service and want enjoy staying in one of the best locations in Dahab this place is quite nice. It has nice arabian sit on the beach for tanning in the morning, and wounderful night time with friends for driniking and listining to music. Very close to the local market where you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atef_Cinemania
London
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great stay as a returning customer. Thank you Nicole and Hasan for making it memorable and enjoyable. What I asked for I got, Hamad was an outstanding waiter/ look after the guest in every aspect ones holidays should see fit. The front rooms have mind blowing views, great price. Keep the news off the TV, stop the black dog barking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dager
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I have been coming to Dahab since 2003. I have been staying at Sheikh Salem House since 2006. This year it was closed for a few months for renovations and I was lucky it opened in time for my stay on this trip to Dahab. I am staying at Sheikh Salem House from April 9 to May 3 2013. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruby R
London
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Love the place ,been going there for 3 years in a row without a problem. A real taste of local life. Nicole is really accommodating. Staff are really honest, after a good night out, my camera fell out of my bag in the restaurant- 7am the next morning I had a knock on my door. A member of the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dager
northwest
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I cannot fault this hotel at all ....for price, unbeatable...........staff.Nicole and Mohamed are great, so helpful in every aspect. Location for me was great .............10 mins stroll to centre of Dahab but quiet enough to relax and be away from the noise. 2 mins walk to the shops of Assallah Square, where you can get anything you want. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doe1Northwest
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband, mother in law, and I stayed at Sheikh Salem for 7 nights. We had a great stay! The staff here are very helpful, and The Lazy Camel Cafe is wonderful to relax in and enjoy sounds of the Sea. The rooms are cheap, clean and basic. Just how we like them for 16 months of travel. JIt is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giselle1978
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was my second time round at the Sheik and I must say this little laid-back place at the northern edge of Dahab has become my second (spiritual) home - a gem of a place right on the beach! And according to the lovely and helpful owner Nicole the throat chakra ley lines pulsing just underneath! Reading some previous rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gipsy0203
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I do not normally put pen to paper but in the interests of balance and fairness I felt that I had to.I was very surprised at the experience of the family mentioned previously as it was the total opposite of mine.Having stayed at Sheik Salem many times both solo and with my children I have never encountered cockroaches,lack of towels,dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shahanna14

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 km away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#28 of 52 in Dahab
225 reviews
0.0 km away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.0 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Neptune Hotel
Neptune Hotel
#3 of 27 in Dahab
86 reviews
0.0 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 km away
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheikh Salem House is the famous budget guest house at the heart of the Bedouin community in Dahab. Stay right on the beach next to the famous Eel Garden and enjoy the best of local hospitality, in one of the nicest locations in Dahab. We offer a relaxing and peaceful environment for travelers of all ages so come and discover more of Dahab and become one of our big family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheikh Salem House

Address: El Melal Street | Eel Garden, Assalah, Dahab 14611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Price Range: $10 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sheikh Salem House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room at another place.”
 of 5 bubbles SueG114, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Rooms in the ground floor are the best, spicially the ones looking at the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Atef_Cinemania, 9 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Room 9 Garden room is a great room. Quiet, large, with a fridge and bar counter. If its windy its a great place to sit and enjoy breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles jewelofmontreal, 27 Apr 2013 | Read review
“sea view!!”
 of 5 bubbles Giselle1978, 26 Feb 2012 | Read review
“If you want to save money - You don' t really need to book a sea-view room, cause the sea is right there on your door-step”
  • view from my window
 of 5 bubbles gipsy0203, 28 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5