We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Neelgiris

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Neelgiris
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Dubai
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Except for the location the rooms are smelly with very dirty and Tattered carpet . The pillow covers and other Hotel Linens were used .UNBELIEVABLE. The reception room is closed most of the time so no one is there to pickup the phone. Other times the manager(owner) and his friends can be found ogling and commenting from the reception room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HareKrishnaHareRama
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This is one of my favorite places in Old Manali. it is just beside Beas River. It was amazing to sleep and wake up to the river's music. Evenings, it feels very relaxing to sit at the balcony and enjoy the view . Try taking room on the top floor. it has the best view. They have food services but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suprabhapatra
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel is situated just beside the river Manalsu. Rooms are very specious and neat and clean. Bathroom need little maintenance. But overall its very good property. Location is the best. Owner is very gentle and informative. In one word go for the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nisupiya
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 26 October 2015

The best part about the hotel Neelgiris is that its hardly 100 m distance from the old Manali bridge and was bang opposite the Manalsu river. The rooms provided have the best possible view of the river flowing right across you. During evenings, its best to have your tea sitting in the verandah and enjoying the river flow. During the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahultheguru
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

The staff were lovely and really helpful and the room we eventually got was fine. The first room they gave us was terrible... Hot water tank broken, unwashed sheets, used condom still floating in the loo... Pretty gross.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan L
Hrichique, Owner at The Neelgiris, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have hosted your stay at The Neelgiris, Manali; but regrettably enough for us, you seemed to have had some issues with respect to the room, first allotted to you. To the extent of hot water tank not functioning – we accept our mistake, to have allotted a room without knowing that geyser was...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Very Nice budget hotel and the staff was very friendly and enjoyable. The owner Richique was indeed a very pleasant and humble and He helped me my travel plan. The rooms were made very nice with hot water facility. I booked standard room for 2 days and its very reasonable price. The location quite good, the staff were very helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiran r
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and enjoyable, and not simply for tips. The rooms were made very nice, though the bathroom couldve been a little better. We never really got warm water. But that was partly my fault by not stopping with throwing the switch. Two great pluses were the relatively soft matress and the fact that they got bandages...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasper B
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

The location is no doubt very good... close to Hidimba Temple, Manu Temple and Club House. The best part our trip was the time management as everything was near and accessible. The owner Richique was indeed a very pleasant and humble. He helped us with our travel plan... thanks Richique! The food was good too... (y) I would recommend Neelgiri...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellersJA
Guwahati, India
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I visited last month with parents. they found the hotel and the location quite good, the staff were very helpful, and the rooms were also fair enough. My friends are travelling to Manali this month have suggested them this Hotel and its a great property with a GREAT price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bishwajit333
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 11 May 2015

It was just OK hotel. We stayed on 8 & 9 May 2015. Location is excellent adjacent to Beas river. Food quality was good at reasonable price. Room was spacious but not maintained properly. No mirror in bathroom. Geyser was not working properly. TV not working. Towels were old. No Wi-fi. Though Mr Richique is really a gentleman & was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbc_mobile
Hrichique, Owner at The Neelgiris, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At the outset, I would kindly like to ask for your reservation details as we are quiet confused about some of your misleading remarks. As for the Wi-Fii unavailability , we agree that due to change of service provider we had been offline for a while. However, rest all your remarks seem kind of exaggerated as: all washrooms...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Satkar Residency
Hotel Satkar Residency
#58 of 129 in Manali
39 reviews
1.0 km away
Snow Peak Retreat
Snow Peak Retreat
#7 of 129 in Manali
476 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#14 of 129 in Manali
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rock Top Inn & Cafe
Rock Top Inn & Cafe
#30 of 282 in Manali
39 reviews
0.3 km away
The Sunshine Heritage
The Sunshine Heritage
#8 of 282 in Manali
83 reviews
0.3 km away
Bhoomi Holiday Homes
Bhoomi Holiday Homes
#39 of 311 in Manali
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bar/Lounge, Restaurant, Suites, Riverside Sundeck, Rooftop Cafe, Private Parking, Private Landscaped Garden area, Room Service, Pets Allowed, Complimentary Breakfast, Travel Helpdesk, Number of rooms - 12."The Neelgiris" is a private weekend destination, located in the tranquil and serene environs of Manali. It has 05 deluxe rooms, 05 Family Rooms and 02 Premium Suites. Amenities like internet, cable TV, are available. All rooms have modern wash-rooms with H/C water. We have one Lounge and a Roof top cafe. Private parking and garden area is available...All rooms have unobstructed view of the valley, reserved forest are and the Manas`Lu River. Travel assistance at no extra cost. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Neelgiris

Address: Old Manali Clubhouse Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Price Range: $38 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Neelgiris 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Neelgiris staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Neelgiris staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check for used linens atleast. better room options behind. Excellent tibetan restaurant opp and is open till 11:30pm”
 of 5 bubbles HareKrishnaHareRama, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor, for the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles suprabhapatra, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are river facing. You can the ones on the top floor towards the corner.”
 of 5 bubbles Rahultheguru, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“You can opt for the rooms on the first or second floor to enjoy the nature beauty”
 of 5 bubbles 484mohan, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Bippys, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5