We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Ambadi

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Ambadi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is well presented, the rooms are very large and a decent sized bathroom. We were on motorbikes and there was plenty of room for parking. It does not serve alcoholic beverages. If you want to go on the nearby boat trip to the tiger reserve then book ahead as we missed out as it was full, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My 5 friends and I had a great three days in Thekkady -this was made possible by the staff who helped with the planning of transport which was great .Food was very enjoyable -rooms were great -no problems -would return .Laundry service was good .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geejgarth
Castle Acre, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I like it so much, I have stayed at the Ambadi 3 times. According to a friend, it was designed by Laurie Baker (1917 - 2007), an English architect who lived most of his working life in India. He was renowned for cost-effective energy-efficient buildings that maximize space, ventilation and light, balanced with an uncluttered aesthetic feel. The result at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found our services and facilities excellent. However, we regret & apologise for the inconvenience caused due to hot shower. The factors has been duly noted and taken care of with an assurance that...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Apart from the location its a very average hotel. Nothing too exclusive about this property. There were no televisions in our room which was surprising. Rooms were good. Food was good. Breakfast had limited options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nimesh_dembla0
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor . We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the location , food quality & rooms excellent and comfortable but disappointed with the limited options of breakfast. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. Your valuable concerns has been passed...

chennai
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very authentic local kerala architecture. Genial staff. Tasty local food too and not expensive either. Make this your eating place while at thekkady. Even during the off season they were open till 10.30 pm

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raofca
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We are thankful to you for sparing your time to post a review in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments on our services and facilities as it helps our team to be consistent on their performance. Thanking you once again and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again with us.

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room service is as very bad ,they even don't serve drinking water on time . Customer support at reception wasn't there (we were forced to carry our heavy bags ) . Unhygienic rooms ,overall no value for customer ,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank harishojha
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback on trip advisor . First of all, accept our apologies regarding the inconvenience you had to face while your stay at our property especially with the service provided by our staff. The factors has been duly noted and taken care of with an assurance that such shortcomings do not occur again. We, once again,...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a school get together in Ambadi and the stay was really nice. The rooms and toilets are really clean and well maintained. They have ample parking space and the location is very close to Thekkadi and Periyar tiger reserve. The restaurant is worth mentioning and is one of the best in Idukki district. The pork dishes are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Febin V
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback of Hotel Ambadi in Trip Advisor. It is our endeavour to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality. We are glad to receive such a positive feedback which keeps us motivated throughout and also feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation. Also glad to know that...

Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We visited this restuarant for lunch during our Thekkady visit. We had to wait for at least 15 minutes for the waiter to take the order and again more than that for the food to be served. Most items in the menu were not available. The food was also not good. The Paneer Butter Masala was a horrible experience and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun-Revathy
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in the Trip Advisor. Firstly, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and the delay you had to experience in the restaurant. The main cause of the delay in restaurant was due to the huge customer flow and the high demand for dishes. Your concerns have been informed to the team members and we assure you...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Hotel looks good from outside, wooden building, lots of greenary, nice balcony. But no television in the room or anywhere in the lobby! Travelled with kids and they were bored at night. Paid for extra bed but we were only given extra mattress, not comfortable at all. They dont have extra bed. Front desk staff not friendly at all. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanajah G
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable time in writing the review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had to go through during your stay in our property especially with the service provided by our staff. The factors has been duly noted and taken care of with an assurance that such shortcomings do not occur again We, once again, apologize for...

Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We went on an unplanned trip but were fortunate to get one room in Ambadi they have very good wooden interiors. The location of the hotel is good and you can shop around easily. Thekkady is better place than munnar for me and this hotel makes it more pleasant . their food is one of the best in Thekkady specially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kavish B
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to post your feedback following your stay at Hotel Ambadi. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the various amenities and the facilities were to your liking. We highly appreciate and are grateful for your encouraging and kind words of praise on our hotel and the food been served. Please do accept our...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (64)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 km away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#13 of 41 in Thekkady
263 reviews
7.1 km away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 41 in Thekkady
68 reviews
0.5 km away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 km away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
386 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Himarani
Hotel Himarani
#37 of 41 in Thekkady
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Price Range: $41 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ambadi 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ambadi staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ambadi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all 4 of the rooms allocated to our group were good”
 of 5 bubbles Geejgarth, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't choose back side room as there is parking and you might hare drivers talks.”
 of 5 bubbles 526kavishb, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“it is located at the center of the city. the main market is walkable from the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 526bilals, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“best food at thekkady”
 of 5 bubbles nibu123456, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The whole place is quiet, try to get cottages with verandah”
 of 5 bubbles 114deepar, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5