We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandy Beach Retreat

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Sandy Beach Retreat
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Sandy Beach Retreat
 Click to rate
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Wow what a fantastic retreat, the location is phenomenal and the staff are helpful. The place is in the midst of some alterations after being run by a lessee. We were told that the original owner is back running the retreat hence the alterations. The room was clean, tidy and well kept. The staff were most helpful and accommodating. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rahimnazarul
walden43, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Guys Thank you very much for the kind words ,I am in the middle of getting everything back to the old way after a season away from sandy and I look forward to guest like your wonderful self. once again thanks for your custom. Regards Nasa

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

We didn't stay here so I can't comment on the rooms but we had an awful night over Xmas where the manager lied to us and charged us a lot for a buffet dinner where my nephew was electrocuted by some dodgy electrics. Probably best to find somewhere else to stay and eat, there are loads better places right nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrbrown02
walden43, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review, Mar 10, 2016 I am extremely sorry for the delay in getting back a response, I am currently back in uk after a very bad bike accident. As you were aware that I did get involved in the issue at that time ,I had the matter investigated and action was...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

DO NOT GO IN! On holiday over Xmas my family had a TERRIBLE experience here. We paid a deposit for what promised to be a fun Christmas Eve do, I spoke with the manager and he said there would be a buffet with prawns, fun stuff for the kids, show etc. all good. Except we changed our minds as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay N
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Hi guys I have responded on your other review for sandy beach retreat.

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We enjoyed our stay due to the great location. Right on the beach - with a great view from the balcony But the place is run down and not very clean. We were really disappointed when we arrived, because of the dirty rooms. It feels like the management wants to make minimum effort for maximum profit. It would be a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel G
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Rachel Give my regards to the family, am very surprised at your comments . Mr Rajan the leasee and his team where very supportive towards your every Need. His staff made your family welcome to sandy, I was abit surprised they way they waited and made sure your kids where looked after and yourself. I had many hours talking...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

The place is close to the beach - fine But not clean, food very below average. The main issue is the manager is not professional at all. He pushes us out the last day because I was not willing to buy its new year VIP party. I have never been treated like that in India. Shame on this dollar guy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sergiobru33
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Dear guest I am extremely sorry that you had a bad experience at sandy beach retreat. I have leased out the property since March last year .all I can do is apologise to both of You guys,all my reviews on TripAdvisor has always been good ,I am currently investigating What has happened and my sincere apologies once again. Wish you...

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genia U
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Saint-Nazaire, France
Reviewed 13 December 2015
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank saverio p
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Reviewed 25 November 2014
Google Translation

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Noongeffenblad
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We stayed here two years ago with my then pregnant girlfriend. We have never had such a relaxed stay in any place on earth. Nassa, i hope is still the owner? And he represents everything you would want from a host. No request was too much and no stone was left unturned to ensure we had a magical time. Private...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank barnabymonk
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Hi guys Sorry for the long delay, hope all three of you guys are all well ,if you ever decide to come back am here ,can't wait to see your beautiful child .

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had the most amazing time at this resort. Wonderful location, with lovely beaches and quite atmosphere. Great staff and the nicest interior finish that I've found in India so far. Loved the food at the restaurant, fresh and tasty I met some great people here and will defiantly visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Elly R
nasarrahim, Owner at Sandy Beach Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Elly EFR Thank you very much for your kind words and of cause you are welcome back to sandy with your new handsome husband , look forward anytime to your wonderful company. Nasa

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#27 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
18 reviews
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#3 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
867 reviews
0.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#4 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
390 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#53 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the village of Odayam, 2 km from Varkala Railway Station in the direction North West. By rickshaw or car you are 10 minutes and 20 minutes from the cliff or the temple junction.By walking we are 20 minutes from the cliff. The walk is fantastic, through the palm trees, along the Arabian Sea coast line.This year 20013 we have taken major reconstruction to our resort and have given it a new name Sandy Beach Retreat. We are the only resort right next coast line and you cant miss the white and blue colours of Sandy Beach Retreat. The only resort in varkala that over looks the Arabian Sea , the resort is fully covered with the latest CCTV system please see pictures. Since last year this resort has been leased out,the owner do however visits the resort and changes will notify here ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Retreat

Address: Odayam Beach Edava , Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695141, India (Formerly Asthamay Beach Resort)
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range: $103 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Retreat India/Kerala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandy Beach Retreat staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Pune, India
nasarrahim london Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Hi

sorry about the delay ,as you have not listed the treatment you require am unable to give you a price and you said 20th dec 2014 ?

over a year ago
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
over a year ago
No answers yet Answer
Be the first to answer

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sandy Beach Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms upstairs”
rahimnazarul, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go for one of the villa's - book early”
barnabymonk, 22 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Take the sea front room or penthouse at the top with beautiful balcony”
140ellyr, 20 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Rooms facing the see or little bungalows in the back of the garden.”
shiva108, 30 Mar 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are great at Asthamay and sea facing”
AnilK605, 14 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5