We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ganpati Guest house

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ganpati Guest house
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2016

While this is no luxury accommodation I liked the decoration in the rooms (make sure you pay a bit extra for the deluxe rooms) and I really enjoyed sitting on the terrace, drinking tea and watching the view of Meharangarh fort. The location is superb, very close to the old town centre as well as the sprawling alleyways of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank linuskendall
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The rooms are basic, but clean and large. the windows give a great view of the Mehrangarh Fort. It feels like you are staying right in the midst of a bustling city. Clock tower is at a short walking distance, great places to shop and eat all around..but the icing on cake is the rooftop restaurant The Curry's! You can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sangya
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2015

While we had many wonderful experiences in Jodhpur, staying at Ganpati Guest House was not amongst them. Note, we've all been living and travelling in India for a few months so are not princesses by any stretch of the imagination. 1) Despite including an airport pickup, they failed to return our correspondence. 2) When we arrived via our own transport,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank graceoh8
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015

On arrival during off-season I found myself alone in the empty lobby, wondering where everybody was. When a helpful young man eventually showed up I was given a choice of rooms ranging from small to rather large. The views of the fort from the rooms and roof were breathtaking. The room I selected was spacious, beautiful, and quite clean. During... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
273 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2014

I spent several Nights between the Shivam Paying Guest House and the Ganpati Guest House. They are just 50 meters away from each other and managed from the same owners, in fact both guest house have a similar standard of accommodation, from pretty cheap to superior rooms. All rooms i have seen have attached toilets and hot shower and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioGuerrieri
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2014

I only stayed for one night in this guest house. The rooms are clean and cosy, and there is a fan and very well working airco. During our stay we had some electrical problems because of major rainfall (the whole city had a brown out). There is no restaurant, but there are many eating possibilities in the close area of... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank EviVdd91
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Negatives: Stayed here for three nights after booking our stay at Shivam and being told they were full when we arrived. First impressions were not great bins had not been changed in our room urine from previous guests on the toilet seat (which was broken and not even connected to the toilet) I asked if the sheets were changed they... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderlust2607
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a transport stopover. We had booked online and received a good deal for this place. We checked in late at night, about 10.30pm and were waved into a room. The room was fine for one night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there for any longer. The bed and pillows were super... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine M
Busan, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here a couple of months ago, while travelling around India, what a great place! I can't believe the negative comment this place has received. This family probably wouldn't have enjoyed any part of India! We ordered food while staying, and it was freshly prepared and well worth it!! Service perfect and rooms beautiful. Would we go again? Definately!!!

Helpful?
Thank 411aplo
Rajendra Singh I, Owner at Ganpati Guest house, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your positive feedback for Ganpati guest house. This inspires us a lot to work hard for the guests and make them happy and comfortable what every traveler would like to have. Thank you once again for your time and review. More 

Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were recommended this place in Jaisalmer and were really happy with the place. The rooms are tastefully decorated, airy and cool - very clean and spacious. We were there in summer and a fan room still managed to keep us cool enough. The owner gave us a lovely recommendation on where to go and what to do and even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BlipBlop303

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.4 km away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#23 of 191 in Jodhpur
154 reviews
1.4 km away
Yogi's Paying Guest House
Yogi's Paying Guest House
#8 of 191 in Jodhpur
385 reviews
1.3 km away
Shivam Paying Guest House
Shivam Paying Guest House
#36 of 191 in Jodhpur
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.4 km away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
1.4 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ganpati is set in a 300 year old traditional style building which has several floors approached by an easy staircase. There are 12 traditionally decorated, spacious and well ventilated rooms with private bathroom. Some rooms offer dazzling views of the famous Meharangarh fort through the bay windows. It is a good mix of modern comfort and traditional architecture. On the top level is a restaurant serving home cooked food. On the menu there are not only Indian, continental and Italian dishes available but also real brewed coffee with an espresso machine. A large cup of cold coffee with vanilla ice cream is really an exception in Jodhpur. Ganpati is just a few hundred metres north of the bustling Sadar market clock tower. Ganpati is run by a gentle, friendly and helpful family. We would appreciate it if you stay with us and encourage a non commission paying set up to stop spoiling tourism. One can experience a traditional family atmosphere by staying with us. We put extra effort into making our guests' stay not only comfortable but also memorable as so many guests write us back when they go back home. We also organize 'bishnoi village safari' for half a day and we are proud to say that we are the founder of the camel safari around Osiyan in the great Indian Thar desert where one can go for an overnight trip in the desert, camping/home stay and camel ride. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest house

Address: Makrana Mohalla | Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Price Range: $13 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ganpati Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ganpati Guest house staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get Rooms with the Mehrangarh fort view!”
 of 5 bubbles Sangya, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room you pick has A/C included - not all of them do apparently.”
 of 5 bubbles graceoh8, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get room away from road”
 of 5 bubbles bettabegoing, 30 Dec 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay