We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hibiscus Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hibiscus Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Start your review of Hibiscus Guest House
 Click to rate
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyable restful stay. Helpful friendly staff. Relaxing peaceful garden . Walking distance of major attractions . Authentic Rajasthan décor. Had a great time sitting on the roof terrace eating delicious freshly cooked food. Aloo gobi and brinjal masala our particular favorites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmkjones
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Gorgeous little guest house in Udaipur, beautiful rooms, charmingly and stylishly decorated with Rajestahni furniture. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely lounging and breakfast area on rooftop, good view of lake, great location, sweet little garden and chai served to your room if you ask!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakef77
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We liked staying here! Friendly staff, good food and a great speedy laundry service (albeit a little expensive at 30-50rs per price size depending, but it was done very well nonetheless). The view from the roof is lovely, and the food is okay, staff helpful. The rooms are comfortable enough - a solid mattress for the untrained back used to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa2407
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us warts and all. You are right, we are a little run down and a little spruce up would not hurt so we are happy to report that over the next few months improvements and sprucing, together with the provision of improved facilities are in place....

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location - quiet and just a short walk across the footbridge to the City Palace and plenty of restaurants, markets etc. Great location for the price. Food in restaurant is simple but lovely (and well priced!). The restaurant also has a lovely view of the lake. The guest house also has beautiful gardens and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We now have a new wifi system which should improve things somewhat. A lot of our wifi problems, for some considerable time, have been caused by guests sharing our password with the boys in the local area who then overload our system downloading Bollywood movies, music videos and all sorts of dubious others. We...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 February 2017

This was a lovely little hotel right by the lake. Slightly hidden in plain sight ! Very clean and comfortable. Wonderful owners and staff. Awesome rooftop dining and lounging area with great views. Wonderful !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazard11haz
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you here in Hibiscus and we hope you that you are able to return soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We booked beforehand and, having to stay 1 month, we thought that they offered us a good price (1400 INR). We got a room that was worth 500 INR with a broken sponge mattress, sheets that weren't even long enough to cover the horrible thing, broken water heater and no wifi (when we specifically asked for a fast connection -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Peasmarsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I have just left Udaipur after a very lovely stay at the Hibiscus Guest House. Everyone was so helpful and friendly, I was only sorry that I hadn't booked for a longer stay. It is a great retreat after the bustle of the bazaars and tourist attractions My room, clean and bright, overlooked the Lake Pichola, such a peaceful scene....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillyharvest
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please come back soon!

Ponta Delgada, Azores, Portugal
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We decided to stay an extra night because we loved the city and the guest house... when the extra night came we were forced to move to another hotel close by because apparently someone was sick and didn’t check out. The problem was the other hotel has horrible, dirty, disgusting and we here given a room with no windows, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afsm80
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

What this guest is omitting to say is that they decided to try to extend their stay in Hibiscus on the 26th December, obviously the busiest time of the year. We had no room available but said that we would try to find them alternative accommodation. Mistake, every good turn deserves to be punished. We found them a room, a...

Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

This was my second longer-term stay at Hibiscus Guest House and I had the most wonderful stay! I arrived on New Year's Eve and the Guest House hosted a wonderful New Years party on the rooftop with lots of lovely decorations, food and music - a wonderful start to 2017! The Guest House rooms are clean and spacious, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pionapikalona09
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We enjoy having you here with us and look forward to seeing you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful quirky boutique hotel on the edge of Lake Pichola and fell in love with it. It was serene and uncluttered after chaos of Mumbai. Everyone was courteous and went out of their way to help with cash during the money crisis. Rooftop bar & kitchen where we had Masala omelettes in the morning and beer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina R
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We love the "quirky" and "whimsy of Babu". Please come again!

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
2,234 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#63 of 151 in Udaipur
261 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#24 of 151 in Udaipur
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
558 reviews
0.7 km away
Little Garden Guest House
Little Garden Guest House
#3 of 250 in Udaipur
228 reviews
0.4 km away
Greco House
Greco House
#8 of 250 in Udaipur
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meditate, Levitate, VegetateThis lakeside HIBISCUS GUEST HOUSE offers the visitors a home away from home, far from the hustle, the bustle and, sometimes, the frustrations of life in India.A place to take breath, relax and enjoy excellent in our rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola.The roof, walled garden and fountain courtyard provide ample space for guests to find a quiet area in which to unwind.There rooms are newly refurbished and laid with cool, polished, nimbara stone floors. Hand painted furniture and textiles from Rajasthan decorate each room and the spotless ensuite bathrooms are equipped with hot and cold showers. Some rooms have large haveli style jarokhas (window seats) with bolsters and cushions.Hotel Hibiscus Udaipur is exclusively located at the CHANDPOLE in Udaipur. There is something unmistakably calming about HOTEL HIBISCUS. Its welcoming hospitality permeates your soul and Rajasthani passion for life rejuvenates your spirit. You never have to leave. But should you wish to,it is nice to know you are just few minutes from City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jagdish Temple, Lake Palace, Bagore Ki Haveli, Gangaur Ghat, Lal Ghat and easy Reach of all of Udaipur's Hotspots! Your place in the Lake awaits!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 190,Naga Nagri,Chandpol,Opposite the Leela Palace | Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Heritage Hibiscus)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Price Range: $19 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Udaipur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hibiscus Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hibiscus Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a super delux room.”
jakef77, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the lake views and watch the monkeys swinging through thr trees”
Gillyharvest, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best hot water was in our standard room”
cupcayke, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't recommend”
Marley2594, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A little hard to find, but worth it”
RonB717, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5